Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Protector and flare-killer
Not suitable for wide angle lenses - in order to get no vignetting you'll need to stay at a minimum of 24mm on a crop sensor. But apart from that it feels built to last, it's a decent size and rotation adjustable which is handy.
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Dane

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vigneting at wide angles
Must say that with this you do get 'vignetting' - in each of the corners you will get black in the frame from it getting in the way - this is on the 18-55mm Nikon lens - and more prevalent the wider you go - but noticeable even on the Nikon 50mm 1.8f AF. Hardly worth sending back, so its added to the cost of buying a decent one. I havn't noticed this at higher zooms so...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by EMANON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vigneting at wide angles, 25 Jun 2012
By 
EMANON (Cornwall, U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
Must say that with this you do get 'vignetting' - in each of the corners you will get black in the frame from it getting in the way - this is on the 18-55mm Nikon lens - and more prevalent the wider you go - but noticeable even on the Nikon 50mm 1.8f AF. Hardly worth sending back, so its added to the cost of buying a decent one. I havn't noticed this at higher zooms so I'll give it a two.It might come in some small use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loss fitting, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
I would have to say, this lens hood, was not quite what I was expecting.
Despite it been described right, I find that when this hood was screwed on it would be loose fitting and if tried to screw it on tight it would come loose again.

While I understand its not meant to be tight, but I do expect it to be tight enough that a little knock, will not make the hood come off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fiddly, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
It works fine, but it's fiddly to screw on esp. when you have filteres etc. i'd go for a bayonet instead of a screw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fiddly to attach, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
Threading makes it extremely difficult to attach and doesn't do final "click" so not secure (several attempts by various colleagues confirm problem). Moves during use resulting in vignetting of images.

Wish I'd just gone for a more expensive one first time as now having to buy a replacement that's fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much use, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. A. D. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
The lens hood is badly designed. I had it for my old D3100 with 18-55 and at 18mm through to 22mm it blacked out the edges of the cornors from the field of view. Often came of the thread and could potentially do damage to your lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Protector and flare-killer, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
Not suitable for wide angle lenses - in order to get no vignetting you'll need to stay at a minimum of 24mm on a crop sensor. But apart from that it feels built to last, it's a decent size and rotation adjustable which is handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but..., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
It does what it is meant to do but it feels cheap and plasticky. The screw thread feels "gritty" when screwing into place and it doesn't reverse to clip onto the lens for storage which is annoying but the price was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 52mm DSLR plastic screw mount flower petal lens hood.I have not tested the other items but i am sure they will be very useful., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
The above lens hood 52mm (flowe petal dslr scew mount) was excellent value.To fit it securely to the camera I had to remove the ring on the thread of lens cap in the rear.What function this ring has I do not know..I lost in Madras because the ring was not.. removed.Now the fitting is perfect.Good value for the price..Recommend this item..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hello petal, get yourself a petal, petal., 2 Jan 2014
By 
Sáss Alæssí (Congleton. Cheshire East, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
It wasn't until I bought my D3000 3yrs ago that I really understood just what the benefit of a Flower Petal Lens Hood was. So I headed round to my local lake and practised taking shots both with the hood on and with the hood off, soon I started to see the classic 'lens flare' that I'd heard about. so very glad I did this.
Now with my latest Nikon, the D5200, I have a collection of all varying sizes and shapes of hoods depending on the weather and what time of year it is which gives me an idea of how bright the day is gonna be. I have recently considered buying a lightmeter but not sure as yet.
Definitely buy yourself a couple of hoods though my friends. Saying that, there are a couple of occasions when taking a shot without a hood gives you a stunning flare across a beautiful girls features if you capture it just right. Happy shooting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lens, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood (Electronics)
Don't just read reports buy it and use it, you will wonder why you never bought it earlier. Good Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quality 52mm DSLR Plastic Screw Mount Flower Petal Lens Hood
Used & New from: £1.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews