Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
What a fabulous story! I was hooked from page one and found it hard to put this one down! Diane Chamberlain has written a riveting story, with likeable, believable characters and a plot that twists and turns on every page.

The story is about love, family, betrayal and relationships. Very cleverly, she has written the story in a dual-time narrative. The...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by Lincs Reader

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pageturner, but with reservations
I really enjoyed this book and foundthe story very gripping. The character and love story of Sarah were very moving. But...I just didn't find Dylan's sudden interest in and devotion to Emma remotely believable. It seemed just too good to be true and ended up irritating me. This was the first book by this author that I had read, and maybe it is characteristic of her? But I...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by JH


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 23 Jan 2010
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
What a fabulous story! I was hooked from page one and found it hard to put this one down! Diane Chamberlain has written a riveting story, with likeable, believable characters and a plot that twists and turns on every page.

The story is about love, family, betrayal and relationships. Very cleverly, she has written the story in a dual-time narrative. The modern day tale of Laura and her electively mute daughter Emma, and how Laura tracks down Emma's real father in the hope that he can help her.

Sarah Tolley, the old woman who Laura's father asked her to look out for tells her story of working in 1950s psychiatric hospitals alongside - the stories of ECT, lobotomies and radical drug treatment is brutal and shocking, and the effects on Sarah and ultimately on Laura and Emma are heartbreaking.

An excellent read - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and enthralling, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Breaking the Silence (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard of Diane Chamberlain prior to reading this book, which I randomly picked off the shelf. I absolutely loved it and couldn't put it down. I stayed up late and started reading early! In two days I had finished it!
I passed it onto a friend and she read it even quicker and also absolutely loved it. Would definitely recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 5 Jun 2009
I bought this book after reading Diane Chamberlain's "The Lost Daughter" which I absolutly loved. Breaking the Silence is not as good as The Lost Daughter but still a fantastic read. DC is gifted at creating likeable characters and her style of writing makes you want to turn the page to find out more.
This book has an outstandingly original story with enough twists to keep you reading. The ending is perfect and you dont feel let down when you have finshed the book, DC ties up all the loose ends.

I highly recommend this book, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalizing and entertaining relationship drama, 17 Dec 1998
By A Customer
The hospital calls Laura Brandon to tell her that if she wants to say her good-byes to her dying father, she must come immediately. Her spouse Ray offers to accompany her, but Laura says she would rather he stay home with their child Emma. With his last breath, her father manages to get Laura to vow that she will look after Sarah Tolley, a resident of Meadow Wood Village. Though Laura agrees to his dying wish, she wonders who this Laura is.
When she informs her spouse about the strange request, he passionately pleads for her to not honor her deathbed promise. However, Laura feels she must visit Sarah. She returns home from seeing Laura, an alzheimer's victim, only to find Ray killed himself in front of Emma., Witnessing the horror of her father's suicide causes Emma to become mute. Clueless as to what to do for her beloved daughter, Laura turns to Emma's biological father, Dylan Gert, who is unaware that he sired a child, for help. Though angry at her for keeping Emma's birth a secret from him, Dylan tries to reach his little daughter. At the same time, Laura tries to learn what Sarah's link to her family really is?
BREAKING THE SILENCE is an incredible work of art that proves why Diane Chamberlain has won so many awards. The brilliant story line slowly simmers as the intrigue mounts until readers want to know the secrets. Ms. Chamberlain shows her deft skills by tantalizing while entertaining the audience before revealing the shocking truths. The characters form a wonderful cast and fans will be heartbroken over Emma's tragedy. This is a great novel by one of the best writers of relationship tales.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those books you can't put down!, 17 May 1999
By A Customer
Breaking the Silence was such a good book, I spent my Saturday night reading until 1:30 a.m., got up again at 7 a.m. and started reading. I absolutly loved it!
When Laura's father is on his deathbed he asks her to take care of an elderly woman, whom Laura has never met or heard of. Knowing this is her father's last wish, Laura agrees. When she goes home to tell her husband what she agreed to, he is furious. Demands that she doesn't go. Because this is his last wish, Laura goes to visit Sarah Trolley. Upon her return home, she finds her husband has comitted suicide and her daughter witnessed it.
After the suicde Emma becomes mute. After bringing her to several physchologists, realizing that Emma is afraid of men, one talks Laura into contacting the man who is Emma's birth father.
Dylan never knew he had a daughter and when he first learns of her, he denies it. After Laura leaves a picture with him, he finally admits she is his daughter and wants to become part of her life.
Meanwhile, Laura is still meeting with Sarah Trolley and is discovering some incredible stories that Sarah is telling her. Stories of government cover ups and mind control. Determined to figure out the entire story, (and her father's relationship with Sarah) Laura becomes more and more involved.
This story has many, many twists and turns. The love story between Dylan and Laura is more in the background, but very well written.
I believe that any book that can keep me up all hours is worthy of a high recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly brilliant book!!, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Breaking the Silence (Kindle Edition)
i decided to purchase "breaking the silence" after reading "the lost daughter" on my kindle.
i wasnt disapointed, what a brilliant book yet again by this excellant author! i couldnt put this book down and cant wait to read another by her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pageturner, but with reservations, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Silence (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and foundthe story very gripping. The character and love story of Sarah were very moving. But...I just didn't find Dylan's sudden interest in and devotion to Emma remotely believable. It seemed just too good to be true and ended up irritating me. This was the first book by this author that I had read, and maybe it is characteristic of her? But I would recommend it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Great Book., 12 Mar 1999
By A Customer
"Breaking The Silence" is the first book I have read by Diane Chamberlain and what a great book it is. Full of suspense and romance. The author really makes you feel for the characters, I found myself thinking about them at work and wishing it was time to go home so that I could find out what was going to happen next. I highly recommend this book, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Silence (Kindle Edition)
I have read a few of Diane Chamberlain books now and this is my favourite one to date. A many layered story that has you enrapt right to the end. A really great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book took me into the story with vivid relationships an, 5 Feb 1999
By A Customer
If you love a book that is impossible to put down, you will love "Breaking the Silence" by Diane Chamberlain. The author constructs a very intense plot with lots of surprises. Her charachters are very realistic and her writing style is wonderful. There is not one word you will want to skim over in this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence by Diane Chamberlain
5.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews