Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything it sets out to do
I've read many negative reviews from people complaining that this book doesn't teach you how to construct watch parts, well the problem with this is that this book is aimed at the total novice and the construction of movement components is a very advanced subject for the seasoned watch repairer, not to mention a costly hobby. What this book sets out to do is guide you...
Published on 19 Nov. 2012 by Mr. S. J. Clark

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars watch CONSTRUCTING maybe, not MAKING
Its even more basic than I had imagined, although it DID give me the confidence to dismantle my watch and replace the movement...its main value is in giving you links to sites that sell watch parts. Mr Swike, what would be even more helpful would be more information of how to pair movements with dials and cases. Because, after trawling the internet for several hours to...
Published 11 days ago by Mr. J. Speak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything it sets out to do, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read many negative reviews from people complaining that this book doesn't teach you how to construct watch parts, well the problem with this is that this book is aimed at the total novice and the construction of movement components is a very advanced subject for the seasoned watch repairer, not to mention a costly hobby. What this book sets out to do is guide you through your first steps into modifying and custom building your first watches using off the shelf parts, and it does this very well indeed. It's not confusingly technical and it's never boring, unlike many other books this one is packed with large images making everything simple to follow. Personally as someone who has been repairing watches for a long time I didn't learn a great deal as far as technical skills, what I did get though was the drive to built my own watch from scratch, and where this book has been very valuable to me is in the links it's provides to parts suppliers. I knew where to get hold of generic parts such as crystals, movements and replacement hands but had no idea where to get custom dials and cases etc... Also when you get this book your provided with a link to the author's website where you can download updates and any new guides that the author has written.
All in all I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good value, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a perfect present for someone who is into watches
and also who has taken their watch apart and can not remember to place back together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tic toc, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book with lots of photos and text that the lay man can follow i will study it over whats left of the dark nights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a beginner like me, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found it a very useful introduction and guide.
The section on how to actually take a watch apart and put it back together starts about 2/3rds the way through.
However all the information and images prior to this enabled me to understand the history and various aspects of watches.
I also found the various links very useful.
I am now starting to repair my first watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for absolute beginners with an avid curiosity!!!, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner Watchmaking: How to Build Your Very First Watch (Kindle Edition)
Great book for many reasons.

Very easy to read and not overly complicated writing style.

Step by step simple walk through of what things are and chronological order of assembly or inspection.

Offers viable and cheap places to buy all parts and tools described as you go along so you can keep your inventory up to date with the text.

The photos that go with each stage are in great definition and are perfect for what is being described.

Lastly the book doesn't run before it walks. It takes things at he exact appropriate pace to a beginners level.

All I would say is to have a cheap watch handy whilst you read so you can follow along in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars watch CONSTRUCTING maybe, not MAKING, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner Watchmaking: How to Build Your Very First Watch (Kindle Edition)
Its even more basic than I had imagined, although it DID give me the confidence to dismantle my watch and replace the movement...its main value is in giving you links to sites that sell watch parts. Mr Swike, what would be even more helpful would be more information of how to pair movements with dials and cases. Because, after trawling the internet for several hours to find (what must be simple) info on how to choose movements for different case dimensions and then find dials.. . . . . I gave up. maybe Im just lazy. but something tells me its more about an industry protecting its own interests...some insight into this would have been even more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really useful book, lots of images to help you pick up the basics. Websites to purchase parts are really helpful and not expensive. Would recommend to anyone interested in horology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A basic introduction to watch building., 14 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Miller "davemiller72" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the plus side, it's a quick read (took me about an hour) and it has some useful information for those with no background in what makes watches work. Also, it gives you access to a website full of updated information and a colour PDF version of the book, which is highly commendable.

On the down side: it's not very well written; it starts talking about watch parts well before explaining what they are and the photography is very poor in places.

The title is also a little misleading. If you are expecting a book that will explain how to make a watch from scratch, tiny cogs and all, then this is not the book for you. If, however, you fancy changing the dial, hands or glass on a pre-bought watch, then this book will be useful.

If you get the print version, it is in black and white and the paper quality is pretty awful - after reading it for half an hour, the front cover remained curled almost to the vertical.

Overall? Probably just about worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the first time builder, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've never had a watch in peaces in you're hands, and want to build one, then this is a place to start. Using a lot of pictures you see the parts of a watch and get good tips on how to build one.
But it seems to me this is written by an American, because in the end you get a cheap watch, not a watch most people in Europe would want.
For a simular book I have found on ebay (search watch casing tutorial) which gives more information on how to build a luxury watch and have it look nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pictures and a great price. Step by step guides on how to ..., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of pictures and a great price. Step by step guides on how to build a watch, where to get the gear and pointing you in the directions you need to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews