Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly his best
Once again first read this at school 30 years ago and still have my old dog-eared copy - which does not have the "panzerporn" cover with the SS logo but rather a more sobering photo of a dead tanker lying next to his burnt out Tiger I and the tagline - "the book no German publisher dared print."

Roughly divides into two parts, starting with Allied bombing of...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by H. T. Davies

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Effective Russian front novel
This is the second in the series and is in my opinion a vast improvement on "The Legion of the dammed" which was the first.It still stalks the same territory but the writing is much improved.The style in a literal sense is minimal but it still conveys the intense and inhuman conditions that are left out of history books.In doing so it becomes an anti-war novel and a...
Published on 8 May 2010 by nicholas hargreaves


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly his best, 14 Oct 2008
By 
H. T. Davies - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Once again first read this at school 30 years ago and still have my old dog-eared copy - which does not have the "panzerporn" cover with the SS logo but rather a more sobering photo of a dead tanker lying next to his burnt out Tiger I and the tagline - "the book no German publisher dared print."

Roughly divides into two parts, starting with Allied bombing of Hamburg and life in the barracks before returning to the Eastern Front. I don't agree with the reviewer who says that the translation is bad and the chapters unconnected. To me the style is a little like Hemingway and thus disjointed in the same way and conveys the action and emotion realistically. The chapter 'Refugees' is particularly poignant. The translation is much better than, for example, in Comrades of War where the translator simply invents words when he doesn't what they are in English.

Altogether a sobering read, showing the brutal face of war and the war machine (State Execution and the scene with Heide and the child). Not at all the "panzerpron' adventure portrayed in the art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Effective Russian front novel, 8 May 2010
By 
This is the second in the series and is in my opinion a vast improvement on "The Legion of the dammed" which was the first.It still stalks the same territory but the writing is much improved.The style in a literal sense is minimal but it still conveys the intense and inhuman conditions that are left out of history books.In doing so it becomes an anti-war novel and a carries an air of disdain for the ruling elite and their abuse of ordinary men as a tool for the realisation of their narcissistic ambitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, violent and thoroughly readable, 30 July 2003
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an episodic semi-autobiographical journey through a part of the Second World War told through the eyes of the 'hero', Sven Hassel, a member of a penal regiment fighting the Russians. The book contains a lot of deeply unpleasant and brutally violent scenes that ring horrifically true. This isn't a rose tinted version of war we see in Hollywood movies but a grim, harsh and horrible reality. Despite it's unpleasantness this is hugely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wheels of Terror (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Kindle Edition)
Read these many years ago but like most I re visit books that I enjoy, superb writing and very difficult to put down once started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wheels of Terror (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. Unique because its from the german perspective. The author also served on the eastern front so the story is engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sven hassel, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wheels of Terror (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Kindle Edition)
read sven hassen book a long time ago so wanted to read it again still very good and it was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good story to entertain., 10 Jan 2014
By 
I. Johnstone (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wheels of Terror (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Kindle Edition)
I understand a little German, but to those that know none. The songs that are written in German allthough only a few lines, might irritate you a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Soldier, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wheels of Terror (Cassell Military Paperbacks) (Kindle Edition)
Only one who has seen action at the front can describe the terrors of war as Sven Hassel does. This is no corps commanders view of warfar carried out on a map, this is the blood and guts, front line, friendships that form and are relied on reality. It may be that reading this book will make you feel ill, if so, I advise you to read it and be ill. This is the reality of what our politicians plunge service men and women into. Now, like then, we are sent into battle I'll equipped and I'll managed. Nothing seems to have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hassel, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my husband who loves Sven Hassel books, so very much appreciated. Arrived in good time and great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wheels of Terror (CAssell Military Papererbacks) SVEN HASSELL., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from sVen,Sven and his comrades are in a panzer,are back in the Russian front.With the life expectancy only weeks,they have to fight to the very end.The Russians are going to blow the GERMANS to hell?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa02514e0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews