Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and pictures
This is a really useful book for the kitchen. I've made a few of the soups and they've been great and there are plenty fantastic recipes to choose from for all seasons and occasions. A lot of the recipes have little extra things to add or other options for particular tastes so it's a great book for those of us who need direction when cooking and for those who like to...
Published on 7 Jan. 2010 by L. Bruce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 200 fancy but fun soups
This is another small cookbook in Hamlyn's '200' recipe series that this time focuses on soups. The book is divided into 6 chapters and an introduction. These chapter are speedy soups, chilled soups, winter warmers, something special, healthy soups and around the world. The introduction contains some useful information including everything from identifying types of soup...
Published on 15 Jan. 2012 by josie82


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and pictures, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
L. Bruce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really useful book for the kitchen. I've made a few of the soups and they've been great and there are plenty fantastic recipes to choose from for all seasons and occasions. A lot of the recipes have little extra things to add or other options for particular tastes so it's a great book for those of us who need direction when cooking and for those who like to experiment. The recipes are easy to follow and each one has a really attractive photo to accompany it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soup-er-licious, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
Newton "Sassy Brit" (Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
About
=====
Hamlyn is a trusted well-known name when it comes to cook books and although this series is rather small, being only pocket sized, they are jam-packed with tasty soup recipes that I found easy to follow and great tasting. In fact, I cannot stop making them!

The Recipes
===========
From speedy soups, healthy soups and soups from around the world, this book covers a tasty meal for all your tastebuds. And with Winter around, this is just the right time of year for the Winter Warmer selection. Although, with our British weather, that could almost be any time of the year! However, joking aside, there are even chilled soups and an old-fashioned "London Particular", a favourite of mine.

Layout of Book
===========
The recipes are straightforward and easy to understand. The ingredients (metric and imperial) and servings are in a column on the left hand side of the page, with the method next to it. The facing this, on the opposite side of the page is a bright full colour picture of the finished soup. And they are absolutely tempting pictures!

All in all, this is a great addition to my cook book shelf, and I am very keen to collect more of these pocket-sized tasty treats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gem!, 17 Feb. 2010
It is full of information, imagination and great inspiring images- a soup can be part of a formal dinner too if you serve it in the right way.Not what you usually expect from a little and cheap cook book.I think it's a pleasant surprise!I have never had a soup book and i m sure that i will search for another only after finishing every single recipe of this book!Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
Sheenagh Pugh "Sheenagh Pugh" (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This does very much what it says on the tin. The pictures are lovely, the instructions clear and there are some very tempting recipes. Even the print size, for once, is easy to read, and the paper is good, sturdy quality, important in a kitchen book that gets a lot of use. My only cavil is the organisation, into sections like "speedy soups", "winter warmers", "something special", "around the world" and others. In the first place, several soups could fit into two or even three of these. I think a more sensible way to organise would have been in terms of ingredients - vegetarian, meat-based, fish-based etc. But this is a minor point against a very good resource. It doesn't expect you to have a stockpot on the go and is good at suggesting alternative ingredients, so the recipes are very versatile. Very cheap, for the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpretentious doesn't mean dull!, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a rather good little series. I like the squat chunky shape - though they are a little problematic as they don't stay open, so unless you use a handy little device like the bookchair, Bookchair Standard Stripes the glossy pages and beautiful colour photos are going to get more than usually splattered with whatever is being cooked, as you move from chopping the beetroot for your borscht to check how many onions you need.

I'm a big `soupie' - home-made soup is my stand by `no time to cook' meal, as a quick rummage round what's in the fridge and vegetable rack, all chucked into the pressure cooker, enlivened with a sometimes peculiar take-a-chance selection of spices can yield something wonderful (or not!) quite quickly.

So this book gives some surprisingly good twists on simple soups, plus throws in more complicated soup forays.It is neatly divided into various soupy sections - including some interesting and more `fashion' soups - i.e. when a cold soup becomes a `foam', healthy options (more soups for vegetarians here), cold soups, quick soups, more filling soups, and soups from around the world.

This is for the most part, simple and easily achieved cooking - you won't be carefully paring, snipping and twirling your ingredients into high works of visual art - but you will be producing some interesting flavours, and delicious, quick soup first courses or filling supper soups, easily and well. The 200 recipes are achieved by giving each of the 100 included recipes a quick change of 1 or 2 ingredients to produce a new variation - quite a good idea, as you capitalise on `I know how to do this' with a small variation the next time around

Simple twists on more usual versions include a tomato soup rendered less ordinary by turning it into a tomato and balsamic vinegar soup; cream of leek with pea, or with pea and watercress, a cauliflower cheese soup with cider, some rather more sophisticated chilled soups - fennel vichyssoise, some lovely chunky filling soups such as butternut squash and rosemary. The book includes a fine selection suitable for vegetarians, but also classic (and adapted) carnivore pleasers.

It also includes small baked accompaniments such as Olive tapenade toasts, parmesan twists and recipes for the advocated home made stocks, if you feel inclined to steer away from stock cubes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to fault at the price, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The short introduction explains the different types of soup: broth, chowders, purées, bisques, veloutés, potages and consommés, and then considers homemade stocks, providing recipes for these various stocks. It also looks at stock cubes and ready made stocks along with a few further points including a some finishing touches.

The soup recipes are listed under the headings: speedy soups, chilled soups, winter warmers, something special, healthy soups and around the world. The format is the same as other books in the series, that is each recipe has a double page, with the ingredients and instructions on one page with a full colour picture of the finished soup on the facing page. The range of recipes is wide, varied and interesting. Many of the soups are quite substantial and could serve as a meal in themselves.

There is much to appeal here, from very simple soups to some quite exotic or luxurious. From tomato and balsamic vinegar soup to luxuries such as chestnut soup with truffle oil and which includes brandy and pheasant (or beef) stock. Just to mention a few other interesting soups at random: apple and celery soup, gingered cauliflower soup, pumpkin, orange and star anise soup, beer broth with mini meatballs, honey roast parsnip soup, smoked aubergine and tomato soup, chilled almond and grape soup, seafood gumbo, scallop and broccoli broth, Caribbean pepper pot soup, summer vegetable soup, salmon and tarragon sabayon, five-spice duck soup with pak choi, Ghanaian groundnut soup - its difficult to know where to stop!

The preparation times vary from a few minutes up to around a hour for a few, and cooking times vary similarly. I do think some of the preparation times given are rather optimistic (but then this is a criticism that can be levelled at a number of cook books). But at the price it is hard to fault this little book, so many fascinating recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Souped up..., 12 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is my eighth Hamlyn 200 Cookbook and it probably won't be my last - it's also one of the best as it features such a great range of familiar and unfamiliar ideas for soups. Everything from family favourites like Minestrone through to Peppered Strawberry (no, I haven't tried it yet but I'll let you know...) and they're all presented in appealing categories like Speedy Soups, Winter Warmers and Around the World. Vegetarians are unusually well-served with a good selection of suitable soups but no-one's left out, there something here for everyone. Can't wait to try the Cullen Skink recipe, although obviously it won't be as good as my Grandmother's.

Quick tip: if you love French Onion Soup but want a vegetarian version try replacing the beef stock with vegetable stock and a medium spoonful of molasses, which will give the dark colour and depth of flavour that traditional French Onion needs without the meat. Don't overdo the molasses however or you'll have to work very hard to convince your guests that the 'Treacle & Onion Soup' was on purpose...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little cook book., 22 Dec. 2011
By 
Mike J (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent series of cook books. Mostly simple straightforward recipes that sound good and look great in the photo's.

The book is actually 100 recipes with a variation of each, giving 200. For example, Cream of Sweetcorn Soup's variation is Cream of Sweet Potato and Sweetcorn Soup, and it's as simple as swapping the potato for sweet potato fried in a little onion and butter, the rest is the same. Not all variations are that simple, but small changes can create a very different end result.

Out of all the books in the series I have read, around 10 so far, the variations in this book were more elaborate than in other books, giving almost a full 200 separate recipes. My example above really was the simplest one I could find.

Prep times are given and range from 10 to 30 mins, most being around 15-20 mins.

Sections are speedy soups (38 pages), chilled soups (22 pages), winter warmers (42 pages), something special (42 pages), healthy soups (34 pages) and around the world (42 pages).

Great book at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive gem!, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For such a modestly priced and relatively compact book, this excellent pocket book guide has given us inspiration to be more adventurous with the humble soup. You can take it at every level from a simple beginne's guide to basic soups to a creation worthy of the finest dinner party.

As a confirmed soup enthusiast, can heartily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
J. Lucas (The Best bit, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on a recommendation from a local soup bar that I frequent as they make some fantastic soups and they have all been inspired from this book. I'm going to be blunt and honest with you - the main reason for buying it was for the Cajun Red Bean soup (BEST SOUP EVER. EVER.) and since I've been flicking through it, I've discovered it is even better than I thought it would be!
For £3 it's a massive bargain and you really can't go wrong - I've already gone through it and post it marked all of the soups in numerical order of how I want to cook them! Bring on delicious lunchtimes! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews