Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, especially for beginners.
Faludi is kind to the reader by using simple language in the old school of: tell-them-what-you're-going-to-say, tell-them and then tell-them-what-you-said.

I bought the book because although I am not a beginner to electronics, I am to ZigBee, and I am lazy and want a quick start to what to get and why and which "start-bugs" to avoid. Faludi does a good job here...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Robin Pain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but ...
Good book on the topic of building a network of sensors using xBee series 2 radios, nicely incremental examples. Only one BIG "but". The author does not give enough away about the reasons behind certain designs. Because of this the material in the book becomes of little use if the experiments are not repeated with precisely the same components. For instance, another...
Published 8 months ago by Michele Zito


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, especially for beginners., 4 Feb 2011
By 
Robin Pain (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Faludi is kind to the reader by using simple language in the old school of: tell-them-what-you're-going-to-say, tell-them and then tell-them-what-you-said.

I bought the book because although I am not a beginner to electronics, I am to ZigBee, and I am lazy and want a quick start to what to get and why and which "start-bugs" to avoid. Faludi does a good job here and tries to please everybody by including non-Windows based (Mac and Linux) examples where he can (this market is clearly biased towards Windows).

Evidently you could simply download the free ZigBee spec' and read it - it is not too boring and took me about four days to scan through it, but for the cheap price, I would recommend that even a professional would recover the cost in time saved from this book but evidently he will not be interested in the simplistic treatment of how to connect A to B, just the tips and hints and as a quick broad outline for both the spec and the parts range.

For the beginner this book is excellent with both diagrams and photographs of how to wire up the half dozen-or-so connections between one module and another plus very full descriptions + screen shots of how to drive the (mainly Windows based) software.

The firmware example-code is consistently of the simplest-only-to-do-the-principle (there is no cheating by padding with large amounts of code) and gradually the reader is taken into more and more detail about protocols and networking in a painless manner.

A huge amount of work has gone into this book to make it look simple. It is also up to date (late 2010). I highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow, well written., 10 Oct 2011
Overall I found this book to be well written and very easy to follow.
This book uses Arduino & breadboard examples. No expert programming or electronics knowledge is required. Experience and a reasonable understanding will of course be of great benefit, although I doubt the entry level 'LED flasher' programmer will be experimenting with XBee. The examples can be relatively simplistic in comparison to some of the book's more advanced content, especially towards the end of the book. At this point I would imagine the experimenter has become used to using a breadboard.
A very useful feature is that all the example code is available to download from the O'Reilly website (for free), without the need to register, give away your email address or sign your life away. This saves much typing, particularly when you are working through the many shorter examples in the earlier few chapters.
I am a PIC user and don't use the Arduino platform. I still found the examples were fairly easy to 'translate' for use with a PIC (16F887) MCU.
My only criticism is that it is not made expressly clear in the blurb that the book is for use only with the Series 2 XBee modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, demystifying introduction..., 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to get started with Xbee/Zigbee devices (along with some Arduino) then this is an ideal book. Robert Faludi goes step by step through setting up some basic projects with some associated explanation, after which it is possible to move on and pursue your own projects. I found it very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, very practical, 27 May 2011
I would highly recommend this book. It is very practical, and can be used by anyone that wants to learn a little about ZigBee or needs to teach an introductory course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy-to-read practical introduction to using ZigBee, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an easy-to-read, hands-on approach to starting with ZigBee wireless. The book clips along at a fair pace and introduces the reader not only to ZigBee, but also Arduino, 'Processing', Pachube and even interfacing your sensors to the web and Twitter.

There is quite a strong emphasis on Digi products in particular (which are used to build the projects) but Faludi includes guidance on alternatives available in the market. The examples use the Digi XBee modules, and you get to see both the "AT" interface and the binary API, plus a whistle-stop tour of the ConnectPort routers and their online iDigi web interface.

The projects are simple, but cover sensor and remote control applications, and by the end of the book you should have some good ideas of your own for wireless interfacing. Full code is provided, and you do not have to be an electronics expert to wire the projects together.

This is a great book and I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to ZigBee and long term reference, 8 Jun 2011
By 
G. B. Jeffery (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First rate book, invaluable in understanding ZigBee networking. Comprises excellent introduction with source material that will be valuable in the long term.

Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Wish All of the Books are Like This. Very Practical and Simple to Follow. Helped me a Lot for My Final Year Project, 1 Jun 2012
--- Date of the Review: 01-06-2012 ---

Highly recommended textbook for those who are willing to make his/her own wireless sensor network by using Xbee modules and Arduino board.

This book saved my life in the final year of my electronic engineering degree. Book shows exactly what you need to buy, how to set up the necessary configurations by using suitable software (e.g. X-CTU) and gives the reader a step by step instructions to be able to make it work.

There are some Arduino codes which you can try to make the same or similar projects.

Compared to what you get, the price of the book is nothing.

Great investment and life saving book especially during the project cycles.

Thanks

Mr. Engin Sicimogullari (MEng Electronic Engineering Graduate)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but ..., 25 July 2013
By 
Michele Zito (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good book on the topic of building a network of sensors using xBee series 2 radios, nicely incremental examples. Only one BIG "but". The author does not give enough away about the reasons behind certain designs. Because of this the material in the book becomes of little use if the experiments are not repeated with precisely the same components. For instance, another review mentioned the fact that the book does not make it clear that all examples are based on the use of the series 2 transmitters. It would have been MUCH better if the author also hinted at the changes necessary to adapt at least some of the designs to the series 1 transmitters. It is not easy to understand what are the constraints on the various designs and how changes in some the components might affect them. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but should have purchased paper version so that I could scribble notes, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. R. S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Wireless Sensor Networks: with ZigBee, XBee, Arduino, and Processing (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting book filled with fun projects but watch out as will cost a small fortune in components if you get hooked. Should have purchased in paper form as would have found it very useful to be able to scribble notes in the margin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Already finished to read, now I need to build the projects!!!, 10 April 2012
By 
Giorgio (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating stuff, the book is well written, even if sometimes is light on technical points and has lots of code and screenshots that will become obsolete in one year as new versions of SW/websites come up...

I remember hearing about Xbee back in 2005 but now I see is becoming a growing industry, with thousand of potential applications...
The book is in all very enjoyable and the right approach for someone who wants to start to dive into the Xbee world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb596b2e8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews