Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ND filter
I have just received this variable ND filter and I am very pleased with it. The build quality is good and solid. At first the filter appeared far too large for my lens but then I realised they have constructed it in such a way as to avoid vignetting when used with wide angle lenses.

The product description on Amazon and on the box imply that the filter works in...
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Simon Radford

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed
Was really excited by the thought of been able to get those milky seas and ethereal skies with the Polaroid ND Fader
but the results have been very disappointing I have had purple colour casts and dark patches on shots i have taken with the filter fitted.
think i'm going to have to try the cokin filters or push the boat out on a set of Lee filters and put this...
Published on 27 Sep 2011 by A. Cole


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ND filter, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Simon Radford "SGR" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just received this variable ND filter and I am very pleased with it. The build quality is good and solid. At first the filter appeared far too large for my lens but then I realised they have constructed it in such a way as to avoid vignetting when used with wide angle lenses.

The product description on Amazon and on the box imply that the filter works in discrete steps. This is not the case and it is infinitely variable between 2 and 8.667 stops reduction (ND4 to ND400 or optical density 0.6 to 2.6). I got these figures from the images I produced while testing the filter. (I managed a further 1 stop reduction by attaching my polarising filter then the variable ND.)

I have uploaded some photos to the product page that illustrate the effect of the filter. You will notice that the MAX setting causes a dark cross to appear in the image.

The AF and metering do work right up to MAX with my camera (Canon 60D) when there was enough light. At other times the manual setting had to be used.

I have not seen any dark spots in intermediate positions of the filter as mentioned by the previous reviewer.

Even though the MAX position produces the cross, I think this is a really promising filter and I look forward to playing with it properly. (The markings on the filter are obviously only an indication - with mine the MIN point is not the place of least darkness, that is about two marks to the back. By the time I reach MIN the filter is going dark again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, 21 July 2011
I was a bit skeptical about buying this item, but thought that if it is made by Polaroid then it can't be that bad right?
On receipt, the filter came in the usual 'flip open' plastic case that most are supplied with. after holding it up to a bright window and rotating the ring, I was amazed-the window was almost completely blacked out. The movement of the ring is very smooth too. Overall I'd say this filter has a range of at least 5 stops (thats how far Ive used it so far) If you want to take those beautiful long exposure pictures of the sea or coast before the sun has completely set or get some great light trails of traffic moving through streets - then this will work just fine. Ive taken about 30 shots using it, and haven't found any problems with it so far. Image quality seems to be ok, with no strange effects appearing at either end of the scale.
Well worth buying if you want to experiment with long shutter speeds without spending lots of money on a set of different individual ND filters. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where's my tripod?, 21 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price of this filter it offers exactly what i wanted - the ability to get those longe exposure sea/clouds/trees shots that seem to be all the rage at the moment. TBH i was amazed at just how much light it is capable of blocking out when i first rotated the ring. Getting the exposure correct takes a little trial and error but this kind of image does anyway and is easily balanced out by the convenience of its size and adjustability - look at the cost of some of the "quality" brands single grade filters and tell me this isnt a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL kit of the DSLR Filmmaker., 8 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me make this clear.
If you use you DSLR for video, you NEED this kit. Your aperture and shutter speed need to be constant, so this is all you have to control exposure. It turns your DSLR into a filmmaking machine, simply by taking exposure responsibility away. Obviously it can't overexpose, it's not magic but the gradation is smooth so you can expose precisely.
One issue was the way it screwed into my lens meant I couldn't actually see the indicator dots because they were on the bottom as opposed to the top. This is isn't really an issue though, as I expose by eye, but if I need to remember an exposure then I'll have to find a way around it.
Polaroid have done really well releasing a variable ND filter for such a low price, but they've kept the build quality high.
Also, the packet you see in the image is a solid plastic case for you to keep it in.
Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 27 Sep 2011
By 
A. Cole "T. CEE" (WAKEFIELD, WEST YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Was really excited by the thought of been able to get those milky seas and ethereal skies with the Polaroid ND Fader
but the results have been very disappointing I have had purple colour casts and dark patches on shots i have taken with the filter fitted.
think i'm going to have to try the cokin filters or push the boat out on a set of Lee filters and put this disappointing purchase down to experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wee cracker!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
D TAIT (Soth Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A smashing little filter, no real colour cast so nice and easy to get the white balance right, especially shooting in RAW. There's a lovely little app on the Android market which will help you calculate exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You Get What You Pay For!, 21 Nov 2011
By 
A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the current price of 30 for the 72mm model this isn't a bad buy. However, the Polaroid is one of the poorest ND faders on the market. It's main weakness is a softening of the image at longer focal lengths - the more you zoom in, the softer and less detailed the image becomes. This is a consequence of low quality materials and viewing a brightly lit subject through the filter will reveal a jello effect as you move the fader around. The more expensive faders like the Tiffen do not have this.

All faders to date introduce a slight colour cast (even the very expensive ones such as the Heliopan and Singh-Ray) so I wont criticise the Polaroid on this point.

If you're on a tight budget the Polaroid is ok but if sharpness is critical you should avoid this filter (no matter how cheap it is) and consider the Tiffen or the new Genus Eclipse instead. They are sharp at all focal lengths and (unlike the Heliopan) you won't have to rob a bank to afford one.

For a video test of 6 ND Faders head over to Youtube and check out Dave Dugdale's fader nd shootout. On test are the Polaroid, the Lightcraft MkII (not the new 'infected' version), the Genus (not the new 'Eclipse' model), the Tiffen, the Singh-Ray, and the Heliopan. Dave does tests for sharpness, colour cast, bokeh texture, and vignetting!

Guess which fader comes bottom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect ND filter for Beginners, 22 July 2011
I bought this filter as I wanted to try out the world of ND (Neutral Density) Filters.

The advantage of this filter is that it gives you access to several ND filters in one. You rotate the front of the filter around to change how dense the filter is.

Your autofocus and exposure will not work with the filter set high so its best to set these, then turn them off before adjusting the filter.

It should also be mentioned that you cannot attach a lens cap to this filter. Also if the filter is not aligned perfectly with the guide marks, it will cause large black spots to appear.

This filter is good, its what you get for this money, but its alot cheaper than buying several ND filters which is what you will need for when trying out this type of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does not provide a consistent filter of light across the whole lens, resulting in areas of the photo being stained dark blue while others remain normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Polaroid 58mm Fader Variable ND Filter, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be careful buying this product, even though it's tempting as it's cheap but it's cost me more than it's worth as a load of my footage has got
a line running down the right hand side of the frame on the majority of the shots i've taken. Invest in a better product or just buy seperate
ND's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Polaroid 72mm Fader Variable ND Filter
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews