Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle subscription to HBR just not suitable for my needs
I have had to cancel my kindle subscription to HBR after 6 months. I will now be subscribing direct through the HBR website for £9.08 a month instead of £3.99. That said I would not have subscribed to HBR direct at that price if I hadn't dipped a toe in the water with the Kindle version first as with an HBR direct subscription you can only pay per year, whereas with...
Published 12 months ago by Radar4077

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, Bad Layout
Actually the content is excellent, the price of the Kindle Version very competitive. However, the layout of Kindle Version is terrible, same as for other magazines or newspapers. Actually, there is no real layout, articles are just listed one after another and the navigation is quite confusing.

However, as the journal itself is great and as I read one article...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by chris_


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, Bad Layout, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
Actually the content is excellent, the price of the Kindle Version very competitive. However, the layout of Kindle Version is terrible, same as for other magazines or newspapers. Actually, there is no real layout, articles are just listed one after another and the navigation is quite confusing.

However, as the journal itself is great and as I read one article after another I cannot complain, especially for the price, but nevertheless, I would love to see someone giving the magazine a better layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle subscription to HBR just not suitable for my needs, 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
I have had to cancel my kindle subscription to HBR after 6 months. I will now be subscribing direct through the HBR website for £9.08 a month instead of £3.99. That said I would not have subscribed to HBR direct at that price if I hadn't dipped a toe in the water with the Kindle version first as with an HBR direct subscription you can only pay per year, whereas with Kindle you get a trial period and can cancel at any time having made only monthly payments. I have had to take this decision for two reasons. The first and most annoying is that a Kindle subscription does not make me an HBR subscriber so I do not get access to all the online HBR content. The second is (and I find this with Kindle in general)the Kindle edition of anything is great if all you want is a linear read. However there are articles in HBR that I want to reference, re-read, save for later and I struggle to do this with the Kindle Keyboard, the IPad Kindle app and the Android Kindle app. As far as content goes I think HBR is great, just not compatible with the Kindle format for and my reading needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value - Readable on Kindle, Great in Tablets, 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
Harvard Business Review is one of the best magazines out there for staying in touch with the latest business thinking. The price is very competitive, you get a great worth of knowledge for the equivalent of a pint in a pub.

Regarding layout, it is acceptable in the kindle but great on the kindle apps in tablets, which is just like having the magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
I am trying the 14 day-trail, obviously, before I make a decision to buy the subscription. So far so good. The only thing I can say on the negative side is that the article listing is a little confusing. A few articles listed are based around the same theme, say China R&D investment. So it is difficult to distinguish between the main article and the sidebar because they are all listed in the same article listing view. Overall the content is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for Business Leaders, 28 Dec 2010
By 
M. J. JONES (Frankfurt, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
I think this is great value. The Kindle version reads better than Bloomberg Business Week (to name one similar title which has just come to the UK Kindle store) and the price is excellent - the print version is a lot more expensive than this and you can cancel whenever you want to (whereas the print version still costs more than double this price on an annual subscription basis). The content is great and anyone with an interest in management, business process and corporate excellence etc. would do well to read HBR at least once in a while... And at this great price you can just dip in and out whenever you have the chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
A great tool for leadership, I highly recommend every leader to subscribe HBR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content - Make it available on the Kindle Fire HD!!!!, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
HBR is a great business magazine, covers a wide range of topics and is written in an easy to digest manner.

I originally subscribed on my old 2nd Generation Kindle, and like some of other reviews, did find the navigation a little bit awkward but quite manageable. I later purchased the Kindle Fire HD, thinking I'd be able to move my subscription over and get a tablet version...
Makes sense no? Kindle family product being able to read other purchased/subscribed kindle content. Alas, this is not the case, HBR is NOT available on the Kindle Fire HD. Please get this sorted!!!!!!!!!!

If the product was available on the Kindle Fire/HD it would get 5 stars.

Otherwise though, it is a good magazine at an amazing price and if you're involved in professional services and struggle to find a spare 30 minutes, this is time well spent keeping up-to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great magazine, good navigation, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
Great magazine, although given the way it focuses issues on different topics some months are more interesting than other. Saying that there is always something you want to read. Reading HBR reminds me of when I did my MBA where it was required reading, it was nice to rediscover it when I got my kindle.

As for navigating there is a very handy 'view Sections & Articles' option at the bottom of each page, which opens up a table of contents so it is easy to jump between articles and select what you want to read.

It isn't as good as reading the print version for the short articles where you want to read what attracts your attention, but difficult to see what you could to make this better on a kindle. Given the main value of HBR is the longer articles I prefer reading HBR on the kindle.

As for costs it is £7.75 per month (£93 per year) for the print version, so it is cheaper on the kindle. What you don't get it access to the online archive, which you can get with the print version for another £11 per year. But you do get to keep the previous editions of the magazine from when you started subscribing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent articles at an excellent price, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
Setting up and launching a business and being interested in reading business and management materials I have been able to find a lot of excellent resources, mainly purchased through amazon. Finding information though that is current, is balanced and is well written is much harder. Many business books are either dry and out of date or very much coming from one perspective.

I have only read one issue yet but already I have read most of the contents within 36 hours and am very impressed. It focuses on relevant up to date issues and the coverage is first rate.

My only critisism is that the contents table is not the best to use. Articles appear or seem to appear under multiple sections and this gets a little confusing. But in terms of quality and value for money this is first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Business Professional Must., 2 July 2011
This review is from: Harvard Business Review (Kindle Edition)
Content: Enlightening for all in Business.

Having had access to HBR journals throughout university, I have always found the content to focus on current hot topics - this won't disappoint. A must for all with an interest in business, current affairs, and self improvement. An excellent range of in-depth features, combined with case studies, analogies and poignant articles.

3.99/month for cutting edge knowledge. You'd be silly not to.

Usability: One of the better buys.

I don't understand all the negativity surrounding the navigation/layout of this item. It's user friendly. It opens initially opens up on the contents page with its two columns which display sections and that articles contained. You can return back to the menu when reading by pressing your down button and clicking on "View Sections & Articles".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review by Harvard Business School Publishing
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews