Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIXED Balearic-flavoured selection...
...that's MIXED - just so you know? - because it doesn't say the word "MIXED" anywhere on the packaging. Fortunately, you DO get decent, if not always full-length, snippets of each song. Put it this way: if you play it on shuffle it won't annoy you.

And while I'm on the subject of lack of information, there are no writing or production credits supplied - so if...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by Colin McCartney

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars music
cream chilled not the best cd in the shops but not bad there are better tracks on some other chillout cds like ministery of sound
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by si


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIXED Balearic-flavoured selection..., 5 Feb 2011
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
...that's MIXED - just so you know? - because it doesn't say the word "MIXED" anywhere on the packaging. Fortunately, you DO get decent, if not always full-length, snippets of each song. Put it this way: if you play it on shuffle it won't annoy you.

And while I'm on the subject of lack of information, there are no writing or production credits supplied - so if (if) you want to know who's responsible for Tensnake's "Coma Cat", for example, you can't find out - at least not from here. Fear not - since you are given a website address for "label copy", where you get...a very nice...error message.

So, you may as well download this album, unless you're particularly keen on getting your hands on a physical copy of 7 different-coloured versions of the Cream logo in a glossy digipack.

Anyway, to the music. To me, Balearic means leave your musical snobbery and pretentions at the door - and so it is with this compilation, which contains many artists I wouldn't otherwise have had in my collection. Similar, in many ways, to Ministry of Sound's Anthems - Electronic 80s series but without the obvious self-imposed limitations, "Cream Chilled Electronic" works fairly well. Disc 1 is the best of the three. Disc 2 is a bit wallpaper-y in places, though the unintentionally (or intentionally?) hilarious closer "Barber's Adagio for Strings" (AKA the "Kevin and Perry" sad music) is a highlight. Disc 3 isn't that chilled-out, as it happens - too much bog-standard, Eyeball Paul "club-stuff", although New Order's majestic "Elegia" (gets better with every listen, and I've been listening since 1985) rounds things off very well indeed.

Lords, Ladies and Gentlemen of the compilers' panel, for volume 2 might I suggest: Goldfrapp, Tangerine Dream, Boards of Canada, This Mortal Coil, Sueno Latino, The Cure, Aphex Twin and something from the Betty Blue soundtrack?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible title, great album, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
Well then, another downtempo / chillout title from a major dance label. A lot of time and effort has been spent on compiling and blending the tracks together. Its not the same tracks that appear on every other chillout album since around 1998, though a few do rear their tired heads NOW "Les nuits" (obviously, Adagio for strings (AHHHH), Autumn Leaves (surely not ?). If older tracks are featured they tend to be new mixes which is a welcome feature, though some were better left as they were. Overall it is a welcome return to form for Cream and is the first chillout album i have actually bought for 7 or 8 years. Theres only so many times you can hve Groove Armadas At the River on vinyl and cd......My two major complaints are that there still isnt enough tracks by new artists, yes Aeroplane and Chilly Gonzales are in there but the 90's still dominate...Why ?. Last and not least it has the least imagination of any title ever....Cream Chilled Electronic.....Genius.
90% of this is album is fantastic, the perfect listen to take us all from the long hard winter into the spring...Enjoy. Ollie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 5 Mar 2011
By 
S. Auberval "crazy Frog" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think there's only two tracks I don't like on this compilation, and for fussy me to say that, the music has to be pretty impressive. Also, I thought the 3 long mixes that come with the MP3 version are a huge bonus. Please download without hesitation :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceed expectations..., 30 Jan 2011
By 
Ahmed Gouda "ahmed672" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
I picked this up never realising how good this set would be. It's actually one of the best Chillout albums i bought for a while! Usually in these triple CDs the third would be a recycling of the same tunes & some leftovers but CD3 from this compilation is as good or even better than the first 2. Playing it ever since i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triple Cream!, 25 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
3CDs and as the other reviewer says a lot of undercompiled tracks. I like these type of albums and it's good to see underused artists like DJ Shadow, One Dove, Tensnake, David Holmes, Miike Snow & Reverso 68 topping off what is a very fresh album and a great winter warmer. I highly recommend to one and all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Remakes, 10 April 2012
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
"Cream: Chilled Electronic" is a smooth three cd set that contains sixty electronica/chillout melodies. The following are some of the innovative songs contained on "Chilled Electronic":
Ridlers On The Storm (Ibizzare Mix) by The Doors
La Femme d'Argent by Air
Shout (Jakatta Thrilled-Out Mix) by Tears For Fears
Stellify by Ian Brown
"Cream: Chilled Electronic" is a compelling purchase for the many who like experimental chillout beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
great| album for all occasions,would recommend it to anyone to buy, Good for chilling and background music at parties, fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars music, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Cream Chilled Electronic (Audio CD)
cream chilled not the best cd in the shops but not bad there are better tracks on some other chillout cds like ministery of sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cream Chilled Electronic
Cream Chilled Electronic by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews