Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern day policing
If you're wondering why the police don't have time to deal with your stolen car or stolen wallet then read this book. By demanding targets and accountability and a paper trail we tie the police up in knots so that they spend too much time covering their backs and filling in forms rather than catching criminals.

Which is better - having the odd thing go wrong...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Trace Too Much
Having read the foreward and noted all 11 reviews to date had awarded a 5 star rating, my expectations were high. The first few chapters started well and I found myself chuckling like the other reviewers. However, the more I got into the book, the more repetitive it became. For sure the levels of bureaucracy, procedural madness and political correctness beggar belief, but...
Published on 29 Dec. 2008 by M. Jones


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
Did not enjoy at all. Really boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
Light hearted and beliveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 5 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
had to delete after two chapters totally boring rubbish please can i have money back i would rather pour down drain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not 999, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
on duty and down to earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the BBC radio 4 now, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. C. E. Tsui (BA History student University of London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book, very good read and now its on BBC radio 4 Drama so don't mist it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
good tale well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Hebden "stuh457" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good worthwile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 5 Jun. 2012
By 
Anthony V (Sidmouth Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm old enough to have read Nicholas Rhea and the Constable series from Which Heartbeat derived.
Those I found funny and had a good story line to them. Come back Greengrass.
This book after a while came to me as just a diary of moans. Even if a high persentage are valid.
Any serving or former police officer however will instantly reconise the perpetual offending all loving husband and wife senario.
Sadly every community has them. This is one part of police life the author gets 101% right.
The boys and girls in blue deserve our respect but also from my point an honest review therefore just 3 stars it is from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars diary of on call girl, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of an On-call Girl: True Stories from the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
quite good lots of eyeopeners regarding police work,got a bit confusing towards the end so much red tape. begun to feel a bit depressed due to government rules and regs.victims lose out perps on to a good thing.too much on human rights not enough justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews