Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very. Enlightening
An excellent read. This helps put the canonical books of the law in context and aids understanding of those periods.
Well worth reading.
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by BarryM

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Appears to be a Forgery !
This Alcuinus version is often called a forgery and is sometimes known as Pseudo-Jasher. As such it has very considerable historical value, but has no religious merit. I'm glad it's in print, and I'm glad I bought it, but that's about all.

One way of distinguishing the versions is by comparing the opening verses of Chapter 1. This Alcuinus version begins...
Published on 26 Feb. 2012 by Jim, London, England


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very. Enlightening, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE BOOK OF JASHER (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read. This helps put the canonical books of the law in context and aids understanding of those periods.
Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Jasher, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE BOOK OF JASHER (Kindle Edition)
Very informative - good background stuff of early Bible books. Adam - Noah - Nimrod - etc. Historically important if taken in context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Treasure long awaited, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jasher (Paperback)
Great book thank you. .You cover such a diverse amount of topics in your book available. This is very encourageing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Christians, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jasher (Paperback)
Half way through the book, I think this book is beneficial reading for Christians. It follows the first few books of the Bible, often adding lot of detail not mentioned in the Bible, makes it easier to understand the Biblical stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jasher, 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE BOOK OF JASHER (Kindle Edition)
This book is very long with lots of violence, showing how people didn't sit down and talk. They just went in to fight. I found it interesting how many details were brought out that we don't read in the bible. For instance, both Abram and Moses were put into a fire ( like Daniel) and like him walked free while others were burnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great epic story, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE BOOK OF JASHER (Kindle Edition)
I was amazed at the number of stories in the Bible that this book clarified for me. The book also increased my faith as a Christian. If the screen writers for movies such as Moses or The Ten Commandments, or Noah had consulted this book, we would have had some completely different movies. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Appears to be a Forgery !, 26 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jasher (Paperback)
This Alcuinus version is often called a forgery and is sometimes known as Pseudo-Jasher. As such it has very considerable historical value, but has no religious merit. I'm glad it's in print, and I'm glad I bought it, but that's about all.

One way of distinguishing the versions is by comparing the opening verses of Chapter 1. This Alcuinus version begins as follows:-
1. Whilst it was the beginning, darkness overspread the face of nature. 2. And the ether moved upon the surface of the chaos. 3. And it came to pass, that a great light shone forth from the firmanent, and enlightened the abyss.
Other versions, such as the seminal Authentic Annals version by Wayne Simpson, which I recommend, and the version published by Acrophyle Press, which I find hard to follow, begin as follows:-
1. And God said, Let us make man in our own image, after our own likeness, and God created man in his own image. 2. And God formed man from the ground, and he blew into his nostrils the breath of life, and man became a living soul endowed with speech (Genesis 1.26a, 2.7 and 2.18 ).

Another way of distinguishing this Alcuinus version as a forgery is that it was published in 1829, whereas the real version in English was only published in 1840.

A third fault of this Alcuinus version is that it wrongly states that the word "Jasher" was the name of a man. In Hebrew, for reasons only a Hebrew speaker can fully understand, this is not a man's name. The word "Jasher" in Hebrew means "Righteous" and the Righteous in this book were the Patriarchs ! To put it another way "Jasher" means "the Patriarchs, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob". This fact is also stated in a book called the Midrash Habiur where it states "Let me die the death of the Righteous" (Numbers 23.10).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reading so far, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE BOOK OF JASHER (Kindle Edition)
downloaded this to my kindle and have not read a lot of it, but what i have read so far is so very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Book of Jasher (Paperback)
Excellent as contemporary historic backup to the first five books of the Old Testament. Most highly recommended. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
R. White "rosewhiteroserose" (whiterosecounty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jasher (Paperback)
nice book asadvertsed, fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE BOOK OF JASHER
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews