Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I actually found it funnier than Little Britain
I know this hasn't been released yet, and I can't wait to get my hands on it, but having seen this on the BBC - it is the best thing Walliams and co have ever done.

Don't get me wrong, I love little britain but I always felt they tipped the balance a little too much with some of the daring humour.

Come fly with me is more controlled than their other...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by David Walker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea
I got this as a present for my brother, and after watching a few episodes i felt it wasn't as funny as i expected; the humour is quite repetitive and only made me laugh if i was already feeling giddy. However, my brother did love it, just depend what you enjoy i guess - look up clips on youtube of it if you're not sure?
The positives; arrived on time, early even...
Published 6 months ago by Shaneen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I actually found it funnier than Little Britain, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I know this hasn't been released yet, and I can't wait to get my hands on it, but having seen this on the BBC - it is the best thing Walliams and co have ever done.

Don't get me wrong, I love little britain but I always felt they tipped the balance a little too much with some of the daring humour.

Come fly with me is more controlled than their other work, and the characters are really inspired - I laughed through every episode and this show deserves another season a least. Hilarious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic- If you'll pardon the pun!, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It's got humour, it's got imagination, it's got creativity, it's got a vast range of brilliant characters, it's a good watch, it's worth buying, but it's got no coffee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarity all the way, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Although there were parts of Little Britain I found funny, most of the characters left me cold - so I used to wait until Ting Tong and her creepy husband or Bubbles and rivals came on - but in Come Fly With Me it's hilarity all the way as there's so much scope for laughs and amusing twists that they could make the series almost as endless as the very documentaries about airports that they caricature. My favourite characters are Omar Baba - oily owner of Flylo airlines with his office full of exotic treaures like a Pharoah's tomb, and the customs officer, who is practically a militant British nationalist. All the characters are funny and because it reflects reality and the general horrors of air travel, with characters like check-in girls Keely and Melody, everyone can get the point. I'm hoping that at some stage they'll introduce and brutally caricature some security search and x-ray machine staff (in the next series perhaps?) who put one through frequent misery confiscating nail scissors and quarter-full 150gm bottles of expensive lotions - and making you risk Athlete's Foot/Verrukas walking on a dirty floor, as well as turfing your personal items (some deeply personal!) onto the table before a large audience...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THESE GUYS ARE THE LIMIT, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Kelvin J. Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Welcome to the world of FlyLo, "Britain's eighth favourite low-cost airline".

............................

It pretty much boils down to this: you either like COME FLY WITH ME or you don't. There's no inbetween, chiefly because the show is so much more than the sum of its parts and, as a result, opinions diverge - just as they did with LITTLE BRITAIN only a few short years ago.

Filmed, mockumentary-style, at an actual airport, Come Fly With Me has the benefit of being populated with real (background) personnel, facilities and, of course, passengers. The attention to detail is quite breathtaking and this is where the brilliance of the concept really comes alive; MATT LUCAS and DAVID WALLIAMS have created a scenario with endless possibility. Better still, most of the characters have their own little story arcs - nothing too heavy, but it does mean that each episode is best watched in order and, as a result, we care more for what happens to them.

REALLY?
Yes, really.

BUT IT'S ALL SO POLITICALLY INCORRECT. HOW CAN YOU, FOR EXAMPLE, SIT THROUGH ALL THAT RACIAL STEREOTYPING?
Simple: it's very funny and, crucially, no-one's exempt - they're all under the spotlight. Grotesque behaviour is common to all these people. But after seeing Walliams and Lucas in action one thing is abundantly clear: they each possess that rare gift of a twinkle in the eye - the non-knowing, non self-indulgent sort - which means that even if the material isn't quite pitch perfect (mostly it is, however) it's still possible to watch the broad goings on with a smile on your face. So amongst the laughs, and in the course of "another day at one of Britain's busiest airports", there are many truths present - both home and abroad - all carefully built in to be gleefully exposed in all their unsavoury glory. For our entertainment. It's not about political correctness - thank goodness - or the desire to hurt, it's about adding another layer of depth.

Reading this, you (hopefully) know the characters involved. One of my favourites is TAAJ, from Bradford. Performed superbly by Lucas, and in the way only a real understanding of human nature can guarantee, he's the essence of true charicature. Walliams' hyper-real jobsworth IAN FOOT is another example of a type who may well live only a few doors down the road. Not to mention the MELODY and KEELEYs of this world, even the likes of MICKEY and BUSTER - all it takes is a quick glance sideways and there they are. Just a few of the superb creations on offer to those with open arms. I love it. Here's to Series 2.

...........................

LOOK OUT FOR...
FlyLo's owner, OMAR BABA, demonstrating the airline's new Pay As You Crash Lifejackets which deflate after 20 minutes, requiring further swipes of the plastic; Air Steward, FEARGHAL O'FARRELL, selflessly cheering up a distressed child with a cute 'Our Lady Air' teddy...costing the mother a very steep 30 euros; PRECIOUS LITTLE, having to close the Coffee Hut kiosk early, yet again, this time due to the impracticalities of her new salon fingernails; TOMMY REID, airport Happy Burger Trainee, desperate to be a pilot, but learning how to use the till and serve a customer at the same time; Passenger Liaison Officer MOSES BEACON's pretty scary online pop video for his charity, Wishwings; Stalwart travellers, PETER and JUDITH's (Judith's mostly) descriptions of their stomach-churning "holidays from Hell"; TAAJ, hilarious as the earnest punchline to a well-tasteless (but cleverly subverted) gag about sexual harassment; A total curve-ball of a moment, surprisingly poignant, between the airport's in-house photographers, MICKEY and BUSTER. And many more highlights I also can't do justice to.

The extras ought to include the fascinating documentary COME FLY ON THE WALL. It's basically an interview, conducted by Mark Lawson, intercut with behind-the-scenes footage of make-up, rehearsal and location filming. Lucas and Walliams are 'themselves' and discuss the often serious nature of their craft and the working relationship they've enjoyed over several years. Their rationale, for example, about whether or not to retain certain characters from LITTLE BRITAIN and introduce them into the new show's format contains some interesting speculation, the results of which we can now judge for ourselves. Personally, I think they made the right choice, tempting though it would have been to see LOU and ANDY pitch up in front of the FlyLo check-in desk.

...........................

As with LITTLE BRITAIN, but using a far larger canvas on which creativity has touched ever more sublime levels, COME FLY WITH ME will in time be regarded as another Lucas and Walliams masterpiece. And for precisely all the reasons it is wilfully misunderstood by certain sections of the public now.

God, it's even blessed with a catchy 'feem toon' by DAVID ARNOLD. Which leaves only one thing you need to do: Go Fly With Them.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Flighting!, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Mellow Yellow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was so excited Christmas Day waiting for this series to start and I have to say that I was abit disappointed at first, but this didnt last long.

My partner and I were expecting a Little Britain spin off and after seeing the first episode it was obvious that Matt and David wanted to leave the old characters behind, which was a little sad. However, once we put Little Britain to the back of our minds and stopped comparing the two then we really started to enjoy this new series.

The check in girls, "Melody & Keeley" are hilarious and if you have seen that Easyjet documentary aired a few years back then you will know who they are taking the mickey out of! Another new character that was an instant hit for us was "Moses Beacon" who is the Passenger Liason Officer for one of the airlines. The way an elderly passenger manipulated him was so funny and is something that we have all seen when travelling! My personal favourites though are the husband and wife pilots "Simon & Jackie Trent" who are the typical married couple in charge of a plane which in real life would be terrifying as they always argue!

To truly appreciate this series you do need to forget Little Britain. Whilst the format maybe similar, the characters are totally different and some may argue are less controversial than their Little Britain predecesors.

I have certainly reserved my seat on the sofa to watch more of this series and I hope others will too! 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where did this brilliant series go?, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Peter Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was never a fan of Little Britain so I can't compare. For me though, this series is just wonderful. The documentary style is perfect, and makes me laugh at real documentaries now when the voiceover is done in the same over-serious way. The characters, especially Precious Little, are wickedly humorous: "got no coorffeee" is now part of our family's vocabulary! And the pointed references to Easyjet are fantastic, with stand-up seats, credit card-accessed fixed-time lifejackets and the Greek owner. Some sketches fall flat and/or are overlong, but try watching Monty Python now and you'll find the same thing. Really, this DVD is just brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying high on cloud nine, above and beyond Little Britain!, 19 Feb 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the funniest comedies to grace our screens in the last decade was undoubtedly Little Britain. It was truly a radical, inspired sketch-show, breaking new ground and all kinds of taboos, featuring absolute hilarities and an unforgettable cast of characters (i.e. Daffyd Thomas, Emily Howard & the irrepressible Lou & Andy). It truly put the names of Matt Lucas and David Walliams on the map, and achieved all kinds of success.

After three excellent series, various Christmas & Comic Relief specials and the utterly abysmal Little Britain USA, Matt and David (wisely) chose to call it a day on Little Britain and instead focused their efforts on something brand new. Come Fly With Me was the fruit of their newest labour which broadcast on Christmas Day 2010. The first episode was absolutely hilarious, one of the highlights of Christmas telly that year. The strength of the first episode carried on all throughout the entire series, making it truly the best sitcom in absolutely ages.

Come Fly With Me is a spoof-documentary, filming the activities of a fictional airport and the goings-on of three fictional airlines: FlyLo, Our Lady Air and Great British Air. In the six episodes that make up the series, you can expect all the mad antics that the Little Britain duo are famous for, and a brand new slate of colourful characters, the best being;

- Omar Baba, the notorious, money-pinching owner of Fly-Lo.
- Precious Little, the Christian owner of the airport's coffee kiosk.
- Moses Beacon, Great British Air's executive passenger liaison officer.
- Ian Foot, the airport's racist chief immigration officer.
- Melody Baines & Keeley St. Clair, the check-in girls.
- Fearghal O' Farrell, the air steward for Our Lady Air.
- Mickey Minchin & Buster Bell, the airport's own paparazzi.
- Simon & Jackie Trent, the husband-and-wife pilot team with marital problems.
- Peter and Judith Surname(!), holidaymakers who suffer the worst holidays with FlyLo.
- And finally Taaj Manzoor (my favourite character!), a member of the ground crew whose a raving enthusiast for films, cars and extreme sports.

In a lot of ways, Come Fly With Me surpasses Little Britain. Although a lot of the show's content was classic, too much of Little Britain was just shamelessly vulgar and gross. The humour in Come Fly With Me is a lot more focused, with Lucas and Walliams' writing having matured a great deal, relying less on obscenities and concentrating more on sharp wit. Because of the refreshing change of setting (using an airport instead of a whole country) and format (sitcom instead of sketch-show), Matt and David have disciplined themselves into producing something much more intelligent and funnier than even Little Britain.

Lucas and Walliams truly deserve props for this series. Not only for showing that there's life after Little Britain, but for coming up with a brand-new range of material. There's hardly a dull moment in the show and no dull characters whatsoever. You'll be in stitches from start-to-finish and you'll be absolutely amazed by the number of guest celebrities who appear! Featuring the great Lindsey Duncan as series narrator, you'll also see the likes of the Spice Girls' own Geri Halliwell, Jacqueline King (Doctor Who), David Schwimmer (Friends), Rupert Grint (Harry Potter), Ted Robbins (Phoenix Nights), Anna Friel (Brookside), Valentine Pelka (Highlander/Queen of Swords) and Dale Winton! And they're all part of some of the best moments the show has to offer!

Obviously, there have been (in my opinion, unfounded) complaints of racism made against Come Fly With Me, particularly over the racist-character Ian Foot and the portrayal of multi-cultural characters, but I argue that the show ISN'T racist towards others. Merely that it's taking the Mickey out of those who ARE actually racist. Instances of Ian Foot being made to look like an arrogant fool and getting his comeuppance are testament to that, and the portrayal of characters like Taaj, Omar and Precious is innocent, eccentric humour, really. It all reflects the multi-cultural society we live in today, so I don't see anything offensive, really. Just outstanding comedy with nowhere near the level of controversy that Little Britain had!

A good selection of Special Features rounds things up on the two-disc set. There's the "Come Fly on the Wall" documentary, featuring a sit-down interview with Matt Lucas and David Walliams, and hosted by Mark Lawson. There's a nice photo gallery, too. And a selection of BBC One idents from Christmas 2010 to promote Come Fly With Me, and featuring even more celebrities, such as Gary Lineker, Shane Richie, Tess Daly, Ronnie Corbett and (believe it or not!) one of the Daleks! These are all just as hilarious as the episodes themselves and are easily the best extras.

Anything else? Just beautiful, crisp picture-and-sound quality from 2entertain and the BBC, useful subtitles, audio navigation features, great menu designs and functions...it's a typical high-quality DVD that you can only expect from the BBC. And for a tenner, I'd label this a must-have. Come Fly With Me is not only a terrific series, but truly one of the best comedies in history! This not only surpasses Little Britain, it leaves it stranded on the ground! Matt and David are back and better than ever! Fingers crossed for a second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
good to be able to watch the series on dvd withov missing any as you do on tv good comedy all various parts played by the little britain duo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wish i could get, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
this show is probably one of the funniest and witty shows I have seen in a while. I was hoping to be able to buy for my daughter's enjoyment, however, it does not seem to be available on dvd in us....?? not sure why, but wanted to say how much i enjoyed watching and humor was very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedians Actually Doing Their Job, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
An unexpectedly hilarious pastiche/spoof of programmes like Airline. The least funny parts of the series were the sketches featuring 'celebrities'. These scenes gave off a horrible and unnecessary whiff of Extras! Walliams and Lucas are good enough to not need to stoop to the level of 'celebrity' endorsement!

If anyone saw the Making Of... then you'll know the amount of passion and serious dedication these two performers invest in their craft.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD]
Come Fly with Me - Series 1 [DVD] by Paul King (DVD - 2011)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews