Customer Reviews


18 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable guide for the pig keeper., 14 Feb. 2011
I've read some abominations on this subject but thankfully this book contains a plethora of relevant and easily understood information presented in a very effective layout.

"Happiness is pig-shaped" is a well used phrase by the author Tony York and his genuine affection for his animals abounds from every page, with plenty of anecdotes from over forty years of pig keeping and dashes of humour throughout this man shares his encyclopedic knowledge of pigs in a frank and honest and altogether non preachy manner.

So what do we get for our money? After a brief introduction exploring why we want to keep a pig in the first place we swiftly move on to the law, encompassing movement licences, herd numbers and registration. Fencing, housing, breed varieties and the all important cost factor are explored in depth. Feeding, breeding and an invaluable section on pig health are next, followed by a self explanatory section entitled "Meat for the freezer". The book is rounded out by a chapter on sales and marketing if that path appeals to you and ends with a who's who in the pig world.

I found this book invaluable and engrossing and will certainly go a long way towards getting you started in the world of pig keeping. Oinking brilliant......Hats off to Tony York!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been so well written, it is a good read for anyone whether venturing into pig keeping or not. The author gives practical advice and guidance which you should read and follow before keeping pigs. The author clearly has a love and passion for pigs which spell bounds the reader from page 1. The content is useful in providing practical information, it provides the reader with essential knowledge and a base from which to begin. I bought this book along with another before keeping pigs. This has been excellent reference and I refer to it for peace of mind and reassurance. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have brought a couple of books on pigs as this year going to have a couple.
It is true don't judge a book by it's cover - the other book I brought had a lovely cover and happily read that first - came to this one and it is far better - lots of information and very practical.
Will be put into use this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than any other pig book i have read, 13 April 2011
By 
Ms. Em Frost (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book does exactly what it says on the cover "covers all aspects of pig keeping". it is a fantastic book for the beginner. i could not put it down, i just wanted to keep on reading. easy to read, well laid out, very informative, up to date and an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will it work, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Started In Pig Keeping: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
This book was very thorough about pig keeping. The author treats his pigs as his friends, and places a great deal of care and detail into there management. But pig keeping seems to have very tight profit margins and is not designed as a business book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro into Pig Keeping, 24 Dec. 2010
Loads of useful information which has made my transition from 'thinking about keeping pigs' to actually keeping pigs for real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to help you plan, 17 July 2015
By 
David Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Started In Pig Keeping: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
Very good starter: gives you a good sense of the rewards as well as the basic principles/considerations when embarking on a pig-keeping journey. Not an in-depth technical guide filled with commercial topics but instead an excellent primer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Started In Pig Keeping: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as I was on a trip with National Trust/Tyntesfield to see how pigs were kept at another property. Read it on the way, the ten minute info was invaluable....I was able to sound knolwledgeable by the time I got there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How not to make a Pig's ear of Pig Keeping, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Started In Pig Keeping: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly good read and excellent advice. I'm coming to pig keeping afresh so this was a must buy. Great explanations delivered with much humour. I like it on many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy great book, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have for pig keepers. Tony explains everything there is to know. Extremely good book. Value for money is great. Easy read. Funny anecdotes good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews