Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly
Having enjoyed this episode at christmas i found this cd to be very beautiful from the lush orchestrations and beautiful choral music,this is a wonderful album,ABIGAILS SONG and COME ALONG POND are two stick out tracks,i heartily recomend this cd as i am a huge fan of MURRAY GOLD music and DOCTOR WHO.
Lovely and much valued just like previous releases.
Published on 2 May 2011 by MR

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
Murray Gold's music to the 2010 Christmas Special is, like the Special itself, good fun and nothing more. The music is typically lush, laced with choirs, a wallop of timpani and lots of glittery tinkly bells and the like - the usual Murray Gold, to be honest - and has the bonus of 'Abigail's Song' to round it all off. All very nice.

Why 3 stars? Well, to be...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Ian Armer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly, 2 May 2011
By 
MR "the master" (HARROGATE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Having enjoyed this episode at christmas i found this cd to be very beautiful from the lush orchestrations and beautiful choral music,this is a wonderful album,ABIGAILS SONG and COME ALONG POND are two stick out tracks,i heartily recomend this cd as i am a huge fan of MURRAY GOLD music and DOCTOR WHO.
Lovely and much valued just like previous releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A christmas carol, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Once again Murray Gold has proved that he is the perfect man to produce the backing music for Doctor Who. His reccent soundtracks have all been excellent my personal favourite being the specials edition for the final four episodes of David Tennants reign as the tenth Doctor. This album however has some excellent backing music of its own which takes you back through the journey of the chirstmas episode scene by scene with some wonderful music. My person favourites on this album are 'Come along pond' because it is dramatic and was the track used for the openings equence of the episode. Also the track that is my most favourite has to be 'Abigail's song' written by Murray Gold and performed by Catherine Jenkins i just think its a really nice, mood setting track which is by far the best on the album. I hope the music for series 6 is even better and i would receommned the Doctor Who music to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr who christmas cd, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
I have been eyeing this for a while and i am glad now that i have it its really good and i say to all dr who fans get it if you havent got its a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas Doctor Who scores, and Abigail's Song / Theme is stunning, 24 Mar 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Murray Gold has done another fantastic job on this soundtrack. Unlike Doctor Who: Series 5 which had the new Doctor's theme in abundance, this release has fewer references to it, and when it does pop up, the orchestrations are slightly different which keeps the theme feeling fresh. The score has some great orchestral and choral writing, with just the right Christmas feel as to feel wintry but not clichéd.

Of course, the highlight has to be Abigail's Song (Silence is All You Know), with the angelic Katherine Jenkins making it sound effortless. The album is worth the price for this one track alone. The weaving of Abigail's theme in some of the tracks is rather brilliant ("I Can't Save Her" and "Shark Ride" and "New Memories" are sublime example of this).

I would say this album really shows the strength of Murray Gold's writing. Because he wasn't so heavily reliant on the Doctor's theme, this seems to have allowed him to be more creative in the orchestrations and melodies throughout the entire album, especially with Abigail's Theme. The National Orchestra of Wales have once again done a fantastic job and the recording mix is brilliant. Running in at 49 minutes, it probably has most of (if not all) of the music present in the episode and feels like it is a perfect length. If you liked Gold's previous scores, it is highly likely you will enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Murray Gold's music to the 2010 Christmas Special is, like the Special itself, good fun and nothing more. The music is typically lush, laced with choirs, a wallop of timpani and lots of glittery tinkly bells and the like - the usual Murray Gold, to be honest - and has the bonus of 'Abigail's Song' to round it all off. All very nice.

Why 3 stars? Well, to be honest - as much as I like Gold's music and style - I do wonder if this was a necessary release. Nearly all of the tracks are very short, a few tracks stand out and his Doctor Who music is - let's be honest - slightly repetitive, no matter how energetic or fun. This might have benefited from being reworked as a longer, more coherent suite than the brief snippets on offer.

Still, it's fun, it's sweet - just don't expect anything amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol Sountrack CD, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Steven Spake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
This is another great Murray Gold Doctor Who soundtrack. Murray Gold has triumphed again. A highlight of this CD is "Abigail's Song" sung by Katherine Jenkins. For those in the USA, please note that the CD version offered by Amazon.co.uk is a "factory produced" CD (the real deal), whereas the version sold by Amazon.com in the US is a CD-R - produced to order. I find the real CD preferable. I highly recommend this soundtrack, along with all the other Murray Gold Doctor Who soundtracks that I have in my collection. So far, I have purchased up through series-5, The Specials, and this one. The subsequent CD's are on my wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
A great episode, brilliant doctor and wonderful music. This is a must for any fan of the show. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music is great but generally it feels... a little unnecessary. All of the other Christmas specials have been included in part of the other albums. It seems bizarre that one single episode gets a whole album, almost the same length as the one that the first two series got squashed on to.

To be honest, there's not much that I don't feel like I've heard before. And sure, it is wonderfully composed and performed, but there aren't any tracks on this that really make me go "oh yes, this one!".

Except Abigail's Song. And that's a BIG except. If there's one song that's really worth it on this album, it's that. A truly haunting, emotional piece which leaves you stunned. The combined talents of Murray Gold and Katherine Jenkins really shine out from the end of this. If it weren't for that one song, I don't think I'd be able to give this anymore than three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murray Gold really is gold., 26 Jan 2012
Murray Gold has once again proven his skills at orchestrating new pieces instead of reusing his older pieces. This Xmas Special truly is special because there's an additional song, sung by Katherine Jenkins. 5/5 & well worth having in collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHY NO US SALES?, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Why in the heck would there be "Geographical Restrictions"? I mean is the music or media itself dangerous like a new laptop from Dell? I promise it will only go in my ears! I wont sent it to China to be used as a supercomputing device!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol
Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol by Murray Gold (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews