Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic song to enjoy with your kids
My Mum bought this for me when I was little and I loved the song. I forgot all about it until recently when I bought a Pete Seeger CD - 'Birds, Beasts, Bugs and Fishes (Little and Big)' - and it has this slightly dark but funny song on it. So I searched on Amazon and found the book I had when I was little. It's got holes in it so you can peek into the old lady's tummy...
Published on 14 Mar 2003

versus
68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Small!!
I remember this book from my childhood and have seen it in shops, so i thought i would buy it for my little boy. When it arrived i was disappointed because it is so small. I was expecting a big A4 size book but it is only marginally bigger than a Cd case...........i guess you would call it pocket sized!
The story is as fabulous as ever, but because it is small the...
Published on 26 Jan 2005 by Cathy Sweeting


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never be bored, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Both mums and kids can have a fab time when reading this book, i found tickeling the kids when telling them about the spider adds fun to it.
Both my 1 and 3 yr old love this book and want it read to them over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic with good reason, 11 April 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The majority of people know probably know this rhyme but having this book as a prompt is fun. The pictures are lovely and bold, and it is great to see the illustrations as I remember them from my own childhood - the way each animal is fitted into the previous one is a masterstroke. Plus with this edition there's the added bonus of being in a good sturdy format. This book has stood the test of time with good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was an old lady who swallowed a fly, 16 July 2006
By 
Mrs. F. Hall (Kent. Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brought back happy memories of my father singing me this as a child and I now take great delight in singing along with my little boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 2 Sep 2004
By A Customer
I always loved this song and could never remember which order the animals came in - my children love this book and I love singing it to them, it's very cleverly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book as a child!, 12 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I remeber every word of this book from when I was a child. I decided to buy it for my son. Any book in my view, that can span two and a half decades and still be remembered is definetly worth buying! The holes cut into the pages are excellent for keeping your childs interest in the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic, 2 Dec 2011
It's 36 years old, but nobody could predict the sheer prophetic genius it would turn out to be. A huge indictment of our growing obesity crises and our seeming desire to rid the planet of all it's natural food resources. The old lady is a glutton, depressed, lonely and a victim of a society obsessed with instant gratification and rampant individualisation, she seeks solace and comfort in consumption. But where will it end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Valued Classic, 31 Aug 2007
By 
It's lovely to see the book and story just as I remember it from 30 years ago. The repetition is what makes it, especially for children. My 2 year old can't get enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Sep 2007
Found this to be a disappointing version & the one with the cd is a HUGE let down as it's sung sooooo quickly it's impossible to keep up with! Really wanted to use it with my class of 5 year olds.
No worries about the "death" issues - hey, if you eat a whole horse what do you expect?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awful my 'orse!, 24 May 2006
By 
J. Huckerby "LIB" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Try swallowing a horse and see how well you do. Maybe we should censor the death from Shakespeare?

Thankfully this stays true to the original in a pc world which tries to hide the truth. Of course this is a childrens book. And I doubt there was ever a message here other than remembering various creatures and their relative size. But it gives the opportunity to raise the subject of death in a child friendly manner should you so wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor format for this book, buy another format, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember the large old version of this book which i think may still be available. This format does it no justice. Its so small - like a CD case. Yes it has lovely illustrations - very old school but it is let down by the fornat which means you can hardly read it, have to keep scrolling to the back of the book. What a let down, would not reccommend for this reason. A real shame as i had high hopes for it. If they still do the larger book then get that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews