Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passed the test using only this book
This book is all I needed to fork out money for to pass the exam with 80% (32/40) today. Just need to buy the book, do the work then book your exam yourself through prometric rather than take an expensive accredited course.

Each chapter includes sample questions of that chapter at the beginning and end which are useful for revision and testing yourself...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by Mantrid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book
Used the book in conjunction with a course. Passed the test. It is a useful book especially with the example questions.
Published 5 months ago by Joe O'Gorman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passed the test using only this book, 29 Mar 2011
This book is all I needed to fork out money for to pass the exam with 80% (32/40) today. Just need to buy the book, do the work then book your exam yourself through prometric rather than take an expensive accredited course.

Each chapter includes sample questions of that chapter at the beginning and end which are useful for revision and testing yourself.

It can be pretty hard-going sometimes with regards to lists and bullet points, so don't book the exam until you've finished the book and gone through a bit of revision and refining down your notes to something easier to revise.

Additional materials you WILL need but which are free are the course syllabus and glossary, which are available online. There are also sample papers and questions available online at unofficial sites which are good for practice (The book teaches you the subject, but the exams need a lot of practicing, as there's a lot of little quirks they have and the questions try to trick you quite a bit)

Overall, couldn't recommend this book enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helped Me Pass the Exam With No Other Notes/Training, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Christopher Farrow (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Software Testing: An ISTQB-ISEB Foundation Guide (Kindle Edition)
This an easy to understand guide to the ISEB Foundation of Testing exam. I recently passed the examination using only this book to learn the examination materials. I would estimate it covers roughly 95% of the material in the examination and only appears to miss out a few specifics around Standards Documentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written to get you through the ISTQB-ISEB foundation paper, 2 Jan 2013
By 
A. J. Roberts (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The books sole aim appears to be to get it's readers through the ISTQB-ISEB foundation paper, so plenty of dry reading material on the field names and sequences in the IEEE 829 Standard for Software Test document templates, as the ISTQB-ISEB syllabus indicates a question or two on this pointless subject will appear in the exam. Similarly the book follows the syllabus in disparaging the use of anything other than Microsoft Word and Excel for creation and recording of test plans and results, as the syllabus simply requires you to know of the existence of Test, Incident, and Configuration management tools, but they are only for experienced testers / test teams, so no examples are provided, or even a footnote offered regarding the ubiquitous tools, such as: HP Quality Centre (Test Director), Load Runner, Jmeter, Apache bench, JIRA, Bugzilla, Selenium, iMacros.....

If your goal is to pass the foundation certificate through self study, then this is the book for you (in combination with a copy of the syllabus and sample exam papers), if your after a good introduction to real world testing your probably best off look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preparing for my ISTQB-ISEB Foundation Exam, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Software Testing: An ISTQB-ISEB Foundation Guide (Kindle Edition)
Preparing for the exam has been a smooth ride. The book is very explanatory and easy to read.

Looking forward to taking the exam because my confidence has indeed been boosted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but there are better alternatives at [...], 26 Aug 2012
I studied for my ISEB in early 2012 and used this book as it was recommended by my tutor.

If you have never studied Software Testing or don't have a strong background in it this book is highly recommended as it tells you in plain English the terminologies and buzzwords with proper definitions.

If you are planning on sitting the ISEB Foundation Exam reading this book isn't adequate alone.

I found that the ISEB Practice papers had a few questions which you'll struggle to find a formidable answer in the book. At times when comparing an answer from the book to what my tutor has taught me there was a slight contradiction. I believe this is because exam board is basing it's answers on tradition whereas in industry they take a more practical approach.

In all honesty, if you just want to pass the exam. Skim through the book and do the pass papers and make notes on the questions you get wrong.

I recommend this cool website called [...] because you can buy the pass papers and answers for cheap. All you have to do is memorise the answers and you'll pass 40/40.

Good luck passing ISEB guys.

Source: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone taking their Foundation exam, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for working towards my ISTQB Foundation examination. It is written in a concise and novice friendly way, introducing you gently to the concepts of software testing. The authors are clearly knowledgeable and the book contains everything you need to know to pass the exam. I was fortunate enough to attend a 3 day training course prior to sitting the examination and found having read the book previously to have really helped, the course simply cemented the knowledge in my head. I passed the exam with 37/40 and really think this was down to owning and reading this book. This is a must for anyone working towards their foundation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to start Software Testing, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book..
This book is not only to clear the ISEB Foundation but also it is very useful to understand the logic behind SDLC and the IT Industry :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book for testers, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it but finding very hard time to read it as busy with the kids and daily stuff but a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Book for the job, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and ideal for the exam, helped me pass first time. I still refer back to the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Software Testing: An ISTQB-ISEB Foundation Guide, 18 Sep 2013
Clearly written to the point, no long stories. The book is all you need for your test. Truly value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews