Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going gaga for Google
POSITIVE: Android Gingerbread - endless customization- fast, next to no lag- vibrant, colourful display

NEGATIVES:No SD card slot- Android market still needs a LOT of work- applying screen protectors to the contour screen is hell

Had a HTC Desire HD before; loved Android, hated the phone, was just too massive. Bought an iPhone 4; was blissful in a...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Aaron C. Braund

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AMOLED vs LCD
Beware, if you want the Nexus S with the superb AMOLED dispaly, the UK market is being flooded with grey imports, which have the inferior LCD display. The UK spec phone with the AMOLED display is known as the i9020.
The cheaper imports are known as the i9023, they look identical.
I bought the AMOLED version from a large UK web supplier (not this one) and found...
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by BobbyV


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AMOLED vs LCD, 6 Aug 2011
By 
BobbyV (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
Beware, if you want the Nexus S with the superb AMOLED dispaly, the UK market is being flooded with grey imports, which have the inferior LCD display. The UK spec phone with the AMOLED display is known as the i9020.
The cheaper imports are known as the i9023, they look identical.
I bought the AMOLED version from a large UK web supplier (not this one) and found it was the i9023 phone with a i9020 label stuck on the box.
I phoned Samsung UK who told me they will not service or repair the i9023, be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going gaga for Google, 18 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
POSITIVE: Android Gingerbread - endless customization- fast, next to no lag- vibrant, colourful display

NEGATIVES:No SD card slot- Android market still needs a LOT of work- applying screen protectors to the contour screen is hell

Had a HTC Desire HD before; loved Android, hated the phone, was just too massive. Bought an iPhone 4; was blissful in a Aldous Huxley, Brave New World kind of way. No challenges, everything was clean and simple. After awhile It kind of felt like I was in a prison, and Apple were always watching me, making sure every feature of the phone was locked down.

Needless to say I sold the iPhone, and bought this. Best decision in my gadget life. Android 2.3 to me is a mile improvement on 2.2. The phone just feels right: people moan about the plastic but did someone forget to mention it's good quality plastic? I prefer the feel of this to the monstrous Desire HD.

Performance? Running apps? Multitasking? It's a fast beast, crunching applications like they were nothing.

Customization? You got it in spades: themes, widgets, everything is adaptable to your own personal preference.

I thought the resolution would be disappointing after witnessing the retina scorching iPhone 4 display. Not so. The super amoled screen is so bright and colourful- that iPhone 4 resolution was quickly forgotten. Also the curved screen is charming, but you might strangle it applying a screen protector.

The omission of SD storage is strange and inconvenient and one of the major downers on this Google party. Alas there is 16GB on board but thats not removable. Speaking of Google, if you're a fan or use Google services like Gmail or Reader you can sync all your Google accounts with the phone. The Google Apps are excellent: check out the new 3D maps or set up your Gmail to get push email straight to your phone.

As for the Android App Market... *SIGH* it's really underwhelming, but it continually improves. Nevertheless, Apple rules the app wars. Google need to tighten this up ASAP but I envisage them making ground with Apple.

Damn good phone, simple as. If you want a brainless experience and are happy to do everything Apple tells you to do get an iPhone 4. If you want freedom to do whatever the hell you like within the software, get Android. If you want the best phone on the market, get the Nexus S.

Suppose I should have mentioned somewhere that it's good at making phone calls too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A phone with personality, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
I've been an iphone user for the last 3 years. Back when I bought it (2008), there was no other smartphone. Couple of months ago when I wanted to go for a new phone, I had the usual iphone v android predicament. I went for Android mainly because I was tired of the iphone and wanted something new.

I was very lucky to buy the Nexus as opposed to the more popular desire or galaxy (as I now realize, in hindsight).

The reasons:

1. It's the fastest to get android updates.

2. It's doesn't try to look or behave like the iphone, as most other android devices do. It's all-black, slightly curved looks with Google written at back sets it apart from 'wannabe' others.

3. You can do stuff on this iphone that iphone users never will. Download music, save and edit office documents, attach them on emails, share content over bluetooth (it's not an uncool technology from 90's but actually something useful. You hear me, Apple?)And I'm not talking about rooting (whatever that means). I'm not a techie, just someone who likes to do more than call/facebook/play angry birds with his phone if I pay over 400 quid for it.

4. It is one of the fastest phones around, and that is really important for me.

5. I'm really glad that it's not sold as well as iphone or galaxy or desire. There's an exclusivity to holding this phone in your hands. Every other person has an iphone and I'm glad I don't.

The only disadvantage is that the volume (headset, call) is a little low. I downloaded an app: Volume+ and that took care of it. But still.

Lack of apps is NOT a disadvantage, not for this phone, not for any android phone. It's true that apple has more apps, but really, what can you do with 300,000 apps that you can't with 200,000?

To sum up, a smart, fast phone with personality. Does a lot more than an iphone, is exclusive and less expensive. I'm glad I went for this and would recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Phone Available, 25 Dec 2010
By 
Captain Awesome (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
That's a pretty bold statement, but bear with me.
Android is an excellent operating system with a lot of features others can't offer. If you're interested in a platform that gets updated frequently then Android is for you.
A lot of phones run Android. Everything from cheap pay as you go units to the highest end expensive units are available.

The major negative about Android is that networks and handset makers can put customised interfaces on top of it, meaning updates to Android itself are delayed due to those customisations having to be updated for them to work on the new version of Android.
This one weak point can be solved by buying one of Google's reference devices. That basically means Google have partnered with a handset maker(in this case Samsung) and put the latest version of Android on it with no software customisation. These phones get the fastest updates and are often referred to as 'pure Google'.

Having the latest software is great, but what makes this phone so good?
This phone is similar in hardware terms to the Samsung Galaxy S. It has the fastest mobile phone processor currently available, as well as the best graphics processor you'll find in a phone. Google have added to that great hardware by providing a gyroscope for extremely accurate motion detection and a near field communications chip. NFC allows you to use your phone to scan embedded tags. In the future, developers are likely to build applications that let you check-in for your flight, pay for your shopping with your phone and more. This phone also has a lot of internal storage and plenty of room for applications, too.

This phone is fast. Really fast. Bought off-contract and using a pay as you go or month-to-month contract, you'll save a great deal of money over a 2-year contract from the major networks.
If you're looking for something a little cheaper, but with the same pure Google experience, the Nexus One(review in my profile) is essentially the same, but with a smaller screen and slower hardware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samsung nexus s super amoled (i9020) review only..., 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
the samsung nexus s i9020 has been released for just over a year now and despite being one of google's flagship android phones - never really sold well, this was due to the phone missing things like a sd card slot and a underwhelming camera, but, in fact, the nexus s is a impressive and a must buy phone even to this day.

i heard a rumour a few days ago - that this phone was being sold for £199.99 sim free online, so, i checked out that rumour and my decision upon viewing it was made within seconds, i made the purchase without the slightest hesitation and decided to sell my htc desire hd (a great phone and i'll miss it) the biggest selling point of the nexus s is the super amoled screen and it easily out performed my htc by a mile. also, its a google phone with a fully stock android experience, meaning, no branding gimmicks and bloatware like motoblur, htc sense and touchwiz, i much prefer this, as its possible to fully customize the whole phone without problems. also, like i said, its a google phone meaning, it will always be first to receive new android firmware updates for quite sometime. this is something that my htc desire hd did not offer despite only being out for only a year. android 4.0 or ice cream sandwich is the new os that has just started rolling-out - but only new phones are down for the latest updates, but the google nexus s will be getting this update very soon, so, its quite the bargain at £199.99.

the phone itself is very impressive the super amoled 4.0" inch screen displays very deep blacks, super bright whites, rich vivid colours and ultra crisp images, it mite not be as good as newer amoled screens - but its still a amazing screen. the camera is 5 mega pixel and pictures look very good on this screen, sadly, no hd support on the camera or video recording, also, no zoom option but may change when updated to 4.0. no sd card slot - but the nexus s has 16gb built-in storage and if you own a pc, it can easily be saved to the hard drive or other sd card files transferred via usb cable.

the build quality is not bad actually, considering its plastic - the screen is glass and very responsive to the touch, the glass screen also features a curved design that looks really nice and the phone feels solid in the hand without feeling cheap. the screen has a blue tinted internal coating that helps improve outdoor viewing - its very good and looks a lot less washed-out than other phone screens when outside. as good as the screen is, i'm afraid both the screen and the phone are a fingerprint magnet despite samsung claiming that the screen features a anti fingerprint coating, it does help - but not much, so, if you buy this phone, buy a good quality cloth and leather pouch for it.

the phone call quality is crystal clear and the volume is very loud, i've had no drop calls so far. the text messaging is excellent and i really like the gingerbread keyboard its very easy to use as well. the overall performance is great and everything runs super quick, surfing the internet is fast and looks amazing on the super amoled screen.

a word of warning here, like some reviewers point-out, the uk is now completely flooded with cheaper european imports that do not have the super amoled screen - the model of that cheaper nexus s is i9023 it uses a super clear lcd screen instead, while the super amoled is i9020 just make sure you look-up that number if you buy the phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great phone but beware the i9020/i9023 issue, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
I came to this phone having used a number of different smartphones including iPhones, Symbian, Galaxy S etc and have been largely impressed.

Build quality is good with a curved screen/back which allows the phone to fit more naturally in your hand, and to your face when making calls. I have actually been surprised at how much of a difference this makes when using the device and goes a long way to minimising the impact of the 'hump' at the bottom of the phone. This is also helped by the rounded edges to the device which make the phone look smaller than other devices with a similar size screen (4"). The back is made of a sturdy yet light-weight plastic which I have found very difficult to remove to insert the battery & sim card. On my device it takes a lot of effort and this has not diminished with use - but at least I have confidence it won't just fall off accidently. Whilst enabling a nice light-weigth design, the only issue I have with the plastic back is that it can make a sligthly hollow sound/feel in places which isn't really a problem but might irritate some people.

The back of the device also contains a 5 megapixel camera with LED flash as well as pronounced speaker grill. The lens is slightly recessed with a textured aluminium surround which looks good and protects the lens itself from damage. The power/unlock button is on the right and the volume rocker on the left - both a prominent enough to make the easy to press without looking and feel sturdy and rigid enough to prevent phantom presses whilst the deivce is in your pocket. The mirco-USB port and 3.5mm headphone jack are on the bottom of the device along with the microphone which leaves the top of the device completely clear.

The front of the device has a front-facing camera and at the bottom of the screen there are the 4 standard android capacative buttons - back, menu, search, home. When the device is off, these buttons are very difficult to see and as ever, seem to be in a different order to the other Android devices on the market.

In terms of actual performance, the screen is phenomenal! I've used Super Amoled technology on my Galaxy S and it still amazes me just how good it is both in terms of general vibrancy and colour, as well as visibility in sunshine. At full brightness it is incredible, but even at the lowest brightness setting, where I tend to keep mine, pictures and colours looke vibrant and bright and films look great. It is one of those things that really needs to be seen to allow you to fully appreciate just how incredible it is to have a phone screen this good. Even my brother - an ardent iPhone user - can't believe just how good it looks and the only downside I can really find for the screen is that having used a few Super Amoled devices, I now struggle to enjoy using a phone without this type of screen.

In relation to software - mine shipped with Android 2.3.3 gingerbread which I have used on other deivces so I cannot say what the experience would be for someone totally new to Android. I do, however, think it is a vast improvement on previous versions of the software so if you had tried Android when it first came out and didn't like it, there have been some major improvements. The great thing about the Nexus devices is that they come without any additional software tweaks from the manufacturers. This phone therefore looks and behaves differently from the other Samsung, HTC etc Android devices. It looks a lot cleaner and so far works a lot more fluidly than the Galaxy S. As much as I liked the Galaxy S and some of the tweaks Samsung included (like being able to adjust settings by sliding down the notifications bar) I really like plain Android.

Another benefit to the Nexus devices is that they receive software updates direct from Google which means that they usually come quicker than any other Android device. The latest version of Android - ICS is due for the Nexus S within weeks making it only the second device to have it after the latest Nexus (Galaxy Nexus).

It also has NFC (near-field communication) which is similar to that used in things like Oyster cards. Google are working on a 'google wallet' for the UK which will allow users to make small payments just by tapping your phone up to a receiver rather than using cash/card. It isn't massively used at present in the UK but there are plans to role out more NFC based payment methods, information points etc in most major towns & cities so it is likely to become more useful over the next few months/years.

Despite the fact that I am really liking pure untweaked androird, there are some minor issues I have with this device compared to other devices I've used. Firstly it only has 5 homescreens - not a major problem for someone who is used to that or coming from something like iOS where there are none, but I've grown used to having my widgets etc across 7 homescreens. I also find the camera interface slightly less intuitive than other devices I've used. It is by no means bad or difficult to use and the camera takes some excellent pictures, it is just a different layout and can take a couple of menus to get to a certain setting or switch to front-facing camera mode.

One other issue I wanted to highlight was the difference between the UK version of the Nexus S i9020 and the non-UK version i9023. There are some key differences which means that UK buyers really need to check which one they are buying as it could impact significantly on user experience. Firstly the i9020 has the Super Amoled screen and full UK mobile bands to work with any network (all 7 major ones(, the i9023 has a Super LCD screen (inferior colours, textures etc - if you want to see the difference there are videos on the internet), only has 4 mobile bandwidths - should still work fine in the UK with all major networks but not as comprehensive as the UK version. Warranty is also not covered for the i9023 in the UK therefore Samsung will not offer after-sale support, repairs etc. It is worth therefore checking which version you are buying - the sticker under the battery & serial number are the best ways to check but most reputable UK stores should be selling the i9020.

All-in-all I have been very impressed with this device. The contoured design makes the phone very nice to use and the Android software is also very easy to use, even for a relative novice. The battery, though taking a longish time to charge, does get me through a couple of days of light-medium use, and the screen is just incredible. I would not hesitate to recommend this to my family & friends who are looking for a good smartphone but can't/won't spend £500 for a really high-end device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Google, 22 Nov 2011
By 
bluejellybaby (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
I am a 22 year old girl who just has to have the latest gadgets even if that means not having more important, but hey thats just me. I paid Just under £200 for my Samsung Nexus S, and was overwhelmed as to how different this phone is compared to others. In a good way obviously i loved it, It was nicely shaped, not too heavy and had the latest Android update. Being Pure Google it received the latest updates before other phones at the time. The touch screen is very responsive. It has more than enough space for Apps and pictures and music so the 16GB with no Memory card slot isn't really a big deal like some people make out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete satisfactory., 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
I never had a smartphone before.About a week I read reviews over different sites.
This one was always at top 5,it has very cool design and Google logo on the back side
makes it on of a kind.Very important article for me was the price.
It serves its purpose well.Im very happy that I chose this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nexus S, 8 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
As someone who had no previous experience of an Android 'phone was slightly concerned as to how it would work and how I would cope with the new technology. Turns out the worry was wasted energy as this 'phone is amazing. I did download the PDF manual for Android in order to work ou some of the more complicated functions but to date it has been a roaring success. Linking email accounts was really simple and adjusting all the incoming message warnings to differentiate was even easier. The functions on the 'phone are too many to list here but it seems to do everything and then some. I love the google maps already imbedded with an app for places. The navigation app is also great and simple to use. So far I have only downloaded a few free apps which work no problem. The battery life is fine for me as I do not game so there has been no issues getting me through my average day with the device. Overall I would highly recommend this 'phone for anyone looking for an Android particularly for those, like me, who are not well versed in the technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great phone, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE (Electronics)
Got this phone 3 weeks ago as an upgrade from my htc wildfire. connected to the wifi as soon as i set it up and it downloaded the latest firmware from google, which was an update for the gingerbread firmware. What i like about this phone is you get the updates before other android phones. It doesnt look cheap like some reveiws that i have read on the net. Very fast phone and good graphics. Battery is good but depends what you have open. Mine lasts a day but thats because i use many apps on wifi and 3g. Interface is easy to use. Cant wait for the honeycomb firmware to be releasd for this phone. Only things i dont like is that there is no notification LED or FM radio. But overall great phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GOOGLE NEXUS S UNLOCKED CELL PHONE
Used & New from: £199.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews