Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to install from the disc - NOT STEAM DOWNLOAD!
Hi, I bought this game and it arrived on time nicely. When you try and install it Steam registers the game then attempts to install 16GB worth of data (YES 16GB DOWLOAD!). I have a 10GB limit per month on my downloads so this was not good. Also if I have 3 physical DVDs why is it downloading?? Crazy!

Anyway this solution worked for me and several other...
Published on 15 Mar. 2011 by David Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition
Didn't get much extra with the Limited edition and was still forced to pay for DLC. Not the worst game they've ever made but certainly not the best. I don't play this any more, I'll leave that to Volound. At least it's not Rome 2...
Published 7 months ago by C. J. Little


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to install from the disc - NOT STEAM DOWNLOAD!, 15 Mar. 2011
By 
David Wilson "Dave W" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
Hi, I bought this game and it arrived on time nicely. When you try and install it Steam registers the game then attempts to install 16GB worth of data (YES 16GB DOWLOAD!). I have a 10GB limit per month on my downloads so this was not good. Also if I have 3 physical DVDs why is it downloading?? Crazy!

Anyway this solution worked for me and several other according to the forums (gamefaqs.com forum).
1. Stick in the first DVD
2. Register with Steam ==> it will start downloading the 16GB files automatically.
3. Delete the local content from Steam (right click in games list then delete local content)
4. Close Steam (right click on the icon in your task bar and close it completely). Closing it down fully seems to be critical it only worked on my 3rd attempt after closing down Steam properly.
5. Eject the first DVD and stick it back in the DVD drive
6. It will now install from the DVDs

This allowed me to install from the DVDs which is a lot quicker than the 16,000MB download!

Hope this helps.
Cheers,
Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
C. J. Little "Calum Little" (Ayr, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
Didn't get much extra with the Limited edition and was still forced to pay for DLC. Not the worst game they've ever made but certainly not the best. I don't play this any more, I'll leave that to Volound. At least it's not Rome 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KAN-ZEN, 15 Mar. 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
About a decade ago Shogun: Total War was the masterpiece that launched one of the best Strategy simulation franchises in gaming history. It was a perfectly balanced game that combined turn-based strategic decisions with real time battles in a beautiful interface made in the style of medieval Japanese artworks.
The game was based on the teachings of Sun Tzu, the Chinese strategist, who believed in the indirect approach: search for comparative advantages, use your forces with economy, surprise and deceive, and only fight limited wars. The medieval Japanese setting (relatively small armies made up from a limited number of distinct units fighting on different terrains), served as the perfect substrate to implement these strategies.
I have played every single Total War game since and they were all a joy to experience - yet nothing surpassed to the first Shogun. Until now.

KNOW THY SELF, KNOW THY ENEMY. A THOUSAND BATTLES, A THOUSAND VICTORIES (Sun Tzu)
The gameplay has matured, deepened and acquired a number of new features, including some RPG additions. We now have Mastery of Arts, a tech tree branching into Bushido (warfare) and Chi (governance & finances). There are now hero units, inspiring the troops, going after the enemy general or turning the battle at that crucial point.
Generals are upgradable and modifiable, increasing their effectiveness and making them indispensable. The honorable death of a seasoned general will affect many aspects of your overall strategy and may prove the decisive point of the entire campaign. Which is why subterfuge is so important.
There may be no honor in using Ninjas - but now they can assassinate the enemy general or soften up the enemy defenses by sabotaging their production or the integrity of their defensive structures. And because the Ninja knife cuts both ways, make sure to have enough Metsuke units to sniff out the ninjas send by the enemy.
Children serve as hostages to ensure cooperation whereas marriages are arranged to strengthen alliances. And since no army fights on an empty belly, one should make sure to set up complex trade agreements. Ones that will hold through the treacheries of war. Because sooner than later, your task will graduate from impossible to you-gotta-be-kidding-me.

INVINCIBILITY LIES IN THE DEFENSE; THE POSSIBILITY OF VICTORY IN THE ATTACK (Sun Tzu)
The AI will make your life miserable. Enemy units will try to flank you from every possible direction and they will try to make use of your troops movement in order to achieve this. And then, just when you think you are winning, every single clan and province turns against you...
It is possible to let the AI auto-resolve all battles and play the game as a highly sophisticated turn-based Civilization game - but why miss all the fun?
Unlike the first game, SHOGUN 2 also has sea vessels and battles. While in a sea battle, you either board and take over or burn the enemy vessels. However, the real strategic consideration is this: when attacking a neighboring province, did you leave adequate defenses to prevent, say, the sacking of your own castle? Because the AI does not forgive such oversights.

OPPORTUNITIES MULTIPLY AS THEY ARE SEIZED (Sun Tzu)
The graphics and sounds of Shogun 2 are something one has to experience to believe. Even on DirectX 9 (WinXP - which is the OS I am experiencing this on), the strategic map feels like flying over the real Sengoku period Japan whereas the game design goes into unbelievable details. Every ribbon on a set of armor, every blade of grass, every ray of light reflected on raised katanas or refracted through the clouds are just gorgeous.
The game absorbs you into its world and never let's go. In one word: Kan-Zen (Perfection).

HE WHO KNOWS WHEN HE CAN FIGHT AND WHEN HE CANNOT, WILL BE VICTORIOUS (Sun Tzu)
I usually deduct a full star from the final rating of any game that comes with any form of DRM that requires online activation or ties your game with digital shackles. Because even the retail version of SHOGUN 2 comes with mandatory STEAM, I did exactly that. However, because I rated the game well...above 5-stars, this could not become apparent and the game still rates a perfect score.
Yes, STEAM is the pheasant festering on the porch someone has to do something about. However, SHOGUN 2 is one of those extremely rare games that are worth their DRM hassle. If STEAM is still a deal-breaker for you, well, now you can make an informed decision either way.

SHOGUN 2 truly embodies The Art of War - and it will stay with you for a very long time.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

------------------------------------------------------------
Kokoro yori okuyami moushiagemasu.
On a more sober note, I want to send my deepest sympathies to anyone in Japan hit by the latest earthquake and ensuing tsunami. Courage and endurance have always been characteristics of the Japanese psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 11 years to build anticipation. 11 wasted years it seems, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
Right before I review the game I'd just like to point out I love total war games and I really wish I could give this game 5 stars but I think it only fair to other Total War fanatics to appreciate that this isn't as good as expected.

I won't go into the installion proceedure as many have already complained but will evaluate the game directly.

PROS:

-If your a fan of the whole RPG system then you might like the idea that you get to choose how your general (after earning a battle command star) should develop. I personally liked Medieval Total War 2 on its randomness of personality as it made it feel as if the general was a person and not a robot.

-The game keeps its authenticity just like the first Shogun-with its music and dialogue and Japanese paintings,it truly captures a feeling of Japan in the Sengoku Jidai

-I hear complaints about the graphics but I think they're fantastic,in addition, individual soldiers feel like individual soldiers rather than a unit block. What I mean is that when 2 unit block enter combat it truly feels as if each soldier is fighting for himself rather than fighting as part of a robotic unit block.

-The infamous ninja cut scenes are back and still fantastic. I really enjoy watching them and can see a lot of thought has been put into them, some even are like the original!

-3D rotation, its pretty cool but I wouldn't buy a game solely for that reason

-If your a fan of multiplayer than there is a lot to be done, including creating your own avatar, I, however, am discouraged by it and will go into that later.
There are more pros ofcourse but will quickly skip on to the key cons

CONS:
-First of, I was dissappointed with the size of the map, I know Japan is small and expected a small map but I thought "Creative Assembly" might perhaps let the gamer control the little towns in the region ASWELL as the major city, I think that is a reasonable demand and yet not shown in the game.

-I'm not a fan of the idea that before building some buildings "Arts" must be perfected. Don't get me wrong Samurai arts and beliefs, such as the Bushido code, would be a nice feature to perfect but the need to perfect arts before a building can be built just delays the game, as I assume was intended.

-Having waited so long I guess I was dissapointed with the end result, it feels as if fewer generals are able to be controlled, the map is nicely designed but having created previous masterpieces this is a bit of a shocking map (just look at the detail on Medieval total war 2).

-The issue I have with online is that when you click some buttons if you decide that you no longer want to continue with what you have just clicked there is no "back" button, the only way out is if you continue with what you have clicked or if you exit the game completely-as you can imagine I didn't like that one bit.

I don't want to put you of the game and I think it still is worth buying, especially if you already like Total War games or are interested in Japanese history or perhaps if you like battling online against others. And to be honest I've only played for 18 hours but 18 hours is a long time and normally I am eager to continue playing, with this game I am not too bothered.

I hope the price is reduced to £20, (the extra content is only useful really online, apart from the extra clan to play as) that is a very fair price I think for this game. Sorry Total War, you've disheartened a Die-Hard fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God!, 22 April 2011
By 
Robert Payne "Bulldog" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
After the last two instalments of the total war franchise I was more than a little apprehensive about Shogun 2 but I decided to take the plunge and buy the game anyhow. I am so glad that I did. Not only is this better than Empire and Napoleon it is in contention of knocking Rome from its pedestal as my favourite game of all time. A must buy for any strategy gamer or Total War fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new..... but disappointment!, 22 Mar. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
Were to start... before i get started i have played every TW game apart from the original shogun and am a avid TW fan.

I will begin with the pros before anyone accuses me of just writing to bash the game.
As expected the game looks beautiful and the designers are making much better attempts to make the maps with features that are useable so help so it starts to make more sense to defend numerous parts of a battlefield and split your forces accordingly.

The problem is this is were the pros stop.

The map is far to small and on most occasions an army is in range of the enemys castle so 80% of the time you fight sieges.

For those that thought naval warfare in Empire and Napoleon was a beautiful but muddled mess of hard to control ships and once the fleets had meet, it was almost impossable to do a great deal but leave them to it, will be no happier with this as i believe they managed to get worse to the point were navel warfare just isnt fun and i tended to just auto-resolve in the end as it became a farce.

The technology tree, split between military and civil massively slows down the time it takes to use even but the most basic of troops.

Although different clans do get certain extra units and certain bonus's theres very little difference between them all, which massively limits variety of how you can play the game. Also unlike in all previous games were your few elite units could help be a turning point and rightly so, no units really seem to stand out.

It has gone back to the old 4 turn per year system (spring, summer etc) which means by the time youve managed to train up a general or character like monk or assasin, he dies off.

The ultimate aim of the game is to become shogun, the problem being when doing so in this game it turns every other clans against you, you lose all trade relations and even people that have been allys for a long time suddenly turn. This then turns into a war of attrition which its hard to last against so many armies coming at you over and over.

The diplomacy again seems to have gone down hill since Napoleon and on my second campaign the other clans wants ridicalous amounts in payment for trade relations which would some times take 10+ turns just to make up that amount back. Another problem of this comes from the lack of bonus's in the different clans which means that clans are quickly getting killed of then the clan that took over gets killed off ad without the player getting involved it becomes rinse and repeat meaning no decent ties can be made with clans or to build up friendship and make use of working with other clans.

The land battles now seem to have the same issue as naval and quickly turn into a mass brawl and limit the ability fight stratigically.

They are many other smaller game features that dont make sense or are missing like not being able to re-train units (why have a building that gives better armour if only a very few can use it). This is could just go on and on about.

And as per-usual with total war games nowadays... BUGS... trade hubs suddenly stop working and your ships become immobile for no appartent reason and most annoyingly as i though this had being corrected since Rome, your archers wasting your own men rather then firing over the top to hit units at the back.

I have played 50 hours since getting the game and am throughly bored and disappointed. Unlike others like rome which i think iv spent more time playing then every other game put togeather.

The best advice i could give is wait, dont spend your money, stick with empire, napoleon or whichever your currently playing and hope like i am that they will re do Rome next as due to all the different nations which fought with such a variety of ways and a decnt size map that it will go back to the game many people used to get such enjoyment out of playing. By which point they might have finally started to listen to the players and start correcting the issues that have been ongoing in past games like diplomacy which is more or less irrevant atm!

I have even considered going back to playing rome or MTW.....

Not a very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., 12 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
Shogun 2 is an improvement for the franchise in practically every way. My personal interest in history is more aligned with the settings of Empire or Medieval, so I was initially not so excited at the idea of a return to Shogun. I was proven wrong. Very wrong.
Every aspect of this game is better than its predecessors. The RPG-esque character development (of generals, ninjas, metsuke and monks) just makes the campaign so much more rewarding, seeing your subjects age and develop over decades of service effects your strategies and your investment in your clan. The landscape is largely more tactical than Empire, with less open land and more mountains and valleys to be taken into account when planning your armies movements and defensive positions. Trading and economy play a bigger part of the game too, as well as your clans religious choices.
Campaign AI has improved, being able to effectively use fleets and agents and generally making diplomacy less rediculous than Empire.
The real time battles have also seen a lot of improvements and changes. Shogun returns to simplicity of Rome, but with the tech advancements and AI even more advanced than Empire.
Visual style also plays a big part in the game, with a much more focused and well implemented art style.

The only area I would say the game lacks is in its size. The campaign map is around the same size as any one of the Kingdoms expansion campaigns, failing to rival the huge scale and replayability of Empire, though the vastly expanded multiplayer game will likely be the reason you keep coming back to Shogun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GAME! have since also purchased all the downloadable ..., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
AMAZING GAME! have since also purchased all the downloadable content well worth it to enhance the game play experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior to Empire in every way., 18 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
OK.

After the terrible awfulness of Empire Total War I wasn`t expecting much with Shogun Total War 2. I spent a long time perusing the forums and checking critical user reviews (here and elsewhere) ignoring official corrupt reviews, I decided to go for it despite Steam. To be caught with a bad Steam game twice that I could not return or give away was bordering on sheer stupidity, hence my caution.

Right from the beginning I could feel something was right. Everything felt cleaner and better put togther, just from the way it started. The CGI intro was great, though not important. It was the menus and options that felt good. No missing choices, nothing that failed to do what it said (except a couple with graphics, see later). Options were all there from Easy to a new Legendary mode that took away the unrealistic radar map, floaty banner, pausing and even anti cheat-reload to win where you previously lost! Considering I usually play this way it was good to see it all packaged in one difficulty level.

I chose Legendary and my old Clan from the original Shogun; The Shimazu clan.

4 turns later I was defeated!! What the?

I restarted, still slightly stunned. Defeated really quick again. The CAI is BRUTAL now. In Empire on release the CAI was dead. It couldn`t naval invade, it couldn`t properly attack you - It was basically idiotic. In Shogun it`s like a seriously bad-ass mean Daimyo warrior leader! It`ll go for your weak points. It`ll not send one stack on you, but 3 or 4 for a guaranteed win. It`ll naval invade where you least expect it. It won`t stop until it`s taken your puny only city and destroyed you! It`s like the Terminater- It absolutely will not stop until you are destroyed! And it`s happy to band together to do it, too. I seriously felt humbled after losing about 4 times in a row and I`m a vet to the TW games!

Very hard and Hard CAI (Campaign AI) isn`t much less merciful, I tested. It will still probe for weakness, build its forces and attack you HARD. It`s not afraid to use all its agents, monks, assassins, Geishas, Metsukis on you. Your only real chance in the early game is to get at least one ally through diplomacy and together move forward. No friends, means no conquest. Thankfully, allied friends are pretty loyal and if you are good to them, they`re good to you... Until Realm Divide that is. This is where you get too powerful and then everyone hates you, unless you pay your friends incredible amounts of bribe money.

But I`m so much please with Campaign CAI now, it`s almost like playing a Human in its determination.

BAI is also, to my surprise, much better. It`s like the original Shogun. It knows to use the hills on defence. It knows to make you sweat struggling up that hill while it showers your men with arrows. It can reconstitute its forces and reform to take on a new threat in the middle of a battle as with the case when I had some new reinforcements arrive, making my job all the bit harder. It knows to retreat if the battle isn`t going its way too, saving pointless battles.

Sieges are better, but still a bit of a downer, I`m afraid. Castle walls slope, so men kinda `crawl` up it now. No ladders. Why? can`t CA do decent sieges any more like in MTW2? They had some cornball excuse in the manual which doesn`t wash at all. It`s like an adult telling kids that the tooth fairy exists. Sad and insulting.
However, it knows to attack all round and will even retreat its Generals sometimes in a pointless fight. So... better than Empire, but after Empire anything is.

Major criticism of battles? Too fast. It barely gives you time to get stuck in before it`s all over. You can`t even watch the battle animations (which are great) before it`s done. I advise getting a slowdown Mod like Darthmod which help greatly in strategy and allows you to watch the fights. In fact I think this Mod actually helps the AI strategy too.

What else?

Music great, humble and effective in that Japanese manner with minimalistic HUD graphics. Very good.

Nice Assassin\Geisha kill\fail cutsecnes like the original Shogun.

Game is VERY stable. Been playing about a week and not one crash, even with Mods.

Don`t do multiplayer, so can`t review that. Sorry.

Nearly forgot sea battles. It`s a bit different to the Age of Sail. No cannons really (not until late), just fire arrows and boarding action, but where it shines is that now you get different weather, night day battles. Blustery waves, even whales swimming nearby! It`s a heckuva lot more immersive this time round. I kinda made the mistake of ignoring ship building but after getting naval invaded by a huge force a few times, having ships to counter soon becomes essential.

Whines of mine.

1. Well, it says uses DirectX 11, but as of this date it don`t. There isn`t even any AA, but the graphics still look ok to me. I`m not an eyecandy freak. however, if it says it on the box it should be in the game. Naughty and underhanded, CA.

2. Steam. Steam should be optional, not forced. Others without the net or who just don`t want it should not be forced to miss out. If you don`t like it and feel ripped off (as with Empire) you`re stuck with it forver. It should be optional. I want to know that if I ever lose the internet for any period of time (like years), I can still play my games like with most others I have. This is a game choosing and breaking point and VERY, VERY important and therefore Shogun 2 loses a star for it. And every game with forced Steam (that`s not all multiplayer) will. No apologies.

3. Needs multicore optimising. yep, blasted thing is using only 1 core! Get into a really heavy battle and watch the stutter show. It`s 2011, CA.

4.Sieges are again a disappointment (though not too terrible) and sometimes, AI reinforcements get stuck. On No Timer that`s a pain.

However, the game is FAR better than Empire and worthy of say the original Shogun. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shogun 2, 25 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition (DVD-ROM)
The game itself is very good, but the problem (and why I would not recommend somebody buy it) is its reliance on the Steam platform. It takes ages to start the game (even when installed) and load scenes. As a result, you can't just dip in for a 15 minute quick play. It can take 10 minutes to get going and this is with a fairly powerful setup. If this is the best way developers have to prevent piracy, then we are doomed. Pirates can still rip the game off and the rest of us get treated like potential thieves and handed a rubbish experience. I've about had it with Steam: I suffered the same with another expensive game to the point that I felt like returning the game. Surely there is a better alternative to treating customers as potential thieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition
Total War: Shogun 2 - Limited Edition by Sega (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £16.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews