Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun with Fabric, Paper and Paint
This is a lovely book - full of ideas for creating small works of art using lots of different techniques. Each technique is explained with detailed steps and lavishily illustrated with excellent photos. Here are some examples:
Painting and stamping on fabrics such as muslin, felt, silk, Lutradur, lace and more.
Creating base materials from paper and...
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by Mrs. Pearl Osmond

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabric Art Collage
Took some time to arrive. Purchased as present. Book seemed fairly well presented. Unfortunately recipient was not too impressed. OK for a thumb through
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by Habsish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun with Fabric, Paper and Paint, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Pearl Osmond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a lovely book - full of ideas for creating small works of art using lots of different techniques. Each technique is explained with detailed steps and lavishily illustrated with excellent photos. Here are some examples:
Painting and stamping on fabrics such as muslin, felt, silk, Lutradur, lace and more.
Creating base materials from paper and fabrics.
Creating texture with needle felting, threads and free motion machine embroidery.
Making buttons and beads from paper, felt and silk.
Embossing and etching velvet, Crystalina and Angelina fibres and film.
Using embossing enamels on fabrics.
Heat distressing Tyvek, Lutrador and dryer sheets.
Using fabric dyes, inks and spray paint.
These are just some of the techniques and then there are projects, a gallery and resources.
This book would appeal to papercrafters and quilt artists and anyone enjoying mixed media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Ideas for fabric collage, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Sue (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had glimpsed this book via a fellow crafting friend and coveted it! There are so many techniques in this book and so many finished projects to give you inspiration. Techniques include making paper/felt/silk beads, paper buttons, needle felting, non traditional patchwork fabric, stamping, painting, dyeing, distressing, stenciling, stitch doodling, etched velvet, creating texture and layering. You can use these techniques to make ATCs, patchwork, books, scrapbooks etc. The author gives an indepth guide to all the products she likes to use and at the back of the book is a list of suppliers with web addresses. This is not a book with set projects but rather it gives you the know-how and ideas to have a go yourself and create your own projects. This book would introduce the novice to this craft or provide the more experienced with ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabric Art Collage 40+ techniques, 26 Oct 2011
Being relatively new to "Fabric Art" I have found this book of great help. Rebekah Meier explains the techniques in a simple and easy language. Each technique is accompanied by clear and detailed photographs. The resource list is another welcome help as by visiting the various websites even the "unknown" used items become more familiar. I would recomment this book to beginners as well as accomplished fabric art enthousiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 Dec 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
What first strikes me about this book is the ideas for using small scraps and fabric left over from larger projects. I'm also struck by the artist's use of colour. I love working in layers because it makes your work look more complex than it is, and Rebekah is a mistress of this technique. The instructions for all the techniques are clear and easy to follow. Even if you know some of the techniques, I still think this book is worth having for Rebekah's wonderful work. She works with a wide variety of fabric and different ways of applying colour. I love the paper buttons in the embellishments section. There are lots of wonderful ideas to experiment with here including a superb section on embossing fabric. Enough to give you a taste of whether you want to go into something in more depth. The book finishes with lots of ideas for small projects including quilts. Brilliant. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated book, 13 Mar 2012
This book is informative and well written. The techniques are described clearly and there are a number of photographs describing the designs. I have been enjoying browsing through it.

It is the kind of book that you can refer to over and over again and still learn more from it.

There is a section on supplies and where to buy them, which is useful.

The author's projects are inspiring and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely, inspiring book. Have got out my sewing stuff after years of not doing any craft and made a reasonable fabric art picture!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of ideas, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Kathryn (Durham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabric Art Collage: 40+ Mixed Media Techniques (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to read on Kindle in tablet form. There are clear colourful pictures of all the techniques with step by step instructions for each one telling what you need, and what to do. If you want a 'how to' guide to make an item from start to finish this book is probably not for you, but as a source book for inspiration and ideas for combining an assortment of mixed media methods into a project of your own I think it is just the job. There are quite few references to materials and products which are targeted at the US market but here in the UK you can find alternatives quite easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Curley (Oxford England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks OK to me, with a wide range of collage techniques. It is a present for a friend who is keen on hand crafts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of great ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favorites!! So packed with ideas, a great buy,
I borrowed it from the library and brought my own copy I knew this was a book I defiantly wanted to buy,
I haven't tried any of the ideas yet because I haven't had it long but keep picking it up and looking at it so when I have some time I will,
so many ideas not sure which to do first lol.
:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews