Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!
I would give this film 6* if I could : )) .This is the South meets the North , and old stereotypes and differences between those two parts of Italy seen through the eyes of both; northerners and southerners.
When main character Alberto learns that he is going to be transfered at work from the North, near Milan to the South, a small village near Naples he initially...
Published on 4 Jun. 2011 by M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the south, not
It was okay. The scenery was good but the story as weak as dishwater. Mildly amusing in places. I found the sound quality rather variable.
Published 8 months ago by Coffee lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 4 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
I would give this film 6* if I could : )) .This is the South meets the North , and old stereotypes and differences between those two parts of Italy seen through the eyes of both; northerners and southerners.
When main character Alberto learns that he is going to be transfered at work from the North, near Milan to the South, a small village near Naples he initially gets scared, and his family, and friends all add to his fears telling how bad and dangerous life and people are in the South.On top of that people in the South speak a dialect completely incomprehensible to poor Alberto, who speaks proper Italian.As he settles here and gets to know locals and his staff at work he learns that life here is positively different, slower ,more relaxed and people friendly and open, and that not everyone is a cammorrista. The fim is a comedy with a lot of funny situations ( which some might seem to be a little exaggerated but are really good fun),bilingual dialogues( bizzare!)and wonderful neapolitan music , with breathtaking sea views!! I simply love this film and yes , I would recommend it : ))))). English and Italian subtitles provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benvenutti al Sud (Welcome to the South), 28 Feb. 2012
By 
Visa "Leda Casares" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
I bought Benvenutti al Sud after seeing it at a small Italian Film Festival at the Phoenix cinema East Finchley. It is one of the wittiest and entertaining films, and I loved it because it is about life, no shooting or killing. The main character is a man who works at the Post Office in Milan, and as his contract is coming to an end, he desperately tries to extend it and stay in Milan. Well he doesn't and he is sent to a small town south of Naples.
What the film is trying to show us is the difference between the north and the south, to start with the language, then their way of life and the attitude of the southern Italians towards life. The script is great and the actors are superb. One comes out of the cinema with a new energy to face life. I think that if anybody who is depressed should watch this movie instead of taking anti-depressants. It is beautifully hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD does have English subs, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
Hesitated about ordering this DVD because no mention of English subs on either the box or publicity. Thanks to the previous reviewer, who said it had English subs, have now bought it - and indeed it has.So would be purchasers of this DVD version of the film can do as I did. Thanks again to previous reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars benvenuti Al Sud, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
A very good comedy, but it is an adventage to be a bit familiar with italian culture. Some knowledge of the italian language will also help understanding the humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benvenuti al Sud, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
Benvenuti al Sud is not very politically correct but very, very funny. The soundtrack is in Italian, but the subtitles are fine, and the film is very visual. I'd thoroughly recommend it - especially with a group of friends, some pizza and a glass of Italian red wine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny modern Italian comedy, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
A northern Italian postal official is transferred to the South and finds himself an alien in his own country. The differences between north and south provide much of the comedy. Will definitely buy the other film from this team "Benvenuti Al Nord".

My only criticism is that the info states the subtitles are Italian and I nearly didn't buy it. When you get the DVD, you can choose the language for the subtitles and English is an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife and I loved the film, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
Having read the other reviews I bought this film thinking the reviews were over the top or at least exaggerated. My husband and I loved the film. Delightfully simple plot wonderfully acted by the cast it portrays a postmaster transferred to a small town near Naples. The understanding of all is that the South have dirty filthy people who don't wash clean with no sense at all. Thick farmers at best. When he gets there he is told that northerners cry when they get there and again when they leave. This is the case here. In desperation at the thought of it on arrival. After a fantastic two years there enjoying every second (and the antics he gets up to telling his wife its hell when he gets a couple of days off to visit his wife back home up north) then his wife comes South to be at his side while he goes through this hell. When two years is up, as they said at the start, tears flow as he prepares to go back north. I have bought the follow up Al Nord hoping it will be as good. An uplifting feel good film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny indeed!, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
John Carone (Melbourne, Victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
The 1st film in this series of films outlines the plot for this and future films. With 2 bumbling idiots and plenty of 1 liners, it will definitely have you in stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian best!, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
What a blast! Had a great time and learned loads about Italian language, food and culture, all in a fantastic and charming story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the south, not, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benvenuti Al Sud (DVD)
It was okay. The scenery was good but the story as weak as dishwater. Mildly amusing in places. I found the sound quality rather variable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Benvenuti Al Sud
Benvenuti Al Sud by Luca Miniero (Blu-ray)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews