Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!
This is by far the best book about Liverpool FC that I have ever read. Brian Reade's passion (no, make that obsession) is matched only by his economical, yet extremely powerful way with words. It is frequently 'laugh-out-loud', but is also heartbreaking to the point of actual tears (with good reason too)... If you support Liverpool therefore, or even if you don't, I can't...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Mr. R. T. Williamson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
This is a good read, but only if you have been a Liverpool supporter for many years.
Some of the stories are a little flambouyant, but I can recall a lot of the others.
My recollections are slightly different as I have been a follower for over 55 years so my memories are a little more,shall we say balanced.
Never the less, having had the fortune to have to...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by J. J. Flynn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 4 July 2009
This is by far the best book about Liverpool FC that I have ever read. Brian Reade's passion (no, make that obsession) is matched only by his economical, yet extremely powerful way with words. It is frequently 'laugh-out-loud', but is also heartbreaking to the point of actual tears (with good reason too)... If you support Liverpool therefore, or even if you don't, I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate fans' book, 24 Jun 2009
By 
J. Refson (Watford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other reviewer, Brian Reade writes a compelling book with the rollercoaster of emotions that following Liverpool over decades bring with it. He doesn't shy away from unpleasant truths (blame over Heysel) and neither is he willing to lay down and accept anything less than the real truth over Hillsborough.
This book will make you laugh and it will make you cry. More than anything it will make you proud to be a Scouser. Our inability to be prodded, poked or pigeon-holed and our ability to always see the bright side and the black humour in some awful situations.
Congratulations to Reade on writing a football book which is nothing like some of the saccharine sweet sycophantic scribblings of some of his journalistic contemporaries.
Highly recommended to any football fan or student of late 20th Century social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every fan should read it, 28 Feb 2010
By 
S. Roche (Waterford, Waterford Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This indeed is a must read for ANY fan of the beautiful game. It tells it from the fans side. The passion, the pride, the misery the pain. It also shows the greed involved, lack of tickets for the real fans, lack of planning, lack of respect for the fans.
But most of all the passion of one man's love with his club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 44 years with the same book, 30 April 2010
By 
K. O'Neill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an amazing read!! If you are a Liverpool fan then this is a must read book.
It is full of all those nights we all remember along with that scouse humour that will make you laugh from the bottom of your belly!
Snap it up Redmen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable, 31 Oct 2009
By 
I read this book from cover to cover in one day and I'm guessing a lot of readers do that. If you're a red you will really enjoy this. Stick it on your Christmas list..............or just buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Reade!, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Matt the moaner (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
I will keep this brief. An awesome read, that will have you laughing out loud and shedding a tear. Brilliantly written, a must for everybody, especially Liverpool fans. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool love!, 10 Jun 2009
By 
I really enjoyed this book. I have read it twice already. Brian Reade is so good at conveying his passion for LFC he could even turn a bluenose red! He takes you through his journey as a Liverpudlian from childhood to present, following the Redmens highs and lows. If you love football and Liverpool you will love this book. It is both heartbreakingly sad (Hillsborough), uplifting(Istanbul) and funny. I cannot recommend it strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seen and done it all., 22 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Spender "rob49972" (Staffordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thoroughly enjoyable book by someone who has seen and done it all. From Anfield, Wembley and Cardiff glories, the tragedies and heartbreaks of Hysel and Hillsborough through to the miracle of Istanbul. A rollercoaster of life supporting Liverpool football club. I found 2 negative issues worth commenting on. His theory that loveable rogue type fans nicking the latest designer gear whilst on European away games was acceptable and his slaughtering of Souness never mentions him giving Robbie Fowler his debut. Apart from that brilliant, a couldn't put it down book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, hilarious, harrowing, 26 Feb 2010
By 
It's got the lot.
If you're a fan of football - it doesn't get any more passionate than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOOAAAL!!!!, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 44 Years With The Same Bird: A Liverpudlian Love Affair (Kindle Edition)
As a Liverpool fan, this book probably has more appeal than it would to a Man Utd, Chelsea or Everton fan, but that should not disuade you from picking this up. If you put yourself in Reade's place it won't matter what club you follow and if you do follow Liverpool then why have you not read this book already?
An excellent book and an engaging history of one man's love of a footballing giant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews