Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars5
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Kindle Edition|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2015
Stories are really great but please for the love of humainty find them in a different book. This is possibly one of the worst examples of book design I have ever seen, it looks as though the entire text was simply pasted in from another document; footnotes hang around in the middle of pages; story chapters and new stories are not clearly defined and either run in to eachother or produce confusing blank space; the book is oversized and difficult to hold and whoever made the index seems to have a fascination with underlining. If you the publisher are reading this for goodness sake please hire someone with a modicum of visual sense, or just remember how a normal book is laid out and follow that. An insult to great writing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
This book is a collection of short stories written by the eminent Japanese author, Ryunosuke Akutagawa (1892-1927). These six stories tend to revolve around moral ambiguities. 1) In A Grove is the story of a murder, whose witnesses all tell different, often mutually exclusive stories. 2) Rashomon is the story of a discharged servant who must choose between death and a life of crime and dishonor. 3) Yam Gruel tells the story of Goi, a samurai whose life falls to pieces as he dreams of the rare delicacy yam gruel, and who finds that having is not always as wonderful as wanting. 4) The Martyr reaches back to the 16th Century, to tell the story of a model Christian young man, who is excommunicated when he refuses to recognize a child attributed to him, but the truth he hides is not what everyone thinks. 5) Kesa And Morito is a tale of lust and betrayal. 6) The Dragon is the story of Hanazo, or priest who sets out to play a joke, but learns the power of belief.
These stories are quite varied from each other, and all are excellently written. In A Grove is confusing (as is life), while Rashomon is somewhat depressing, and The Martyr is uplifting. But, all the stories are excellently written, and quite interesting. I highly recommend this book.
To demonstrate the excellence of these stories, let me submit to you the following line from The Martyr: "For the sublimity of life culminates in the most precious moment of inspiration. Man will make his life worth living, if he tosses a wave aloft high into the starry sky, o'er life's dark main of worldly cares, to mirror in its crystal foam the light of the moon yet to rise."
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
short stories with many hidden meanings that can change depending on how you are feeling at the time. intriguing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
These story's may be ancient but their classics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
v good,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.