Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of kit! Perfect for multi-role use.
Bought these PMRs primarily for use in Airsoft games / marshalling, but have also used them on the road with exceptional results, and for mountain biking as well. Very easy and intuitive navigation, clear display and accessible controls. The bright LED torch is a very handy accessory, for map-reading or just playing around with (it came in useful finding stuff in the car...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Adstar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK to a point
I got these for a youth sailing trip. They worked reasonably well up to about 1.5km in a flat but partly wooded area. Not much use beyond that.

They are advertised as splashproof, and they certainly survived being on a dinghy in the rain without problems.

Ultimately though, they performed no better than some Binatone units I had (also splashproof and...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of kit! Perfect for multi-role use., 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
Bought these PMRs primarily for use in Airsoft games / marshalling, but have also used them on the road with exceptional results, and for mountain biking as well. Very easy and intuitive navigation, clear display and accessible controls. The bright LED torch is a very handy accessory, for map-reading or just playing around with (it came in useful finding stuff in the car where the interior light didn't illuminate). Its 10km ability was not tested to its full range, but there was never a lost connection or interference! This is perfect with a PRO HD kevlar headset, or related unit. I personally didn't find any cons with the equipment: the charging cradle is easy to use, battery life is extremely good and the display is clear without being too bright. Definitely the best multi-purpose radio I have used, and at a very good price! You will not be disappointed. A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars robust and just the job, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. Tracey Davis (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
perfect size, not too big or too small ! Nice weight to the handsets, enough to know you have it in your pocket and havent lost it, but not overly heavy to the point that you feel you are lugging it around. Clips very securely to your belt or pocket and doesnt spring off if you bend down. Like the ideal of the lanyard loop built into the design. Bought it for my twin sons to use now they are venturing further out to play independantly. We live in a village where there is no mobile phone signal so this is an ideal way we can now find out where they are and call them in for dinner etc. Tested so far over a 2 mile distance and the signal was still perfect and crystal clear. Charged the batteries up for 12hours on their 1st charge and so far after 3 days of constant use (at least 8 hours a day !) they are still showing fully charged. Dead easy to use and understand its features. Nothing complicated to get stressed over. Will now buy another handset to leave at home so both sons can take a handset out and we can still contact both/either of them from home. I like the fact we can scan across the channels to find out what channel they are tuned on. Boys loved taking them to bed last night and chatting the night away to each other across the landing. Love the fact they are a robust design and showerproof. The LED torch is an added bonus and really is super bright. I'm sure that will be useful on their next scout hike and camping trip. I think these are a great buy for the money, i dont think you will feel disappointed with your purchase. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
ignore the 10km range thats all crap to be honest. Probably boat to boat under calm conditions, in the real world think half a mile and you wont be far wrong. These were bought for me to keep in contact with my wife in work as Ive had a series of strokes. She works approx half a mile away or so and we're in a built up area with a taxi company right in line of sight. Around the home they work really well, but obviously the further away you go, the worse they get. We can both understand each other easily enough (as long as the taxi's aren't totally blocking the airwaves) from inside a building over about half a mile, not tested them any further as yet but will keep you posted. Im not sure how there is a difference between the T4 T6 and T8 in terms of distance as they all use the same 0.5w output chip. And when I was doing the CB radios back in the 70's, 1watt was sufficient for one mile, 5 watts five miles etc. But this was dependant on conditions too. So half a mile at half a watt is about right. Dont expect 10km like Ive said and you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best TLKRs yet, but not perfect., 21 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
My place of business has used Motorola walkie talkies for over 10 years now so we've been through many of the earlier versions of this radio range.

These are definitely the best so far - here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
Smooth feel in the hand.
Pretty good range.
Surprisingly loud on max volume.
Addition of a clock is useful.
Handy LED torch.
Reasonably robust & weatherproof - a few have survived surprise dunkings!
Good battery life.

CONS:
Yet another belt clip design that snaps at the first opportunity.
Still getting a slight silence immediately after pressing the talk button. A pause before talking is still required, sadly - I wish Motorola would find a solution to this.
Minimum volume is too loud.
Complicated menu system - a more intuitive set of controls is needed.
LED torch is barely bright enough to be usable.
Fussy contacts don't always touch properly in the charger.
Why do I need to switch off the radio to get it to charge properly?
Images/letters on the buttons rub off quickly, especially if kept in a pocket.

We'll still buy more of this model, at least until the next version come out (TLKR T9?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK to a point, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
I got these for a youth sailing trip. They worked reasonably well up to about 1.5km in a flat but partly wooded area. Not much use beyond that.

They are advertised as splashproof, and they certainly survived being on a dinghy in the rain without problems.

Ultimately though, they performed no better than some Binatone units I had (also splashproof and £30 a pair)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Work well, good range (not 10km though), 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
Bought this for the kids to play with and they work great. A one mile range is realistic, maybe more if in open space and no interferences. The kids love it, use it indoors, outdoors etc... Easy to use and set up, work a charm. They only should come with a few accessories such as headsets etc... then they would be worth truly 5 stars but at £68 still good value. This was an offer price, so if they are more expensive, shop around and for £70 you will find many similar ones on the internet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battery life is terrrible., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
Thank goodness we have a spare. We have to rotate them through the charger all day to keep some life in the batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality and work well for what i wanted them for, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
Really good quality items. Some people have reported these units as not charging properly.sometimes you do need to shuffle them arounda little in the docking bay, but there is a red light indicator that shows you when they are docked properly, so as long as you have eyes you should be able to situate them in the docking bay without fuss. I've had these for 5 months now and they are working as good as new and have had regular use. The charge lasts a long time too as long as you aren't constantly messing about with the units.

Worth the money in my opinion as long as you understand their technical limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good units with decent range, 16 April 2013
By 
T. Fellowes "CB&HA" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
Bought these to use in ski trip allowing me to keep in contact with the wife when we do different routes.
These worked fine range was no problem just make sure the batteries are fully charged as they will start to beep and then die almost immediately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Range and fantastic quality!, 1 April 2013
By 
M. Matsoukas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola TLKR T8 PMR Radio Walkie Talkies Twin Pack - Silver / Black (Electronics)
I recently purchased these walkie talkies for a snoboarding trip to Chamonix and found them great value for money.

During the trip we used them every day and they worked great, in terms of distance I was surpised how well they worked and the distance they covered even when we were at different resorts. Infact we could get very clear reception from the bottom of the Le Tour to the top of Grands Montets about 5km. However most surising was having a good signal from the bottom of Le Tour to the top of Flegere a distance of 8km and through mountain terrain.

Having said that being at the opposite side (bottom) of a mountain blocked the signal and we could not speak, even at short distances such as 3-4km.

The only issue I had was that the battery indicator, it's not very accurate and can go from full to empty with little indication inbetween which caught me out a few times so we were left with no battery. Having said that the battery is very good and can last for 2 days however I recommend you charge them every day.

Overall I would give this 4.5 stars and I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews