Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Reissue, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Justin (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
I know this is an album which polarises opinions in the Numan fanbase and it's understandable that some find it surprisingly commercial by his standards but I think that's a matter of personal taste. What I believe this album is, is a high watermark in late 80's pop. When playing the album it noticeably flys along seamlessly at a non-stop pace and I think Bill Sharpe deserves credit for his musical composition here. This is evidently synth-pop but Sharpe brings a different sensibility from his background that makes it stand out from other artists at the time. Where Numan keeps his personality is with the same lyrical themes as a few of his albums before this of dissolution, sleaze, fear, religion and troubled relationships. A worthy mention should also go to Tessa Niles for her excellent additional vocals particularly on the gorgeous "Breathe In Emotion". Although I'm not as much of a fan of the slightly more experimental "Nightlife" the quality of the album barely lets up!

This reissue by Cherry Pop is well put together with detailed sleeve notes featuring a new interview with Bill Sharpe contained in the 20-page booklet. This issue is advertised as remastered, which may be true. I'm not the best person to judge if the sound has been improved but it's certainly a lot louder than the original CD issue which was pretty quiet due to its age. The bonus tracks featured are all from the "No More Lies" and "I'm On Automatic" singles but with space to spare this is a missed opportunity to have included the 12" version of "Change Your Mind" though it is featured on the easily available 12"80s Electro:Pop compilation. For people who've been following the releases of Cherry Pop and haven't been aware of this album before, you won't be disappointed.

(I put forward the idea of this release to Cherry Pop a couple of years ago and most of that time was spent waiting for the licensing to be approved which shows how long these things take.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well worth the wait, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
This was always one of my favourite late 80s Numan albums, and since I only had the worn out cassette, I was cock a hoop to get stung for thirty quid on a CD version on a well known auction site. I wish I'd hung on now as the mix on this is far clearer and really brings the songs into their own. Bill Sharpe was a very underrated keyboard player, and his work mixes really well with Numan's voice on just about every track here. Stand out tunes are Change your Mind and the excellent Voices, it's a shame they didn't include New Thing from London Town which was another Sharpe and Numan Brahma ! Well worth an investment whether you are a Numan fan or just a fan of quality synth esoterica from the 80s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¨class, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
I spent a fortune (for me) on a rare original CD version of this album some time back. And with good reason ... 'Change Your Mind' is up there with the best things Gary Numan has done.

The rest of the album has some really good moments too. It is just a pity that there was never a follow up.

This is well worth investigating for anyone interested in Gary Numan, Bill Sharpe or Music of this period. Or, in fact, anyone looking for something different than is around right now.

Yet another good reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars retro heaven, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
Great to hear this album again, especially with the bonus tracks. Had it on cassette but much better quality on cd. Great sleeve notes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Album, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
If you like Gary Numan as he now is this will not float your boat, but if you remember the single form this album at the time of release but didn't buy the album at the time, then you should! Will some great vocal from GN and the playing and production of Mr Sharpe this concept album works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 80s Synth Pop still sounds fresh today., 27 May 2014
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
This is an excellent fusion of late 80s synth pop mixed with the cold harshness on Numan's lyrics. A real shame that the extended version of Change Your mind and the unreleased tracks recorded in 1990 were not included. This album is more accessible and musically better produced than his later industrial phase. It's dated slightly but then again compared to the pop of today it's still relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big numan fan, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
have been fan since tubeway days and still am with splinter this was a great collaboration withh bill sharpe glad found it on cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gary's best collaboration!, 29 April 2012
By 
David Tiberi "Anthony999" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
I'm so glad to have been able to get this cd. I have had a vinyl copy of "Change Your Mind", and I used to play it constantly!!!...now to be able to get all of the tracks that he did with Bill Sharpe is a definite plus!...

This is a must for any Gary Numan Fan!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album!!!, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Automatic (Audio CD)
i had never even heard of these 2 before i got this reissue but am glad i got it now! all the songs are brilliantly sung and written very well(my only disappointment is there is no inclusion of a 12 inch version of 'change your mind'- did one exist?) all in all though an excellent album that deserves a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Automatic
Automatic by Sharpe & Numan
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews