Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form!
As a huge fan of Primeval from the beginning, I was gutted when the series was cancelled after series 3 and elated when it came back for a series 4. This series sees the return to the present day of Abby and Connor, now a couple, who get straight back to work investigating anomalies and hunting creatures. Some of the characters from series 3 are noticeably absent from the...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Andromeda Descendent

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Monster Show?
They have developed the background storyline, but occasionally forgotten this is a monster show. You may miss some of the original characters too, but it's still fun, even if some of the acting is a bit 'poe-faced'.
Published 17 months ago by Scotty


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form!, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of Primeval from the beginning, I was gutted when the series was cancelled after series 3 and elated when it came back for a series 4. This series sees the return to the present day of Abby and Connor, now a couple, who get straight back to work investigating anomalies and hunting creatures. Some of the characters from series 3 are noticeably absent from the early episodes of series 4, but there are two surprise returns (although possibly one-offs) for prominent characters later in the series.

I know that the old characters have lots of fans, but the new characters are all welcome and interesting and settle in immediately. James Lester is still the boss, but he has been joined in the command role by private sector businessman Philip Burton (Alexander Siddig), who is more interested in the anomalies than the creatures that come through them. Captain Becker makes a welcome return, promoted to a lead character, and is given a love interest in Jess Parker (Ruth Kearney), who is responsible for tracking the anomalies in the control room. The role of male lead, following the mixed fan reception to Danny Quinn in series 3, was always going to be the most scrutinised and I don't think fans will have much to complain about in new character Matt Anderson (played by a brooding and serious Ciarán McMenamin), who seems to be one of the good guys, but is revealed to have infiltrated the ARC with a secret agenda, for which he has been training his whole life.

But this series is also noteworthy for its B-story involving time travellers Emily Merchant and Ethan Dubrowski (Ruth Bradley and Johnathon Byrne). This could so easily have been a mistake, but great writing, great chemistry between Ciarán McMenamin and Ruth Bradley, and a menacing performance from Johnathon Byrne make this a compelling sub-plot. I loved the revelation in episode 7, as it was one of those great "why didn't I realise that?" moments.

There are 7 episodes in this series, but on reaching the last of them it doesn't really feel like an end of series - more of a mid-way point between two parts of a longer series - and that seems to be confirmed by the announcement that a fifth series will be shown on TV later in the year.

To me, this was the best series since the initial 6 episode run, and I'm so glad that the fans made their love of this series known as loudly as they did, back when the cancellation news was announced. A big pat on the back everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We loved this series!, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
We watch this show as a family and have enjoyed all the previous series. Our son (then 8/9rs) was very sad when the show was cancelled a couple of years ago, so he was thrilled to learn of it's return. We have all thoughly enjoyed this series with it's new twists and turns and will definately be buying it on dvd when it comes out.

Can't wait for the 2nd part of this series to be show on tv later in the year.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As a newcomer to the world of Primeval, the first episode of the first series didn't grip me but i thought i'd take a chance on series 4 as i'd heard mostly good things about the previous series, this has come as a very pleasant surprise. Itv's answer to Doctor Who, and while not as good as that series it is a very enjoyable british sci fi series with a good cast and good effects. A lot of fun to watch and i'm already looking forward to the next series. A Primeval convert, this is the best thing itv has done in years. They were mad to even think of dropping it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The Return", 23 July 2014
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a welcome return for a show that appeared to have had an untimely finish at the end of series 3. Abby, Connor and Danny were stuck on the wrong end of anomalies then but now a chance discovery spells a way back for Connor & Abby after a year in the cretaceous era. They find big changes at the ARC.

Now the subject of a private/public sector partnership Lester seems in charge in name only due to the persence of millionaire scientist Philip Burton. Ben Miller makes the powerless Lester work as he undermines Philip contradicting his wishes or pressuring him to back down. A nice touch is that while he never shows it to their faces he does worry over the fate of those trapped in the anomalies. It's tempting to see the new people coming in as art reflecting life as new investors came in for this run.

New faces include Jess-a sensible idea to have someone co-ordinating those out in the field and the perky character is well cast in Ruth Kearney, and the mysterious Matt. Matt is an intriguing character. Sometimes a little overdone e.g. him meeting Anton Lesser's strange character who is congenitally incapable of speaking without being cryptic in most episodes but generally he works as an enigma and a good addition to the team, perfectly cast in Ciaran McMenanim.
Ben Mansfield shows he could have done more in series 3 by working with a more developed character here. He carries guilt over missing or dead team members, is out of his depth with Ruth's obvious attraction to him and enjoys a testosterone fuelled rivalry with Matt.

Hannah Spearritt and Andrew Lee-Potter are as good as ever but let down a little with some of the writing. Philip is someone Connor has heard of and admires but the idea he would let Philip come between him and Abby who have been through hell in the cretaceous together, sells the character short. There's even an episode where Philip wants to put down the anomaly creatures including Rex and Connor just stands there!
Obstacles preventing the pair who clearly should be together from making a go of it have already been done in series 2 & 3 and it's getting old now. They still shine e.g. Connor trying to break the computer security system in a lock down and Abby's work in the frontline.
The main problem in the series is the character of Philip Burton. He walks in as though wearing a T-Shirt emblazoned with "Hello, I must be Villainous!" Now don't get me wrong no one was left in any doubt that Helen Cutter was the villain but her character was more complex. Occasionally she was altrusitic, notably saving Claudia Brown's life in series 1. The audience might well have bought her siding with the team if the stakes were high enough.
While we do nowt foind out exactly what he's up to until series 5, Philip has no levels to him. He is never nice or likeable. Alexander Siddig is a subtle actor as you will know is you watched Deep Space 9 but he is let down by the writing.

On the positive note all the creatures are well realised with only the wolves a little below par.Also there are some godo stories and story arcs (no pun intended). It's a bold move to open with a sombre episode focusing on Abby and Conor's return with brief but memoerable moments of creature action.
A standout episode considers what would happen if an anomaly had been open for years with a creature growing and what effects anomalies have on witnesses who are outside the team -cue a memorable guest shot for Connor's mate Duncan who is now a broken conspiracy nut.

There's a creature taken for a mythical worm, a Victorian lady who comes into our time with an anomaly hopping serial killer plus memorable guest appearances for Lucy Brown's Jenny Lewis (she has an anomaly plagued wedding) and Jason Flemyng's Danny Quinn fetching up in an anomaly filled prison.

Extras include "New Dawn making the New Primeval Part 1 which is a short promo-cum documentary. Enjoyable but nothing special. Sadly the mini episodes put on the web to show what went on in the year of narrative time between 3 & 4 are not included

Some good fun and enjoyable stories, a bit below what we've had before, but you won't want to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased as a present for my son who is a huge fan of Primeval. He loved the DVDs so a happy child means quiet life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great improvement on Primeval, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This fourth series of Primeval is a massive improvement of series one-three. Everything has changed. The scripts are more intelligent with many undercurrent story threads. The series has some continues story lines throughout that make the series more of an event.
The acting is very good too. The production and pace of the show has improved and the special effects are as good as ever.
The Arc is more believable and the whole show is much more enjoyable.
Series one-three relied entirely on the special effects, (which were excellent) but failed in terms of poor script and acting. This series takes a fresh look at the whole world of Primeval and it pays off.
I have seen all of the first four series twice now and this is easily the best one.
The best way to see this series is on DVD. The impact is lost through its TV, once a week showing. It is better to watch the episodes close together.
This is a good fun series and the DVD presentation is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Primeval DVD, 15 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Janet M. Parden (Norfolk ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait for season 5-6-7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its an easy watch which is vert moreish, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this show, i used to watch as a kid/teenager and finding it again reminded me how much I love it. Its got quite simple content but most episode are exciting and make me want to watch the next one. The only thing is is the plot is similar in almost every episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Liked it when it was on tv and Im enjoying the DVD, well worth buying to enjoy it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dinos, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love dinosaurs my evenings all sorted don't know what hubby going to do im occupied oh well chips tonight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Primeval Series 4 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Primeval Series 4 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Hannah Spearritt (Blu-ray - 2011)
10.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews