Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: Programming Python by Mark Lutz
It has been a long time coming, but finally this book has been updated. With the 4th edition comes a big change. This edition has been updated to ONLY cover Python 3.x. This is a great book and will make a great addition if you want to learn more about developing applications with Python.

You should note however, that this book is not a Python reference guide...
Published on 27 Dec. 2010 by Mr. Christopher M. Woollard

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring teacher alert!
Programming Python has a lot of knowledge inside it. The trouble is, it will bore you to death getting that knowledge out. This guy is anything but succinct. He rambles and rambles to get his point across. I'ts admirable in that he wants to leave no stone unturned when explaining how Python works but his conversational style is that of a boring old school teacher. You...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring teacher alert!, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
Programming Python has a lot of knowledge inside it. The trouble is, it will bore you to death getting that knowledge out. This guy is anything but succinct. He rambles and rambles to get his point across. I'ts admirable in that he wants to leave no stone unturned when explaining how Python works but his conversational style is that of a boring old school teacher. You can't even skim over paragraphs to get to the important bits because the nuggets of info are all nested in this rampant verbosity. I have fallen asleep many evenings with this gigantic lump of a book in my lap from mind numbing boredom.

Unfortunately though. This is the only book that I have found that contains such a comprehensive lesson in Python at an intermediate level. So while it is quite poorly written, if you want a book to take you beyond the basics then this is the only comprehensive choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: Programming Python by Mark Lutz, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. Christopher M. Woollard (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Python (Kindle Edition)
It has been a long time coming, but finally this book has been updated. With the 4th edition comes a big change. This edition has been updated to ONLY cover Python 3.x. This is a great book and will make a great addition if you want to learn more about developing applications with Python.

You should note however, that this book is not a Python reference guide. It is written primarily as a advanced tutorial that is a follow up to the Learning Python book. Therefore it does not cover any aspects of core Python. For that you would be better of looking at Learning Python.

This book is over 1600 pages long. This makes it particularly heavy. I do not recommend that this book be kept anywhere that it can fall from. It will hurt if you happen to get in its way.

There are a couple of omissions that surprised me. In the chapter on GUI programming. I expected there would be more on using either PyGTK or PyQt. They are mentioned, but that is it. tkInter is covered instead. Personally I have not seen TK used for quite some time. Most of the applications that I have seen use PyGTK (mostly because I use Ubuntu). Another omission is that there is no mention of Quickly. Which is a framework that allows you to develop applications quickly.

Please note: I did receive a free copy of this book via the O'Reilly Blogger review programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The index is useless, This book shows that the worst person to ..., 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Macrae (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
Nearly impossible to use,, this book rambles on and on, going over subjects many times, adding in extra , snazzy bits of code that shows how savvy the writer is, and have to be untangled to find out what you want. this takes many hours to find out the simplest things.
The index is useless,
This book shows that the worst person to write a how-to book is a person who KNOWS the subject and has no idea how to teach or even organise their thoughts sufficiently enough to be readable.
Having read many books on programming , this one leaves me none the wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Kindle Edition)
Not bedtime reading by anybody's way of assessing that attribute. But it *is* comprehensive and it is detailed. By the end of the book you know everything you need to know and a fair bit you'll probably never, ever need. So not only can you program in Python when you've read all this, but you can also bore your friends down the pub with your knowledge of the bits of Python nobody cares about! Still four stars, though. An impressive piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars get knowledge regarding Python, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Programming Python (Kindle Edition)
Programming Python is one of these book you can kill with when dropped from appropriate height. I am not Python expert, rather casual Python programer, I focus rather on Java-Python bindings and I was looking for a book that I can use as a reference point. Python Programming covers quite a loot of Python related aspects of the language, is well structured, and covers most recent Python release (version 3).

Programing Python is not a typical programming book - famous "Hello world" occurs for the first time at page 129. It's more Python
reference book than programming book. Mark covers many, typical, issues that most programers will face during programming. What's good about this book are simple, straight and pragmatic examples - just the essence. However, sweet things have sometimes bitter taste when not served well. What I don't like within the book are huge code listings. I fell like putting 20 pages of code straight into text is simply waste of space. I prefer to use external resources (CD, source codes from ftp) instead of reading the code within the book (it's like going back to 90's). What I miss in the book is Python/Java integration. I use Python within Java and would like to read more regarding this topic the way Python/C integration is described. Would I recommend this book? If you are looking for Python reference - yes, if you are looking for Java-Python compendium - no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow and solid, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Kindle Edition)
As others have said - it needs editing to reduce repetition.
However, it does make a solid introduction.
Not for those who want to read 20 pages and get going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
Real value for money.I have waited ages to find a book that gives me all the information I need to know,this is it.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
Especially if you are beginning to learn internet programming. Also cover many other useful topics. Integration with C is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natural extension to Learning Python, 15 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Robinson (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
If you liked "Learning Python" by the same author then you will like this book also. It is a thick book with over 1500 pages but it has to be as it covers quite a lot of topics in depth. I have not read all the chapters but haven't had to - I do this on a "has need" basis. The chapters I have read give a firm foundations to understanding the various topics e.g. Systems Programming and Parallel Systems Tools give a good overall understanding, and clearly explained code examples, which is normally enough for me to understand the topic and get the job done. People have complained that the book is too thick but I would rather have too much information than too little and it serves as a good reference book where it is easy to flick through the pages, and is easier on the eye, as opposed to continuously browsing the web for the same material. I write quite a few python scripts and for me it is invaluable and is the book I reach out to first before looking elsewhere. There are notable absences e.g. i would have liked to see a chapter on logging and pyserial but this would make a thick book even thicker and these topics are covered quite well by the web anyway. So, overall 5 stars from me, especially as the book price is very reasonable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic learning in here around GUI, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming Python (Paperback)
Some fantastic learning in here around GUI, but some of the email programming felt dated and quite a bit was obsolete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming Python
Programming Python by Mark Lutz
£24.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews