Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Sim but great fun anyway!
I am a racing fan and usually prefer Simulation type racing games like Forza.

I decided to give SHIFT2 a go by renting it, not expecting much, but am pleasantly surprised.

Put simply so as not to write an essay, this game is most definitely NOT a sim racer. The handling is completely unrealistic, with cars CONSTANTLY sliding no matter what you do...
Published on 5 May 2011 by ShotbyaScot

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it really is this bad.
I originally bought this game for the PC. Unfortunately the input lag on the steering was horrendous. Not to be put off I decided to try it on my xbox 360. I really wanted to love this game. It appealed to me in spades. Boy, was I dissapointed. I can live with the silly fat yank and his cheesey surf-dude comments, I'm not particularly bothered by the slightly sub standard...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by OAGamer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Sim but great fun anyway!, 5 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a racing fan and usually prefer Simulation type racing games like Forza.

I decided to give SHIFT2 a go by renting it, not expecting much, but am pleasantly surprised.

Put simply so as not to write an essay, this game is most definitely NOT a sim racer. The handling is completely unrealistic, with cars CONSTANTLY sliding no matter what you do. This is most profound if you like using the rear chase view; it looks terrible and is impossible to use as the car literally jumps around in a jerky and totally unreal way.

It is however, HUGE fun, providing you switch to bonnet/in-car camera views. This is because, when you accept it is still an arcade racer in realistic life-like clothing, you can enjoy the fact that the handling is v.good fun (takes me back to RidgeRacer/Sega Rally arcade units) and that the racing is close and enhanced with an excellent sensation of speed.

My advice is, if you want a fun racer, you HAVE to get this.

If you are unconvinced because you usually like sim racers, live a little, accept that this isn't one and enjoy it.

That's because EVERY race fan should own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very suprised to say the least, 8 April 2011
By 
Chris Rees (Southend Essex) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I never played Shift 1 so i cant compare it against that but i did hear that a lot of people found shift 1 to be a let down in terms of of it being a sim like experience. I do however play Race Pro and F1 2010 and enjoy them a lot and compare other games against these titles. When I bought Shift 2 i was very sceptical and didnt want to get too excited as i take my xbox racing seriously (lol) and like cars physics to be spot on. I have only played Shift 2 for around 8 hours or so in total but can honestly say im enjoying it a lot. The first thing that struck me was how the cars feel to drive, they are good! The physics feel above par and you can get a proper feel for what the cars are upto through corners. This is i must add with absolutely no assists 'on'. The first race you are chucked into has assists enabled and it felt all wrong. The only thing i do find at times is the dead zone in my MS steering wheel on the straights, the car does tend to wander if you dont keep an eye on it. That said it isnt unmanagable and not a problem on the twisties! For me the biggest factor in any racing game as already stated has to be the physics and everthing else takes a back seat. Due to this i really do rate this game and hope it can provide me with plenty of entertainment going forward.

Please note that i am using a MS Xbox wheel as i have heard bad reviews regarding this game when people are using certain wheels/pads and PC/PS3 versions.

Pros -
- Good physics, not perfect but getting there!
- The career mode seems pretty cool, not done much of it but seems to be pretty varied and interesting, although a little confusing.
- The track selection is awesome, Donnington is a blast and love the Dubai circuit + many others.
- BATHURST, Mt PANORAMA
- Night/dusk racing is something new and looks good.
- Some circuits look brilliant graphics wise, some a little grainy.

Cons -
- Dead zone with MS wheel on the straights is at times annoying, car wanders.
- Too many stats and confusing figures and options.
- Rear view mirrow when using bonnet view keeps dissapearing, think its a bug.
- Cars are too sensitive to contact, rubbing paint shouldnt end up with me facing a tyre wall every time.
- Look left and look right views are disorientating, dont like the way they pan around. Should be just a fixed side camera.
- Hard to work out at times how close cars are to you. Blind spots around the rear quarter.
- Online lobby takes a bit of getting used to, probably just me?

Eradicate the cons and this game would of been given a 5 star rating from me. Very good game none the less!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comment/review of the handling, 2 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I didn't really get on with shift 1. The game was ok but the car handling was absurd (and i know others felt the same). So, when it came to a possible purchase of shift 2 there was only one thing i needed to know - is the handling better.

Well having played today for about 4 hours i can tell you it's much better and the game as a whole is excellent. I've spent quite a bit of time on the single player and managed to increse up to level 12 (not sure what the limit is). I've played a few online games and they have been exciting. the only downside to the online was that occasionally the game would take ages to load up (don't know why ).

the game can be played on easy, medium or hard and as well as this you can also turn things like traction control and stability on or off. The green/amber/red racing line is back if you want it and i for one need it. i find it a useful aid to stop me entering every gravel pit.

well that's about it - great game with much improved handling. As there is no new Project gotham racing since Bizarre creations went bust :( , i'll have to get my driving kicks fronm this now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Godd, 14 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a good next step in the NFS franchise, graphics are really stunning, gameplay is good however I find the handling quite disappointing, this has nothing to do the the sim oriented concept of the game, its just poor. Even on straight lines you must be very careful on how you adjust your position in order to follow the "perfect line", if you don't the car immediately starts wobbling from one side to the other which doesn't make any sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be a pace setter!!, 12 April 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
UPDATE JULY 2012

BUY THE WIRELESS SPEED WHEEL!!!! IT DRASTICALLY CHANGES THIS GAME REGARDING CAR HANDLING, AND IMO MAKES IT THE MOST COMPLETE AND FUN RACER ON XBOX
Wireless Speed Wheel (Xbox 360)

Bottom line

Shift is a great take on motorsport disciplines, with a sim/arcade take on racing. A few bugs and glitches stand out, which could spoil the experience, but the fun factor of the game soon relinquishes that. With tweaking to handling and other elements could be genre leading pace setter.. Race pro is a more realistic and yet sterile take on simulation racing although also barred with bugs.

PROs=
-Great visuals, immersion of "edge of seat racing" is the best on any racing game around.
-AI are fun to race, make mistakes push you and are challenging on hard.
-Has a good career with plenty to do, and keeps interest fresh
-General physics are good (car, yaw weight transfer etc!)
-Plenty of race tracks, even though some are fake.
-Plenty of cars, and cash is easy to come by, so good cars are accessible early.
-Ai keep in line with the upgrades of your car, meaning you cant upgrade to win, akin forza and Gran turismo
-Includes gt3 and gt1 events with cars!

CONS=
-Collision physics slightly off causing abnormalities when colliding etc
-Default Handling through a Gamepad is too sensitive (suggest 0% on deadzone and steering sensitivity)
-Tuning cars are hit and miss sometimes, units dont make sense to real life tuning.
-Doesnt need drifting and the whole "USA dudebro" theme
-Needs a full season mode, with qualification and proper race rules
-Loaner cars not tuneable leading to frustrating events with dodgy handling cars

8 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sim fans rejoice!!!, 4 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I loved the first, and i`m pleased to say that i love this too. They have rebuilt the game from the ground up, with improvements to the handling, graphics and sound. This is now a Full-on sim, so those who enjoyed Forza/GT5 will revel in this. The AI now behave far more aggressively, in fact, it`s just like racing online[much more realistic]. Down sides? Well, on a personal level, TWO. Firstly, if you don`t own a HD TV[i don`t], you will struggle to read the text, but really that`s my fault and not the developers, as they make ALL games for HD ready TV`s. Secondly, i could have done without the schpeel espoused by the various drivers in the game, but really, that`s just my minor gripe. Overall then, a deep, hopefully long lasting game, that should appeal to a wide audience, especially those who feel let down by the travesty of TDU 2. I have noticed that a lot of people complaining about the handling. If you go into the Controller sub-menu, set the Steering and Braking to 100%, and tinker with the rest of the settings ( I altered them by 3-4 clicks each ), you should now have a much better handling car, baring in mind that you still need to set the car to your own personal taste in the usual way i.e. Suspension, Brake Bias,etc,etc. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Surprised, well done to EA!, 26 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a big fan of simulation games like Forza and Gran Turismo, I was drawn to the simulation aspect of this game more than anything else. After playing this for about a month, here is a quick review to help prospective buyers.

So is it really worth of the Sim badge?

YES, and by a long way. Although titles such as Forza 3 are mathematically realistic, they fail to captivate you and immerse you in the racing. Also even with all the driver aids off, Forza and GT5 can be almost too easy to use, even in the more powerful models. In terms of user immersion, Shift 2 is like nothing I have ever played. The new helmet cam puts you right in the perspective of a racing driver, and although they can sometimes be a little over the top, the driving physics are a real challenge. With all driver aids off, the player really has to think about how much throttle is being used and real life mistakes can mean accurate real life consequences. Tracks are realistic as well, including the nurburgring, which with a force feedback wheel is a never ending attack of bumps and deformations in the track that throw the car about quite violently at speed, something that real life visitors will know much about.

Graphically the game is superb, the 'dirty' line on the track is littered with stones and rubber, while older tracks sport cracks and fatigue throughout. The cockpits are spot on to the model, including working tach, speedo and boost gauges, and the tyre deformation while driving is realistic as well. Damage on the car, in terms of graphics and the consequences they have on the driving physics are also brilliant and also add to the simulation aspect of the game.

The sounds in the game again, are spot on to the model of car, with even similar models being easily distinguishable (for example different models of the R8 and the Gallardo which in other games have no differences whatsoever). The sounds involved in crashes are very detailed and not repetitive, and each object has a unique scraping or full on crashing soundtrack.

Overall the way this game involves the player is mind blowing, night races in helmet mode, can really get the players heart pumping and go some way to replicating the real thing. The only drawbacks are the up close graphics of the cars, where certain colours can make the cars very unrealistic, and the gloss effect on all finishes can be a little over the top. However, from what i can tell this issue only becomes prominent in the menus and not in actual gameplay. The steering sensitivity can also be a little too much for a controller, meaning a wheel is the logical choice to heighten control of the cars.

For maximum involvement, get a force feedback wheel, preferably the Xbox wireless one if you can find somebody selling one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it really is this bad., 25 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I originally bought this game for the PC. Unfortunately the input lag on the steering was horrendous. Not to be put off I decided to try it on my xbox 360. I really wanted to love this game. It appealed to me in spades. Boy, was I dissapointed. I can live with the silly fat yank and his cheesey surf-dude comments, I'm not particularly bothered by the slightly sub standard graphics and shonky sound. But what I can't forgive is the handling. Oh. My. God. It is shocking. The horrendous lag of the PC version is gone, and has been replaced by driving physics designed by gang of drugged monkeys. The opening races find you in a Nissan GTR, which according to the silly fat yank 'has some serious parts on it dude'. What he forgets to mention is that these parts include the suspension from a bin lorry, the brakes from a Morris Minor, and the steering rack from Fred Flintstone's family car. Moving onto the career races I find myself sat behind the wheel of a Renault Megane RS, widely regarded to be one of the best handling fwd's out there. Unfortunately no one told the developers of this pile of tosh. And so it continues in much the same vein. I've given up now and accepted that this game is indeed trash. Spend your money on Forza 3/4, Dirt 2/3 etc. Avoid this game like the plague. EA should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 1 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a complete failure. The driving is absolutely horrible. The cars understeer and oversteer all over the place. They seem to rotate on the screen in front of you like a corkscrew. The steering feels like a switch, completely unresponsive to small movements and then suddenly going mental. The cars feel heavy and weird. I've played dozens of racing games on consoles and this has by far the strangest handling. It would be a lot easier to play if it was a simulation or a proper arcade style game. I'm not sure which they were aiming for but they've missed both. The last three games I played before this were Driver San Francisco, LA Noire and Halo ODST. I think all of these games have superior vehicle simulation and yet not one of them is a racing game! I was actually quite disappointed with the driving in LA Noire, but it's a lot better than Shift!)

In summary, this is the worst racing game I have ever played and I will be trading it in as soon as possible.

A message to EA: If this is the best you can do then you don't deserve the exclusive licence on Porsches in video games. Go and tell Porsche you're hopeless and let a proper racing game company have access to them instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Reviews??? WHY?? Best NFS Game in the Franchise, 18 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I can't understand why this game is so poor in people's views. This is as close as you will get to real car racing at the moment without it feeling overly simulated e.g Hot Pursuit or too technical to be fun (GT 5). It blends both real simulation with arcade racing getting a feel of a game somewhere in the middle of Forza 3 and Blur. In my view Hot Pursuit was amazingly bad, I could just hold down accelerate and not even have to steer, the game felt like it was not actually the user playing it. So I went back to original Shift and I then realised how much better shift really was. So now with Shift 2 Unleashed it has brought out a more polished, and better game than before with improved controlls, viewing angle's, onilne, singleplayer, graphics and autolog (the only good part about Hot Pursuit). So if you have an Xbox or PS3 I would very much consider this amoung the top racing games avaliablle at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360)
Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
14.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews