Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Day: Awesome as F**k
Recorded from various parts across the globe during their successful `21st Century Breakdown tour', `Awesome as F**k' is Green Day's fourth official live offering to date. Live albums are often met with ambivalence as no recording can ever replicate the magical experience of physically being there and Green Day is no exception to the rule. Yet behind the pyrotechnics,...
Published on 22 Mar. 2011 by M. I. Watts

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, I'm afraid
I'm a massive Green Day fan and saw them in London 3 times in 12 months, including the incredible Wembley Stadium show. All shows were almost 3 hours long, so I do not understand why they've only made this DVD 1 hour 20 minutes. Why not supply two DVDs to capture everything? I know the older songs were on Bullet in a Bible as others have written, but each Green Day...
Published on 31 Mar. 2011 by Amazon Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Day: Awesome as F**k, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
Recorded from various parts across the globe during their successful `21st Century Breakdown tour', `Awesome as F**k' is Green Day's fourth official live offering to date. Live albums are often met with ambivalence as no recording can ever replicate the magical experience of physically being there and Green Day is no exception to the rule. Yet behind the pyrotechnics, the gimmicks and the flair you got to have consistently good songs to back it up and `AAF' demonstrates just how cohesive and tight the band actually sound. The disc contains songs from their back catalogue ranging from their recent opus `21st Century Breakdown' right back to their debut album `1039' which highlights the band's willingness to celebrate their roots. The tracklisting may seem obscure to the casual fan as the likes of `Basket Case', `Boulevard of Broken Dreams' and `Hitchin' a Ride' are omitted in favour of the lesser known tracks such as `J.A.R.' and `Who Wrote Holden Caulfield?'. This does present a slight curiosity as to why the band doesn't just release a live album comprising of a complete set which remains unanswered. However, there is enough Green Day live material available to make your own set-list if you so wish.

The album is accompanied with a bonus DVD of the band's performance shot in Tokyo, Japan. The footage is crisp and is excellently shot. Although interspersed with clips of backstage footage, unlike `Bullet in a Bible' this is kept to a minimum with the focus being on the concert. Here the band are vitalised, engaging, striking their presence onstage with such energy and conviction that you would never have guessed that they've been around for twenty odd years. Those who have had the privilege of seeing them on this tour will know that this not the full set (average duration lasted between 2.5 hours to 3 hours). Nevertheless this serves us as a reminder of one of rock's phenomenal live bands or alternatively provides a good incentive to go and see them if you haven't done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It not DTS as it says on the case, 1 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
Although I agree the song selection is not as good as Bullet, I think it makes sense not to just duplicate all those tracks. Green Day are still awesome live and this is still no exception so only a few from american Idiot album which makes sense. My only grip is it says DTS and it is not even though it says that on the case, I don't no why if this was a mistake but i have been unable to find the answer on the web or get a response from warners as to if this is an error, i was surprised no other reviewer has mentioned it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, exciting ablum!, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
I absolutley LOVE this album! :D I was excited by the release of this CDDVD and I was rightly excited! This is a fantastic album, filled with high energy, amazing excitement and fantastic Green Day songs! The editing and use of lighting effects (while sometimes overused) are perfect and finish off the amazing album which this is. I highly suggest you get it, I'm now getting it on Blu-ray also! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
Awesome as F**k highlights Green Day at their best. The album caters to all Green Day fans alike, with a healthy balance of new songs, for those who are relatively new Green Day listeners, and old songs, for the die-hard punks out there. With songs that even date back to their first album 1039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours. So if your an old Green Day fan you'll be happy to know there are songs there for you, and hopefully for new fans, you'll discover some of Green Days finest works, with songs like Who Wrote Holden Caulfield. The album is vastly entertaining, and unlike some live albums, you can really grasp a hold of the atmosphere of a Green Day gig. There are no overdubs, so it is 100% live, which is fine, as Billie Joe (lead singer) is pretty much pitch perfect through out. The DVD included is also good , filled with pyrotechnics and exciting stage action, it pairs up well with the recorded CD. My only complaint, would be that it is very much one song after another, and doesn't show Billie Joe's quirky quotes in between songs, which tend to be funny and entertaining, it was also frustrating to see the black and white colour effect returning from Bullet in a Bible, whilst it may be appealing to some, was annoying to me, however none of these minor complaints of personal opinions should deter someone from purchasing this album. So if your a new Green Day fan or an old one, buy this album, it is a small price to pay for 17 songs one a CD, and 17 songs on a DVD, providing great value and entertainment for your money, your bound to like something. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only critical because of how good a band they are., 22 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
If you thorght that Bullet in a Bible was over edited then prepared.
The DVD feels that the director had a 'how many different camea angles can we fit into each song'apprach with Awesome As F**k.
Personally i think it would have been good to focas more on the music and preformance of the members compared to all the fancy angles and colours, Green Day don't need this to prove that they can put on a GREAT rock show.
In 21 Guns the majority of the song has a blue filter, making the band look like they are auditioning for a role in The Smurfs. Also the 'half-head- shots become quite anoying.
The CD is brilliant you can not fault it, along with the Green Day members music, singing and preformance (HEY-HO)! this is the same with the DVD, it is just that the over editing brings it down a little.
You should definatly buy this album! Its FANTASTIC! Do not hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars celebration of the old AND the new, 23 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Awesome As **** (Audio CD)
first and foremost i should make it clear i've been a Green Day fan for many many years, so obviously there was no way i wasn't going to enjoy this bundle, and any fans of the band looking at reviews deciding whether to shell out their cash, heres your answer definitely...it's a fantastic celebration of the rock trio...but for those not so well versed in Green Day's back catalogue, certain song choices on the CD may be unheard of, but fear not, every song on both the audio CD and the DVD are excellently played, recorded and show just how much this band have evolved (or as some "fans" claim, sold out)

In all honesty, if you're not a fan of the band, and are looking for an album to 'get into' their music, i would suggest you buy the 'Bullet in a Bible' dvd/cd combo, simply because the range and breadth of the songs on that setlist is much larger, however if you're a casual fan of Green Days 2 recent rock operas, I definitely recommend this package, the setlists will excite you, the dvd shows just how utterly nuts their live shows are and overall it's just a great celebration of a band that continues to grow, evolve and rock the hell out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME AS !!!!, 28 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
As usual Green Day never fail to deliver. The older tracks make you realise just how long this band have been around. They just keep on getting better and better. In general the songs are driven at a faster pace than the studio albums but are still fantastic. The energy and raw power of this band is phenomenal. If you have not seen this band live (yet) buy this album to find out what you are missing. If you have seen them still buy it just to refresh your memory and make you want to see them all over again. Roll on the next tour. Like the title of this album Green Day really are 'Awesome as F***K'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome!!! :D, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
I've been a long time fan of Green Day and was highly anticipating the release of this Live CD/DVD (even more so when I heard the title of the CD/DVD)! I'm pleased to say that this does not disapoint! While some classic songs are missed out of the item, many others that are not previously featured in Bullet in a Bible, are. The quality of the music and entertainment is just standard Green Day, perfect as usual! Featuring exciting editing, lighting and choice of songs I would definetly recommend this album to any Green Day fan! XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green Day are at there best live, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
This is a live cd/ dvd of green day performing all around the world. Ths song selection is great, including older Green day to idiot and breakdown. Green Day have loads of energy live and are one of the most energetic bands of our time. Punk is Green day, its as simple as that. Green day are the kings of punk music and at their best here on this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awesome As F**k (Audio CD)
Wonderful live album and first class dvd live in Japan though the cd comes from different shows, essential if you enjoy Green Day and a good place to start if you want an introduction. Too many good songs to list but all the classics are here and the whole project sparkles with energy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awesome As F**k
Awesome As F**k by Green Day (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews