Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
This short book makes some interesting points, some other useful ones; but the occasional tone of smugness that creeps in sometimes really annoyed me and took away from the semi-theological tone of the book. I may have mistaken the humour and wit contained in the book for 'smugness'; but in any case it grated on me.

It is worth a read, in that it is educational...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by leonardo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For atheists only?
quite entertaining but rather flippant and shallow. Unlikely to change anyone's beliefs as the tone is a bit off-putting, even to an atheist
Published 22 months ago by Gilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
This short book makes some interesting points, some other useful ones; but the occasional tone of smugness that creeps in sometimes really annoyed me and took away from the semi-theological tone of the book. I may have mistaken the humour and wit contained in the book for 'smugness'; but in any case it grated on me.

It is worth a read, in that it is educational - and it gives atheists (and even agnostics!) fuel to argue with those Christians who don't know much theology (and in my experience many don't!). There is a lot of room for even more arguments and for more explication of each point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For atheists only?, 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
quite entertaining but rather flippant and shallow. Unlikely to change anyone's beliefs as the tone is a bit off-putting, even to an atheist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus / Mithra ?, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Xenophon. (Fife, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
An amusing ,short book,which explores the self contradictory passages in the Christian Mythology.
"God - Men" are explained as nothing new to Christianity, Jesus is a reconstruction of the earlier Mithra for example.
A very illuminating amount of information in a small book, which is a good read, and may stimulate an interest in persuing the details raised in greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Infantile, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
It just doesn't cut the mustard. I quote "Well - apparently God had a bit of a PR problem"... "Jesus could have performed a miracle and made the figs appear, but he preferred sour grapes instead". There's a lot more where that came from.
It's an exercise in self-indulgent writing with poor, cliched attempts at humour that does very little to advance, illuminate or inform. It's a shame because Jackson has obviously done some good thinking and research, and does have a good - and sometimes even original - take on things. However the flow of thinking is constantly interrupted and marred by banal, teenage observations which is incredibly annoying.
"Clearly Jesus was mad. Perhaps he had low blood sugar".
Perhaps indeed, but then - perhaps not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
This is an insult to anyone thinking intelligently about the subject. Especially to thinking non-theists. The "jokey" style rests on very little argument, none of it new, none of it in any depth at all. Took me about 7 minutes to read. Even at the ridiculously low price it's an absurd waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure if it isn't the suthor who may be deluded?, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of this author's pamphlet style books I have read
I'm in the position of agreeing pretty much with what he has to say, but disagreeing with the way he says it
I feel his attempts at humour tend to damage the atheist cause and make atheists look foolish
He also detracts from sensible atheist arguments when he uses them in his jokey way
There is really nothing of substance in his booklets and he doesn't achieve any of his claims
If you wish to find out about Jesus and/or atheism there are far better books
I suggest you save your money on this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth one star, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
I do not mind sarcasm or silliness, unfortunately this booklet is neither. It just shows the author's total ignorance and baias. If he wants to write on a subject, he should at least get his references sorted. His first two "facts" - that Constantine changed the day of worship for Christians and that Christians "worship the cross" are plainly wrong. Some early Christians kept "the Lord's day" on the first day of the week :-see Acts chapter 20 verse 7, 1 Corinthians 16 verse 2 and Revelation 1 verse 10. All these were written years before Constantine.
The author needs to read up on some serious research and not depend on books like the Da Vinci Code!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biased simple minded sillyness, 20 April 2012
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking for an intelligent well written objective account this is not it. The author writes with an obvious agenda and the references are shady at best. I think stigg of the dump is more mentally stimulating than this nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. P. V. Barclay-george "Pete BG" (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
Can be read in a day said the first review - that's a real understatement - it can be read in about 15 minutes! This is more of a pamphlet than a book - such as they used to distribute in the 16th and 17th centuries. It actually turns into a bit of a rant in places and, if you have ever argued against the case for a god, then you have without a doubt sorted out all these points in your own head anyway. I don't think it really adds anything to a measured debate - but - having said that, I guess it would give serve up some food for thought to those who have never looked into the subject before and anyway, I guess anything that serves the cause of Atheism has to be, at least in some measure, a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just about worth 86p, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Jesus Delusion (Kindle Edition)
tries to answer some of the anti-logical christian apologist responses to criticisms of biblical errors. also briefly tackles astrological and mythical plagiarism found in the jesus fiction. on the whole its a bit of a schoolboy style rant. it would be very difficult to use this as any kind of resource for a debate. you are better off watching the start of the film Zeitgeist and reading Bart Ehrman's 'Misquoting Jesus'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jesus Delusion
The Jesus Delusion by G.M. Jackson
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews