Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Knitting Bible
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by La Fata

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for beginners, gets complicated early on
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to...
Published 21 months ago by Missy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful understanding, 27 April 2013
By 
Cheryl Anderson "Cheryl" (South West England, UK) - See all my reviews
Good explanations for the use of colours. This book is especially good for anyone who has little to no understanding of how to use colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter requested this for Christmas. She is delighted with it as she wanted to try out different knitting techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The colour purple, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With all these patterns for Fair Isle and Intarsia, this is an excellent guide to how to do it plus lots of other stuff on colours that's a bit beyond me. Much cheaper than going on a course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great technique book, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great for all kinds of techniques for knitting with coloured wool. Fast delivery too. I can't wait to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ideal book for beginner or experienced knitter. So many different
stitches to choose. Well described and good pictures. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colour Knitting, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this book is a paperback, the pages are thick, hardwearing and pleasantly smooth to touch. The print colours are very clear, important when the subject is about colour knitting. The focus of this book is about how to use stitches with different coloured wools rather than teaching how to knit or presenting really fancy designs. A clear graph for each patterned stitch is displayed on each page: the instructions couldn't be clearer. In addition to the stitches and advice on colour, there is information on design in general. I have found this book very useful for developing my own creative thoughts with the variety of wool that I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring!, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has lots of good ideas in it, the photos are clear and so are the instructions ... at least for the couple of things I've tried so far. The section on using the colour wheel to select colour schemes is helpful for both my knitting and my art. I'm glad I bought this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that keen knitters will be keen to have., 10 July 2012
This is a very attractive and extremely useful book, providing plenty of practical advice and inspiration for using colour. I took it to my craft group where it was enthused over. Acessible to beginning knitters, it nevertheless provides lots of ideas for experienced knitters to develop their skills. Instructions are clear and very well illustrated. A glowing gem of a book, it makes your fingers itch to get knitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wow - great colour; loads of topics on colour work; crisp complete images; laid out locically. It just feels good to hold it even LOL the section on steeks is the best ever next to having someone from Scandinavia doing it in front of you, as it were. The ultimate colour work book YAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 23 Aug 2011
By 
Ms. A. Craven "Yorkshire Lass" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book and another one specifically to learn how to do intarsia knitting. This one only has a very small section on Intarsia, therefore my other book was better for that, but this book has a much wider offering, with additional methods of colour knitting, more handy hints and tips and inspiration. There is also a useful section on how to pick colours for colour work, what complements and contrasts, etc. Depends how deep you want to go into it, but this is a great all-round book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques
£12.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews