Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars100
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

We settled down to enjoy this having been told it was a 'feel good' movie. However -I must warn you that there is a way to travel before all the warm and fuzzy moments arrive. The drama is such that you might consider it worrying for sensitive/ small children even though other parts are wonderfully charming and endearing. So have those tissues to hand.

Connie Nielsen as young, beautiful, fey and life enhancing would be parent Maire O'Donnell is superb. Her taciturn husband Alec, played by Aidan Quinn, is a tougher nut to crack. 'Himself' as he is referred to, has a slightly different agenda in mind for this adoption project. Set in the fifties I thought or at least in an area stuck in that time warp. I am full of admiration for young Tomas, acted by John Bell, who he was beguiling, endearing and sweetly perfect in his role.

The glorious scenery of Corrie Island is a total pleasure. What a joy to see the double rainbow over the sea, the cosy cottage home and the colourful new way life the lovely Maire has created for her little orphan boy. Other children on the island are terrific too in an Enid Blyton kind of way. The seal pup abandoned by his mother on the beach; well the parallels are clear.

Then troubles come, and a terrible uncertainty is in the air. How Tomas deals with all this is heart wrenching and powerful, you will never forget watching 'a Shine of Rainbows'.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I have seen this film 4 times and watched it again at the film afternoon I live in sheltered housing for the elderly I just knew that the residents would love it, we golden girls are a sensitive lot and some of the golden guys are too,believe it or not they shed a few tears,the guys I mean.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
excellent film made in ireland. real emotional tale that brings a grumpy man and an orphan much in need of love and stability. well worth the watching for people of all ages
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
The film builds slowly, allowing you time to form a real relationship with the main characters. During the build up you are introduced to a wide range of relationships such as between Tomas and his 'mum', with 'himself', his friends on the island and with 'smudge'. The film builds the emotional element as you fall in love with the characters and the location. It is sad, happy, joyous and loving in equal measure and overall a truly wonderful film.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
Bought this for my mother in law Brilliant DVD which i recieved very timely - A DVD everyone should see. Price and Quality were excellent.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Beautiful film will have you smiling and tearful, I first saw this film on TV and had to buy it, lovely location and scenery in Ireland
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
this is a feel good film with a degree of sadness and shows how the interactions of humans can be fraught with tragedy, it has some fantasy interwoven with a realistic tale of the transformation of an abandoned orphan into a child able to live and love and to be loved.
Interesting to see life through his eyes as a daydream and a hope. He was able to turn a non relationship with is adoptive dad into something more meaningful, nice scenery and a glimpse into island mentality. Not heavy and a happy ending but that baby seal was an unreal addition, made me laugh,
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I thought this film would be for beautiful scenery but not only that
as I found out. As I work with people and am interested in humans and
their narratives- I found the story in itself interesting enough and
psychologycally good enough! This little movie is well made and makes you
feel, makes you think and wonder why and what you would have done yourself.

Very touching and moving at the end.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
This is a lovely gentle film full of good feelings and sad moments. I chose it on a whim and now it will sit on my shelf as a firm favourite
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
A beautiful story set in beautiful scenery. It starts off in a light mood, but leads us through bumps and real thunderstorm's of a little boy's new life. Having experienced rough times for way too long, Tomas' unexpectedly found joy is not without bitter notes and some hard nuts to crack. His innocence is put to the test many a time until he is ready to receive the final gift. Packed with heart-warming moments, the film is bound to squeeze the tears out of the strongest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)