Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but entertaining
A rambling series of episodes rather than a continuous story but I loved it. The characters are well formed and very funny and the entertainment comes from following their stories. I like the episodic nature of it and it lends itself well to bedtime reading when your likely to only read short bits. Reminds me of the humor of Douglas Adams or David Luddington with the...
Published 21 months ago by Terri Wiseman

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars darkly funny intro to a space opera series
Science fiction with an absurdist slant.

A 20 mile across asteroid with a collapsium core.
Home to a failed colony of religious emigres, a mad hermit the devil and a few goats.

The book starts with the early chapters each reading as a short story - each with its own absurd set up and conclusion. the early chapters are a joy and it reads more as...
Published on 17 Feb. 2012 by D. J. Ketchin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Would be better if it was 3rd of the length, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
Well firstly this is written in a very readable style so it's very easy to turn the pages.

The minus for me is that it's just way way too long. I only managed to get half way through when I just got totally bored with it. I've no idea how it turned out and honestly I'm not bothered.

I guess the problem for me is that this isn't one long "thought-out" story with a building plot line, but just a collection of very short stories which are unrelated, other than they all take place on the same planet and have the same characters in.

I found this a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Neither science fiction nor comedy, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
This was priced at £0 - exactly what it's worth. It is disjointed and episodic, which would be OK if it were true to its title. It is written without the usual bad Kindle book spelling and grammar errors, but that's about all I could say about to good in it. Occasionally the writer does trot out some reasonable prose, but this is bundled up into cheap jibes at Christian belief and a cynical view of humanity in general. The science is no better: sulphur dioxide does not smell of rotten eggs Mr Green, that's hydrogen sulphide - or is that part of your 'satire'? A book going nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Sci-Fi, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Smallworld it's got lots of interesting ideas and doesn't take itself too seriously.

However it is a little complex with what seems like a lot of characters and the author doesn't always hold the readers hand through it very well. I think this is why some other reviewers talk about this being a collection of short stories. It isn't, but it does skip about disconcertingly in places.

Best of all it was free on Kindle, going to go out and pay a princly £1.92 for the sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes the best things really are free, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
Looking for stuff to fill up my new Kindle with this book was recommended by Amazon when I bought something else and I am really glad I gave it a go. This is very funny but in a slightly surreal way that reminds be of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett, especially in the way it reflects the life we know but in a sort of distorted way seen through the eyes of the inhabitants of their asteroid. The story builds slowly, which is nice as it gives it chance to grow properly rather than explosions or galactic warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oddly entertaining., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
A religious family live on a planet that is so small that looking at its horizon makes you dizzy. They share the planet with all manner of weird creatures including a devil-like machine which protects children from danger. Throughout the book, the family are met with increasingly weird visitors to their planet from intergalactic tax inspectors to deranged criminals. Despite all this, or perhaps because of it, it's a light-hearted but entertaining read - one that doesn't need too much brain power to absorb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could Do Better, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
Is this one of a series? If not the ending did not make sense. I'm glad I only downloaded it for free instead of paying for it. I knew it was a comedy sci-fi book which I presume was written by an American judging by the spelling? Why can't they be adapted for the UK market especially as bought from amazon.co.uk. Douglas Adams (British) did so much better with "Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy" and his sequel books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When the rubber hits the road..., 7 Feb. 2014
By 
DR (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
At first I enjoyed this book - but less and less the more I read. The main problem is that the author's ideas and imagination, which are first rate, are more advanced than his writing ability. It's hard to keep track of which character is which and even the plot skids into oblivion occasionally - so in "car terms" the engine is splendid... but the vehicle doesn't deliver...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surreal comedy science fiction, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
Original and very well written! If one could imagine Neil Gaiman's version of the hitchiker' s guide to the galaxy, it would I sure have something in common with this story. It's funny not in the big haha sense, but rather in the guilty snickering from the bench right at the back of church sense. Look forward to the next book, even if the story gets darker, as I suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars While it is a small world isn't it?, 24 April 2014
By 
Johnhturner (Sotfold, Hitchin, Herts. SG5 4QE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
The cartoon of a book, my mental images of the protagonists characters and other members of the cast came up in my mind as cartoon characters. I don't know why, and that hasn't happened before it could be the mixture of science fiction and humour which pushed me mentally to wards the anime like characters..
A good tale if you are in the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not so small world, 9 July 2012
By 
R. S. Loch "rsloch" (the wilds of Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallworld: A Science Fiction Adventure Comedy: Space Opera on Mount Ararat (Kindle Edition)
Smallworld consists of a series of episodic stories about Mount Ararat an unlikely world populated by farmers with Puritan names, a penal colony, a robotic devil, a mad hermit with a past, and the staff and customers of a health spa. The book is enjoyable, and well written inhabiting the right side of oddity to amuse rather than annoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews