Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, easy and delicious Christmas Food
This newest book in Good Food Magazine's '101' series has plenty of dishes for over the Christmas season. Recipes include edible gifts such as truffles, Christmas cakes and other bakes, party drinks and nibbles, chutneys and dressings, starters, the main Christmas feast, all types of vegetable accompaniment and of course, sweets and desserts.

The recipes are...
Published on 13 Oct 2007 by josie82

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unexciting
I love Good Food as a brand and was hoping for a really exciting book. The recipes were unexciting in the main and would only suggest you buy this if you don't own any other Christmas cookery books.
Published 19 months ago by Emma HJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, easy and delicious Christmas Food, 13 Oct 2007
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This newest book in Good Food Magazine's '101' series has plenty of dishes for over the Christmas season. Recipes include edible gifts such as truffles, Christmas cakes and other bakes, party drinks and nibbles, chutneys and dressings, starters, the main Christmas feast, all types of vegetable accompaniment and of course, sweets and desserts.

The recipes are varied but most are simple and quick and could be made by a novice cook, an expert cook and everyone in between. There are even recipes that you could make with the kids.

There are a few vegetarian options for the main Christmas meal although maybe not as many to provide a huge choice if you don't eat the traditional turkey. For meat eaters - there are choices for turkey, chicken, beef, ham and much more. And there are plenty of choices of desserts, nibbles, starters and everything else.

Each recipe is accompanied by its own picture which I always think is essential for any good cookbook and makes your mouth water before you've even started cooking!

If you're looking for a simple, cheap cookbook with quick, easy meals for Christmas then you really can't go wrong with this one. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great 101 Recipes book..., 6 Dec 2009
By 
WindsorMummy (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of plenty of ideas to suit those entertaining, those having a small Christmas, vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Good twists on old classics as well as things I'd never have thought of including on the Christmas dinner table. Great value for money and definitely worth having in your festive cookbook collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy Book, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This books has lots of good recipes and the ingredients are easy to get. It has good ideas for festive snacks such as mini-chilli beef pies, turkey recipes and desserts like sweet-wine jelly and Tia Maria cheesecake. Worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Easy, Clear, Varied, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Sean Cawood (Rock of Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The missus likes it, it's concise & straight to the point with an accompanying photo. I did not realise it was such a dinky little book, 135mm (5''ish) wide by 155mm (6''ish) tall - forget writing the ingredient list, just pop the book in your pocket & off you go to the shops... plenty of variety - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of different foods for Christmas, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. C. Franks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most people must get fed up with same old traditional christmas food, this book has lots of easy to prepare meals and desserts which are very christmassy but a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different recipes, 19 Jan 2008
By 
P. K. Allan "kay" (northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i tried the mincepies which were a great new taste with the marzipan in, I also copied the christmas cake with the stockings around - again a grea idea. Also did the shortbread recipe but decorated them in my own way but also lovely. Oh and I did the Christmas pudding recipe with the grated butter!! yes quite tricky but well worth it best pudding I've ever had and even when I made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unexciting, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Good Food as a brand and was hoping for a really exciting book. The recipes were unexciting in the main and would only suggest you buy this if you don't own any other Christmas cookery books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipe ideas for the whole year, not just christmas, 29 Jan 2011
By 
I have several books from this series and, as someone who is not very confident in the kitchen, these are a fantastic range as the recipes are very easy to follow and results in some tasty meals. This book contains a good range of recipes including sauces, starters, canapes, mains, desserts and cocktails, many of which could easily be made all year around. As an ex-veggie it's nice to see some good vegetarian options that aren't glorified side dishes. Recommended for those who like an easy recipe to follow or those looking for some new ideas for their holiday menus. The pickled pears are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a total disappointment, 18 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice neat little book, with some rather traditional SAFE recipes. But also it contains some interesting new recipes.
Would not say it was the best book I have looked at for inspiration, but great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great recipes, but quite a lot of repetition, 9 Jan 2011
By 
M. Dean (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I based my whole Christmas in 2010 around making recipes from this little book. I particularly liked the Christmas Pie, but made my own pastry rather than buy ready rolled, which I don't think works so well. The cranberry sauce recipe is delicious and so easy I will never buy a shop bought jar again. There are definitely recipes in this book which will be made every year. The roast potatoes came out a treat by following this simple recipe and we all loved the mini chilli beef pies. My only criticism is that the book aims to give you options on a particular recipe. So, for instance there are 7 "recipes" which give you different options on how to decorate a basic christmas cake. There are 3 different types of mince pies, 3 different variations on mulled wine and 4 different ways of cooking the turkey. Although all the recipes are great, I would have been happier with one of each and a broader range of recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews