Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant
This is the 8th Novel in the Elvis Cole series of books by Robert Crais and without question his best. I would go further and say that this is one of my favourite books of all time. This book does what many of his previous books hasnt done, by delving deeply into the background of Coles partner, Joe Pike. So the strong silent indistructable image that you have built up of...
Published on 24 July 2006 by Scully Bloke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tale fades away a bit at the end
I have read all the E Cole/Pike stories so this comment is after a second time around.
This is best summed up by others here.
I would only say that after a typical zesty Crais story the ending is a bit weak I feel
Published 10 months ago by Dr. Barrance


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 24 July 2006
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LA Requiem (Hardcover)
This is the 8th Novel in the Elvis Cole series of books by Robert Crais and without question his best. I would go further and say that this is one of my favourite books of all time. This book does what many of his previous books hasnt done, by delving deeply into the background of Coles partner, Joe Pike. So the strong silent indistructable image that you have built up of Pike over the previous 7 novels is broken down to find the reasons for his behaviour. Fantastic.

Then there is the relationship between Cole and his new girlfriend Lucy, and how this relationship developes or collapses under the strain of Coles investigations, and the difficult choices that he has to make.

The plot is first class, a number of murders, a police department that has the wrong leadership, and an ending that rivets you to your seat.

An absolutely enthralling read, made better if you read the previous 7 novels, so that you already know how the people and relationships have evolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requiem for a Dream!, 16 Feb 2006
By 
I will start this review by saying that I feel this is the best Elvis Cole novel I have read yet. The others in the series contained the same gritty nature and great humor but 'L.A. Requiem' brings an added depth to this already excellent collection of novels.
In 'L.A. Requiem' things become more personal for Cole and his quietly deadly partner Pike as they investigate the disappearance and murder of Pike's former girlfriend. What unfolds throughout the book is that not everything is what it seems and the answer to what is occurring in the present may have something to do with what happened in Pike's past.
This novel excellently fleshes out the character of Pike and lets us understand why he is so quiet and thoughtful. Along with this history lesson we get a cracking crime story that rattles along at a good pace. I think reading some of the earlier Cole novels would probably be best before tackling this one as they are a lot lighter and help you understand why this novel is such a great departure.
If you’re a fan of LA crime stories this a must and is one of my top picks from the genre. Sammy Recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cole and Pike do it again!, 8 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This is easily the most complex Cole / Pike storyline so far. Interwoven are Cole's developing relationship with Lucy Chenier and her son, Pike's relationship with the family of the murdered woman, a former lover and his relationship with his former colleagues on the LAPD. Add to this mix some background detail which makes Pike, a hitherto enigmatic character, slightly less enigmatic and top it off with a psychopath who is hell bent on setting Pike up for crimes he did not commit, I'm sure you'll get the picture. I'd recommend that anyone approaching Crais's work does not start with this one, though. Whilst it stands alone as a work of crime fiction, I think that in order to get the most out of this complex and multi-facteted story, a reader needs to get to grips with the dynamic between Cole and Pike and their collective histories, before attempting this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tale fades away a bit at the end, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Requiem (Cole and Pike) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all the E Cole/Pike stories so this comment is after a second time around.
This is best summed up by others here.
I would only say that after a typical zesty Crais story the ending is a bit weak I feel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Heir to Ross MacDonald and Raymond Chandler, 25 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LA Requiem (Hardcover)
L.A. Requiem is one of those rare detective mystery thrillers that transcends the genre into becoming a fine novel. Mr. Crais has taken on one of the most difficult challenges any mystery novelist can in L.A. Requiem and pulled it off extremely well. He has developed a complete, rich characterization for Joe Pike, Elvis Coles's (the self-described "world's greatest detective") detective partner, based on disclosing no contemporary internal thoughts by Pike and almost no dialogue involving Pike. Instead the character is built through a series of flashbacks into the violent, troubled past of Joe Pike that show how his personal values and strength were forged. At the same time, Mr. Crais has built a rousing tale with lots of action, conflict, a love story, and a particularly dense mystery that is unveiled through intricate development of police procedures. The book's only drawback is that it draws upon an excess of depravity, violence and gore, putting the book squarely also in the same category as the most noir of the Raymond Chandler works. If you miss this book, you cannot consider yourself to be a serious fan of top mystery writing in the classic style of the tough guy, but honest, P.I.
The flashbacks are connected to Pike's troubled relationship with his former police partner. From those same days, a former girl friend mysteriously disappears and is eventually found murdered. Her father asks Joe to help find the killer, and Elvis joins in as well. This is a bad time for Elvis because Lucy Chenier has just moved from Baton Rouge to Los Angeles with her son to be closer to Elvis. Soon the investigation puts their relationship on an awkward footing. At the same time, the police seem to be stonewalling. What could be their motive?
Before long, great danger is revealed that connects back to the past in unexpected ways. Finding the killer and keeping loved ones safe turns out to be an almost impossible challenge. You'll be rooting for Elvis and Joe, and feeling your heart pound as the tension builds . . . and builds . . . and builds. I recommend that you start the book early in the day, because you will probably not be able to put it down.
The book is also noteworthy for providing great character development of two members of the police.
The plot is particularly rewarding for its ability to test major characters to explain who they are and what they stand for in ways that no amount of dialogue could ever do.
After you finish this book, I suggest that you ask yourself what principles you stand for that you would back to the death. Hopefully, you will never be tested in that way, but this book will undoubtedly raise that issue in your own mind.
Do the right thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard boiled detective novel, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: L. A. Requiem (Paperback)
Having read the great reviews I was a little disappointed with this. It is a hard boiled detective crime thriller. The plot was interesting and the writing style was unusual and intriguing. Parts in first person and parts in third person. It was fast paced and the plot just about kept me turning the pages.
But, I found the characters too be so cliché. The strong but silent Joe, with his abusive father, alcoholic mother and time in Vietnam and ever loyal Elvis destined to put his friend's needs above his girl friend's needs. I always find it annoying these hard silent misunderstood men can be shot at short range but struggle on without medical treatment as if they're super human and their violence can be over looked because they're following their own brand of justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly written twaddle, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Requiem (Cole and Pike) (Kindle Edition)
First and last time I pick up one of these books. Needed something between Reachers to tide me over. This ain't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Require (Elvis Cole Novels), 1 Mar 2013
By 
Andrew L. Troman "Antman" (Wrexham, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliantly written novel, loved it. Well written, excellent plot, good strong characters. Will read them all in due time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the three best thrillers I've ever read., 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: L. A. Requiem (Paperback)
For me this is the best in the Cole and Pike series, which considering the excellence of the others is saying something.

In my view one of the best thrillers ever written.

Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 6 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Without wishing to offend either author, LA Requiem reminded a lot of Michael Connelly's LA stories, especially those concerning Harry Bosch. The writing style, setting and focus seemed very similar to me - LA, Robbery-Homicide, serial killer, investigators who are Vietnam vets. This is no bad thing as I think both are very fine writers, rather just an observation. LA Requiem rattles along at quick, steady pace. Crais writes with an assured hand. The story is well crafted, with a nice layering of various subplots and back story that add to the overall narrative rather than detracting from it. Crais paints a good sense of place, the characters are well penned, and the story builds to a nice climax. There were a few elements that unsettled me a little, however. Maybe it's because I don't live in the US, but I had a hard time believing that two private investigators could get any meaningful access to a serial killer investigation, especially not through a councilman (perhaps maybe something more significant like a governor I could have gone along with). The Samantha Dolan character didn't quite seem to ring true, especially in her quest for Cole. And regardless of any material evidence relating to Pike, the fact that he escaped from incarceration would have legal consequences. Despite the niggling doubts about credibility, LA Requiem is an enjoyable read and I'll be looking out for other Elvis Cole books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b16150)

This product

L.A. Requiem (Cole and Pike)
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews