Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6th Boys On Film!
Still can't work out what I think of the Boys On Film series, but seeing as this is my 6th DVD I have bought I must like it. It''s always a little bit hit & miss, but all in all I really like the total mix we get from all over the world.

I have really loved Drowning & Franswa Sharl out of this collection & 100oc, wow, that was an amazing short film. My least...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Beaumont

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for those who like brighter shorts ...
This collection initially seemed less good than those that preceded it, but on coming back to it I find some of the films better than I remembered. Most obviously, the last one, a Hawaiian comedy showing three middle-aged women and their attempts to meet a visiting Korean pop star, is actually quite funny, although it may be more so once you accept its total silliness. It...
Published 13 months ago by schumann_bg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for those who like brighter shorts ..., 25 Mar. 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This collection initially seemed less good than those that preceded it, but on coming back to it I find some of the films better than I remembered. Most obviously, the last one, a Hawaiian comedy showing three middle-aged women and their attempts to meet a visiting Korean pop star, is actually quite funny, although it may be more so once you accept its total silliness. It goes by the name of Ajumma! Are You Krazy???, a name which already gives a pretty good indication. When they finally catch up with him after "madcap" adventures, it turns out he's not going to respond to any of their amorous promptings, if that's not giving too much away. However he does deal with them quite charmingly.
The funniest film, along with this one, is Franswa Sharl. Again it's a very silly title, referring to the name Francoise pronounced by a boy who doesn't speak French. He tries to pass himself off, at the age of twelve, as a French girl in a beauty competition for young girls, to the dismay of his father, who has absolutely no idea until he parades out in a bikini with a flower behind his ear. It's set in a holiday resort in Fiji.
Ron the Zookeeper is a bit tasteless, I thought, in its Wallace and Gromit-style take on the travails of a rare grey panda who is forced to participate in artificial fertilisation in a zoo.
LOVE, 100°C shows a naive young boy who is hearing-impaired and has an experience in a sauna, having been mistreated by a school crush and his brother. I thought the latter was really quite appealing physically, but overall it's a bit too winsome ... unlike Tanjong Rhu, a Singaporean indictment of the treatment of gay men by the police in that state. This one doesn't quite come to life, the drama being a bit flat, and the characters look a bit made-up. Drowning has some attractive young men, too, without the make-up, but its story feels tired and too crude, about a boy who gets jealous when his friend gets a girlfriend. It would have been better if the straight boy had been more ambiguous himself, but as it is it doesn't have as much impact as Dare from no. 3 in the series. The girl lives in a swanky ultra-modern house where much of the action takes place. It's an interior I don't like very much - much too designed - but it does have an interesting feature which is a swimming pool set against the vast ocean directly behind it.
My Last Ten Hours With You has some quite sexy moments where the characters wrestle in their underwear, but is otherwise rather tedious and unconvincing. The New Zealand film Teddy is rather better, in fact it really does have a certain pathos, is highly original, a bit sentimental, and features nice boys, a stylish blue Mini, and an old teddy bear that's lost its nose and travelled halfway round the globe - a winning combination ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6th Boys On Film!, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Still can't work out what I think of the Boys On Film series, but seeing as this is my 6th DVD I have bought I must like it. It''s always a little bit hit & miss, but all in all I really like the total mix we get from all over the world.

I have really loved Drowning & Franswa Sharl out of this collection & 100oc, wow, that was an amazing short film. My least favorite is Tanjong, nothing I hated about it, just wasn't my cup of tea to be honest.

Film 1 – Drowning (AUS), 20mins
Film 2 – Franswa Sharl (AUS), 14mins
Film 3 – Tanjong RHU (Singapore),19mins
Film 4 – Teddy (N.Zealand), 13mins
Film 5 – 100oc (S.Korea), 22mins
Film 6 – My Last 10 Hours With You (AUS), 15mins
Film 7 – Ron The ZooKeeper (AUS), 7mins
Film 8 – Ajumma! Are You Ready??? (Hawaii), 26mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., 24 Dec. 2012
By 
M. FISHER (DURAL, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A slightly disappointing compilation of short gay themed shorts compared to the previous editions. However the highlight which is worth the price of admission is the stunning Australian short 'Drowning' - touching and very well handled subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've never stumbled upon a jar of gemstones..., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
...now is your chance. This collection of short films is long on watchability -- almost hypnotic, in fact.

There is just some truly fine work in this collection -- worth planning an evening around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars soft porn, 27 Oct. 2012
By 
WJAJH "wjajh" (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not what I expected. I prefer independent movies which have a story line but this was purely soft porn and very boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 6 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
amusing , sexy , sad , funny .... a little film for whatever mood . Maybe not as out and out as some of the others in the series but I love these shorts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promiscuous assortment of films - not all gay themed, 29 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Boys on Film 6 - Pacific Rim continues the high standard of presentation set by previous releases.
It comes in a slipcase, has photos and short bios of its 10 directors and photos and precis of each film.
There is also a Special Feature on the making of the Australian short, 'Drowning.'

There is a lot of fluff in this collection - Franshwa Sharl is probably made for a young teenage audience; Ron the Zookeeper falls wide of the mark and Ajummai Are You Crazy is somewhat infantile - but fun!?

There is one film here which alone will justify your purchase of this set - and that is Love 100 degrees C.
This is a galvanising and confronting film about two brothers coming to terms with their world. I enjoyed this film very much.

So what a pity that peccapics omitted giving us a bio for the Korean director, Kim-Jho Guang-soo (born 1965, also known as Peter Kim,) instead repeating the bio for Australian director Craig Boreham. Six strokes of the cane for negligence!

Here is a short bio for Kim-Jho Gwang-soo (thanks to Wikepedia):

Kim is one of South Korea's few openly gay film directors and collaborated with director Leesong Hee-il to produce the 2006 film 'No Regret', considered to be "the first real Korean gay feature." In 2008, he directed and screenwrote his first short film, 'Boy Meets Boy' as well as a sequel titled 'Just Friends?' in 2009.

As I said, this film totally eclipses all others offered here, and I hope you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blue lagoon, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
All of these film shorts I can see a longer sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to the collection, 30 May 2011
By 
J. A. C. Smaal "JaninAMS" (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Just like the other volumes in this series, there is a good selection between titles and choices made. I cannot wait for the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
just ok some good story lines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011]
Boys on film 6 Pacific Rim [DVD] [2011] by Brent Anbe (DVD - 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews