Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This hilarious comedy shows Jim Carrey at his very best
I you feel like having a laugh-a-minute then I seriously suggest that you invest in this film so you can watch it over and over again and see the fabulous Jim Carrey at his very best with a superb storyline to accompany him. My Tip: Order it now!
Published on 17 April 2000

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liar Liar
Whether you love or hate this film will all depend on whether you love or hate Jim Carey. So obviously written as a vehicle for the rubber faced star this film gives Carey ample opportunity to show of his own particular brand of comic goofing around and take advantage of this he certainly does. Hardly a scene goes by without him playing up to his slapstick best and...
Published on 21 Jan 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This hilarious comedy shows Jim Carrey at his very best, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I you feel like having a laugh-a-minute then I seriously suggest that you invest in this film so you can watch it over and over again and see the fabulous Jim Carrey at his very best with a superb storyline to accompany him. My Tip: Order it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 9 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Liar Liar [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
This is Jim Carey at his best - one of the funniest films I have ever seen. It is literally a laugh a minute. All the acting is excellent, screenplay brilliant well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Trust me - BUY THIS FILM - it is very very funny. Jim carrey is superb acting Fletcher, the lawer who can't lie. My baby cousins luaghed at this film, my dad laughed at this film, my gran laughed at this film.....
It is fantastic - i Highly recommned it to anyone who likes to laugh
Trust me !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrey's Best Performance, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I loved this movie and i find it is one of Carrey's funniest performances to date.
Carrey plays a lawyer who tells some outstanding lies that gives him a win every time and makes him one of the top lawyers, but he takes the lying out of work too and lies to everybody. His mother, his ex-wife, his co-workers and even his son Max. Eventually Max has had enough of his fathers lies and on his birthday when blowing out the candles on his cake he makes a wish that his father can't lie and it comes true with some incredbily funny outcomes.
Fletcher (Carrey) on his first day of no lies in the first few minutes of him being awake finds it hard to cope with. On his way to work he tells some horrible truths but at the same time they are incredibly funny.
Through the movie Fletcher comes to realize that although it is hard to cope with that the truth is always the best option but is it too late to win back his son?
A very emotional movie which is a very heartwarming family film that everybody will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liar Liar, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Whether you love or hate this film will all depend on whether you love or hate Jim Carey. So obviously written as a vehicle for the rubber faced star this film gives Carey ample opportunity to show of his own particular brand of comic goofing around and take advantage of this he certainly does. Hardly a scene goes by without him playing up to his slapstick best and pulling a multitude of awesome facial expressions.
Both the plot and the other cast members are simply scenery to the outrageous Carey and although you could analyse the plot's morality on the subject of how many lies the average adult tells, it is really nothing more than a backdrop to how many crazy situations the film makers can place Carey's character. The supporting cast are fine in the small roles they have, Justin Cooper as Carey's son puts on a great performance for one so young (nice haircut by the way!) and I though Cary Elwes as Carey's ex-wife's new boyfriend provided the one or two poignant moments very nicely.
But there is no doubt who the star is and Carey certainly is on top form in this film. I began the review by saying you would love it or hate depending on your feelings about Carey, but I would challenge even the most ardent critic of Jim Carey to get through this film without laughing. Good Fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Carrey is your man? This is a laugh festival., 26 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Flethcher Reade {Jim Carrey} is a sharp tongued attorney for whom lying has become second nature. When his son Max finally gets fed up of Fletcher breaking his promises to him, he makes a birthday wish that his dad can't lie for 24 hours. This creates monumental problems for Fletcher at work, especially as he has a big case in court today.

A delightful premise is executed with boundless energy by Carrey, who clearly revels in the chance to show his flair for berserker visual comedy. Some may say over acting, others will say comic genius, either way there is no getting away from the fact that Carrey's brand of high energy, rubber faced comedy is marketable box office product. There has been an annoying trend in some of his movies where his antics have just engulfed the film, leaving no room for anything, or anyone else, to breathe. That's not the case here tho. The family arc is well treated, and well acted by Justin Cooper & Maura Tierney as Fletcher's son & ex-wife respectively. While the lawyer/court room based story provides plenty of scope that is utilised to get its messages over. It's all silly nonsense of course, but even as the film drifts into treacle pudding territory, the laughs continue to outweigh the moments of froth. Be sure to stay for the outtakes during the closing credits; joyous. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Carrey, no I'm not lying, 21 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Fletcher (Carrey) is having difficulty seeing his son, putting his career first. On his birthday his son Max (Cooper) wishes that Fletcher can't tell a lie for a whole day.

Jim Carrey has always been a comic genius. From the wonderfully daft Ace Ventura to the insane Mask, the actor has been pleasing audiences for years. On seeing Yes Man in cinemas recently, I couldn't help but feel he has out grown that wonderful slapstick nature he produced so easily.

Many have critics have said that recent flick is this 1997 picture all over again, only with a bungee jump and a Terrance Stamp lecture thrown in, and in all honesty, that really is the case, though this is thankfully funnier.

With an inevitable ending and a central character who has to overcome a difficulty for everything to be alright again this is conventional cinema at its most obvious. But, and it's a big but, Carrey has taken his comic ability and thrust that into the central character which will please fans and his Fletcher feels like a somebody, more because he knows he is a bad father.

The issue of parenting is brought up frequently, though far from significant as it was in other comedies like Ferris Bueller's Day off. Thanks to the encoding of this important issue, the story itself feels important, but then it is still lost on cinematic stereotyping and conventional story. As good as the comedy is to; the shine falls on that instead of the important issue of parenthood.

Justin Cooper is really good as Max, a young lad who wants a strong role model. The supporting cast otherwise offers no surprises with everyone as predictable as next Easter.

The narrative with its predictable nature still surprises every so often. There are some sharp moments and Carrey's funny nature maintains likability. His humour is the only reason to carry on watching. The first ten minutes or so are incredibly unfunny by his standard so hang on in there for some great slapstick and insulting comedy.

To be fair the narrative offers up a twist towards the end, but this appears as an attempt to preach to an audience already lost in the comic nature of the film. Kudos of including it though as most comedies round off straight away.

Liar Liar, though consistently predictable, has a charm and a likability that can't be ignored and though the preaching of parenthood is obscured by the comedy, it still feels important.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mental, 16 Jun 2008
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Nobody can criticise this film. To give it a poor review you must be the most boring, dull person in the world.
Easily the funniest film made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the two Jim Carrey films I can watch!, 21 Sep 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Really funny and like I said in the title - only one of two of his films I can watch. This is Carrey at his best - not always rubber-faced and leaping around. There are some instances of fantastic farce and some of heart-rending poignancy. This film makes you realise just how much human beings rely on lies - from the little white variety to major untruths!

Simply brilliant. Buy it and have a really good "belly laugh!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graet, 13 Oct 2005
By 
Mark (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This 1997 comedy blew me away when i first sore it Jim Carey was great the funniest he had been before that film. I'ts outtake were funny and the elervator scene were my best parts of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liar Liar [Blu-ray] [1997]
Liar Liar [Blu-ray] [1997] by Brian Grazer (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews