Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven Out Of Ten!
Is this rock infused flamenco or flamenco infused rock? Who cares - this truly is tip-top music, played with the skill and verve of two people who understand just how capable the humble acoustic guitar can be.
Having collected the albums of Rodrigo Y Gabriela since they first burst onto the music scene, this album is by far and away the most controlled and...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by J. M. Green

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK nothing to write home about.
It's OK but not as good as their earlier stuff
Published 1 month ago by Kevin Gevers


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven Out Of Ten!, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11:11 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Is this rock infused flamenco or flamenco infused rock? Who cares - this truly is tip-top music, played with the skill and verve of two people who understand just how capable the humble acoustic guitar can be.
Having collected the albums of Rodrigo Y Gabriela since they first burst onto the music scene, this album is by far and away the most controlled and accomplished, relying on the unbelievable rythmns set up by Gabriela to create the backdrop for Rodrigo to play the melodies over - some at truly breathtaking speeds and others in a more relaxed, almost bluesy setting.
With already over two weeks stuck in my CD player, I am still finding rythmn counterpoints that make your hair stand on end and, while it would be very easy to think that many things can be done to enhance the technical abilities of the players in the studios, just flip over to the DVD and watch these two produce live exactly what they do in the studio - magical, nothing less!
Personal favourites? Yep, every one of the 11 magnificent tracks, which can either be listened to in isolation or as a whole album - truly, what great music is all about....fully deserving the 5 star tag.
BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. Shepherd (Wolverhampton,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
i bought this after seeing the advert for it and thought i would give them a go, i had heard of them, but only heard small pieces off youtube.
needless to say i was not disappointed, the overall sound from just two guitars is rich and complex, something i wouldn't have thought possibly previously and the technicality of their playing is simply outstanding, as a 1st time listener to them i will definitely keep an eye out for any else they will do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 19 Nov 2009
This review is from: 11:11 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Stunning album that is developing Rodrigo and Gabriela into pure artists of fusion of flamenco guitar and rock songs. This is something that has to be part of the collection, not as MP3 library but as whole album. You get DVD where they have lessons of their guitar playing, live gigs and their studios, cd with new songs that have energy of Diablo royo and artistry of Paco de Lucia playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11:11 ~ Rodrigo y Gabriela, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Dig) (Audio CD)
For anyone who likes lively guitar playing which displays rhythm, and beat with a Spanish / Mexican influence will, I think, enjoy this. As far as I am concerned, the dynamics of their playing is well reproduced on this CD.

By the way the BBC screening of Rodrigo and Gabriela on New Years Eve did not do them justice - the quality of the BBC microphone arrangements for the acoustic of the studio / theatre was in my opinion diabolical, it seems to me a lazy so n so was in charge of those arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would really recommend, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Audio CD)
first saw these guys on Jools Holland, very much recommended for a modern turn on Spanish/Hispanic guitar musci. Well worth a listen - especially at just over a fiver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome guitar music by amazing guitarists, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Audio CD)
A great album of guitar duets from the legends that are Rodrigo and Gabriela. I had previously listened to their previous self titled album which was fantastic driving music, if you're not aware of who they are chances are you've heard their music in films or tv ranging from breaking bad to match of the day.

The duets sound fiendishly difficult but with so efficiently together and each track flows into the next. We've chosen to use this album as background music at our wedding as it's easy listening but not intrusive.

A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering..., 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Audio CD)
Music inspired by many different bands; from Pink Floyd to Paco de Lucia; Jimi Hendrix to Al di Meola. A sumptuous banquet of music. If music be the food of love - let's eat. Rodrigo y Gabriela are fantastically gifted musicians, able to turn their considerable flamenco skills to many different genres - to great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Audio CD)
Heard them on radio four with Clive Anderson and was so impressed I bought two albums by them. Excellent music to listen to whilst travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Howe "She" (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you love guitar music you will love this. He is excellent and we play this at home all the time. Ola!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11:11 (Audio CD)
Amazing stuff!!
Love this so much and so does my 4yr old. We love it in the car and for when we're in an energetic mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11:11
11:11 by Rodrigo y Gabriela (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews