Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2011
Once again Murray Gold has proved that he is the perfect man to produce the backing music for Doctor Who. His reccent soundtracks have all been excellent my personal favourite being the specials edition for the final four episodes of David Tennants reign as the tenth Doctor. This album however has some excellent backing music of its own which takes you back through the journey of the chirstmas episode scene by scene with some wonderful music. My person favourites on this album are 'Come along pond' because it is dramatic and was the track used for the openings equence of the episode. Also the track that is my most favourite has to be 'Abigail's song' written by Murray Gold and performed by Catherine Jenkins i just think its a really nice, mood setting track which is by far the best on the album. I hope the music for series 6 is even better and i would receommned the Doctor Who music to anyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Murray Gold has done another fantastic job on this soundtrack. Unlike Doctor Who: Series 5 which had the new Doctor's theme in abundance, this release has fewer references to it, and when it does pop up, the orchestrations are slightly different which keeps the theme feeling fresh. The score has some great orchestral and choral writing, with just the right Christmas feel as to feel wintry but not clichéd.

Of course, the highlight has to be Abigail's Song (Silence is All You Know), with the angelic Katherine Jenkins making it sound effortless. The album is worth the price for this one track alone. The weaving of Abigail's theme in some of the tracks is rather brilliant ("I Can't Save Her" and "Shark Ride" and "New Memories" are sublime example of this).

I would say this album really shows the strength of Murray Gold's writing. Because he wasn't so heavily reliant on the Doctor's theme, this seems to have allowed him to be more creative in the orchestrations and melodies throughout the entire album, especially with Abigail's Theme. The National Orchestra of Wales have once again done a fantastic job and the recording mix is brilliant. Running in at 49 minutes, it probably has most of (if not all) of the music present in the episode and feels like it is a perfect length. If you liked Gold's previous scores, it is highly likely you will enjoy this!
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
Having enjoyed this episode at christmas i found this cd to be very beautiful from the lush orchestrations and beautiful choral music,this is a wonderful album,ABIGAILS SONG and COME ALONG POND are two stick out tracks,i heartily recomend this cd as i am a huge fan of MURRAY GOLD music and DOCTOR WHO.
Lovely and much valued just like previous releases.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is another great Murray Gold Doctor Who soundtrack. Murray Gold has triumphed again. A highlight of this CD is "Abigail's Song" sung by Katherine Jenkins. For those in the USA, please note that the CD version offered by Amazon.co.uk is a "factory produced" CD (the real deal), whereas the version sold by Amazon.com in the US is a CD-R - produced to order. I find the real CD preferable. I highly recommend this soundtrack, along with all the other Murray Gold Doctor Who soundtracks that I have in my collection. So far, I have purchased up through series-5, The Specials, and this one. The subsequent CD's are on my wish list.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I have been eyeing this for a while and i am glad now that i have it its really good and i say to all dr who fans get it if you havent got its a must
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 March 2011
Murray Gold's music to the 2010 Christmas Special is, like the Special itself, good fun and nothing more. The music is typically lush, laced with choirs, a wallop of timpani and lots of glittery tinkly bells and the like - the usual Murray Gold, to be honest - and has the bonus of 'Abigail's Song' to round it all off. All very nice.

Why 3 stars? Well, to be honest - as much as I like Gold's music and style - I do wonder if this was a necessary release. Nearly all of the tracks are very short, a few tracks stand out and his Doctor Who music is - let's be honest - slightly repetitive, no matter how energetic or fun. This might have benefited from being reworked as a longer, more coherent suite than the brief snippets on offer.

Still, it's fun, it's sweet - just don't expect anything amazing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
The music is great but generally it feels... a little unnecessary. All of the other Christmas specials have been included in part of the other albums. It seems bizarre that one single episode gets a whole album, almost the same length as the one that the first two series got squashed on to.

To be honest, there's not much that I don't feel like I've heard before. And sure, it is wonderfully composed and performed, but there aren't any tracks on this that really make me go "oh yes, this one!".

Except Abigail's Song. And that's a BIG except. If there's one song that's really worth it on this album, it's that. A truly haunting, emotional piece which leaves you stunned. The combined talents of Murray Gold and Katherine Jenkins really shine out from the end of this. If it weren't for that one song, I don't think I'd be able to give this anymore than three stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Murray Gold has once again proven his skills at orchestrating new pieces instead of reusing his older pieces. This Xmas Special truly is special because there's an additional song, sung by Katherine Jenkins. 5/5 & well worth having in collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Why in the heck would there be "Geographical Restrictions"? I mean is the music or media itself dangerous like a new laptop from Dell? I promise it will only go in my ears! I wont sent it to China to be used as a supercomputing device!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Not that I'm surprised, but it's yet another brilliant soundtrack from Murray Gold. It's exciting, it's moving and even better because it's virtually all the music from the entire special! "Abigail's Song" is breathtaking and will be a permanent part of my Christmas playlists in the future. The only thing that made me sad is that this album does not include Abigail singing "In the Bleak Midwinter" to the shark which was one of my favorite parts in the episode. Overall though, it's wonderful. I wish there was a full album for every episode because I think the music from Doctor Who is some of the best ever written.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)