Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to Jung's ideas, 11 Dec 2010
By 
Nicholas Le Mesurier (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Carl Jung is one of those pioneers whose ideas and discoveries have become absorbed into mainstream thinking. Notions of sychronicity, archetypes, collective unconscious, individuation, introvert and extrovert are all pretty much commonplace now - thanks to Jung and his followers.

Though not as hard to read as some people claim, Jung's own writings consist of some twenty volumes representing a long working life involved daily with the workings of his own and others' minds. Knowing where to start is in itself a challenge.

The strength of this book is its organisation and the clarity of its text. Ruth Snowden offers us 'bite sized' examples and explanations of Jung's writing and experience alongside slightly more lengthy discussions. She covers all the main points. It is easy to navigate your way around the chapters, and if you want you can easily pick and choose the parts that interest you and know where to go for more.

If you never read another book on Jung you would still emerge from reading this one with a clear understanding of the basics of his thought and why his emphasis on the importance of wholeness and integrity is more important now than ever before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A readable and informative review, 15 Feb 2012
By 
A. Warren "cygnetdoc" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jung - The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book when I was asked by a friend to recommend a relatively short summary of Jung's ideas . Having read it I find myself, despite fairly extensive reading of other texts about Jung, better informed and with a greater understanding of key topics in Jung's psychology. There are other books around which introduce Jung to the initiated as well as the uninitiated, but I found this one easily read, clear in it's outline, and effective in it's stated task . Overall an excellent book for all readers and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy introduction, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Jung - The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
I needed a quick overview of Jung's ideas before exploring in greater depth elsewhere. This book is an easy to read introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introductory book, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good introductory book. It gives me a thorough understanding of Jung's life in a way how one's family truly affected his life course. Also his work with Freud and how Jung elaborated and to work towards where his strength and interest is. Very inspiring to me in my marriage and family therapy training. Jung is definitely good at helping neurosis patients and from their dream analysis, he has great psychology theories being developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jung - The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
easy understand to how to read and mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jung - The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
excellent book and easy to understand the subject and can help self or others. great value for money. i would recommend this book for reading . greater understanding explained simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jung- The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself, 26 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good basic introduction to Jungs ideas. The text is clear with explinations of any jargon used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very basic but a good overview, 26 July 2011
By 
Nom de Plume (dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very basic overview of Jungian psychology. The lack of proper citations from the Collected Works makes it less useful for academic purposes than the excellent, if more involved Jung: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... started reading it but the subject matter is of great interest to me, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't started reading it but the subject matter is of great interest to me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommendation, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Angela B. Lambart (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love the easy to read sections. Would recommend. Service efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jung - The Key Ideas: Teach Yourself
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews