Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to a great voice.
There is a Zang Tumb Tumb re-issue campaign currently going on through the Salvo record label, which has seen the likes of Propaganda's "A Secret Wish" receive welcome and somewhat lavish re-packaging, and Claudia's own "Love: And A Million Other Things" has recently received the re-issue treatment from Cherry Red.

This sits rather well with these recent...
Published on 9 Feb. 2011 by Glasgow Dreamer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars claudia brucken
brought this just for the single duel. but the whole album has opened up how good this singer was, but very 80s in style
Published 21 months ago by christian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to a great voice., 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
There is a Zang Tumb Tumb re-issue campaign currently going on through the Salvo record label, which has seen the likes of Propaganda's "A Secret Wish" receive welcome and somewhat lavish re-packaging, and Claudia's own "Love: And A Million Other Things" has recently received the re-issue treatment from Cherry Red.

This sits rather well with these recent releases. Very nicely put together in a fold-out digipack with a glossy booklet containing a decent write-up and some good photos; this is however not an re-issue of an old album; it is a brand new compilation, showcasing the career of Claudia (and that voice) through the various acts and collaborations she has been involved with, as well as some of her solo material. It includes tracks from Propaganda, Act, OneTwo, and Chrome Seduction, along with duets with Andy Bell, Paul Rutherford and Andrew Poppy (but not Glenn Gregory) and four solo tracks.

Almost without exception these are brilliant tracks; in particular Propaganda's classic "Duel" and Brucken's own "Kiss Like Ether" stand out. Once again, I find myself wondering why, with a voice like this, Brucken never became a major star.

Nevertheless, it is a bit of a mixed bag, a clash of styles, and this CD possibly works best as a sampler, rather than a coherent career overview. Hearing these tracks, the obvious thing to do would be to hunt out the albums they came from, and hopefully Salvo (or Cherry Red, or any other company willing to put in the effort) will be able to make more of this back catalogue available - how about a re-issue of the compilation triple CD "Laughter Tears and Rage" from Act?

So, to sum up, a great showcase of a great talent, an excellent taster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop from a true icon of electronica!, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Carl Hubbard (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Having happened upon Dr Mabuse via Dr Beat (don't ask!), I have been a fan of Claudia since '85. The classic Propaganda singles are here, ACT highpoints and her classic singles from Love.. and all those other semi-solo gems with other collaboraters making this an unmissable collection for me and thousands others. Volume 2 to come perhaps? Oh, we'll take whatever we can get, believe me..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of from the voice of Propaganda, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Batte "davebatte" (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Claudia Brucken has fronted both Propaganda and ACT as a vocalist as well as working with OMD's Paul Humphries as the duo - OneTwo. This best of includes tracks from all three as well as solo material and new tracks including a collaboration with Andy Bell of Erasure. The album kick off with two propaganda tracks and its Duel that is the most memorable from the 80's a great single. The 80's synth sound still sounds fresh today. The rest of the album can never reach the heights of the first two tracks but the style remains quite similar and the Onetwo material is worthy of repeat listening. Overall its a good compilation showcasing the distinctive German style of Brucken and how many female German vocalists can you name , Nena ? , check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Best Of Claudia Brücken, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
I bought the original Propaganda album "A Secret Wish" when it was released and to this day it is still one of my most played albums, the 70's and 80's was an amazing time for music and ZTT truly ruled the world, with Frankie Goes To Hollywood and Propaganda amongst many others, at the time I, like many other's started to collect all the different "remixes" that they were making but at some stage I decided that it was getting silly and after about the 20th remix of Relax I think a lot of other people did too, Trevor Horn got a wee bit carried away :D

Fast forward to 1990 and a very different Propaganda released "1234" and although it was not the original band members, the album was great and quickly became a regular in my playlist, especially "Only One Word" with a great guitar solo by none other than Dave Gilmour !

And then last week as I was buying the 25th Anniversary edition of "A Secret Wish" I thought I would try this at the same and I have to admit this is one of the best "Best Of" albums I've ever purchased, it gives a really broad range of both Claudia Brücken's voice and song styles, and I have probably listened to it 40-50 times and still find it interesting. Some of the tracks such as "3 - (The Beta Wrap Around Of) p-Machinery" are Propaganda remixes and others such as "4 - Absolutely Immune" are from her work in Act, however it's the solo work ("6 - Kiss Like Ether" etc) I found the most interesting as it seems to have a broader vocal range, along with a couple of covers "13 - This Is Not America - Claudia Brücken & Paul Rutherford (The "Feet" from FGTH !)" and "15 - In Dreams... (Claudia Brücken and Andrew Poppy)" which show a daring willingness to cover other peoples work, both examples are inventive and unlike many covers totally different to the originals in such a way that anyone who didnt know the orignals would have no idea that they were covers at all.

I'm currently waiting for "Love: And A Million Other Things" to arrive and listening to "7 - Absolut[e] (Claudia Brücken)" while I wrap up this review.

If you love the ZTT stuff or even just all 70's and 80's stuff then this is a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claudia Bucken..The Best Of Combined.[Audio CD], 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Very happy with this product.Postal Service from the USA and All Your Music is Super as always, Would love to get this album in SACD.Most of all .Claudia Brucken's voice sounds great...Gerry Bolger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A "Best Of" that is actually quite gut, 3 April 2011
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This 64-minute compilation packs all the best songs featuring Claudia BRÜCKEN, from the mid-1980s to now. Honestly, I'm surprised at how good it is and at how well it stands the test of time. Aside from the cover of 'This Is Not America' which is not a good song to begin with, this CD is packed with hits (the 3 tracks by Propaganda were actually hits, at least in continental Europe) or should-have-been-hits (much of the rest).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neat Compilation, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Had listened to a few of these songs previously but together are really good - nice broad spectrum.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Listenable, 14 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
For an artist linked to some of the more "bizarre" 80s music, Propaganda, Thomas Leer, and married to one of the 80s' more experimental musicians (I suspect Paul is more to credit for the OMD experimental stuff than Andy) this is a real treat. Odd in paces, but stacked full of melody and with two of the most effective covers I have ever heard. A version of Bowie's "This is Not America" that manages to sound almost as good as the original, and a startling version of "In Dreams" by the Big O that is worth a fiver on its own.

But why is the case a different size from the standard CDS packaging - typical ZTT "dare to be different"? Why, because Frankie Says...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars claudia brucken, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Combined - The Best Of (Audio CD)
brought this just for the single duel. but the whole album has opened up how good this singer was, but very 80s in style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Combined - The Best Of
Combined - The Best Of by Claudia Brucken (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews