Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful acting
This is a wonderful period piece adapted from a book written by John Mortimer. I remembered the TV series from 1987 with great fondness and the quality of the acting is superb. Michael Horden, as the Rev. Simcox is a delight, and the doctor played by Colin Blakely is a great character. I waited far too long to buy this DVD, but having taken the plunge, I can't really...
Published on 22 Nov. 2012 by Richard Casburn

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CAST, GREAT WRITER - BUT DISAPPOINTING
I was really looking forward to watching this series having missed it on television in the 80's. The premise is an excellent one - why on earth would left wing Vicar Simeon Simcox leave his entire estate (including a sizeable share allocation in the Simcox brewery worth £millions) to the local Conservative MP, Leslie Titmuss? His shocked sons - in particular writer and...
Published 18 months ago by Scots Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful acting, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This is a wonderful period piece adapted from a book written by John Mortimer. I remembered the TV series from 1987 with great fondness and the quality of the acting is superb. Michael Horden, as the Rev. Simcox is a delight, and the doctor played by Colin Blakely is a great character. I waited far too long to buy this DVD, but having taken the plunge, I can't really praise it enough. Just buy it and wallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Postponed, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I had always wanted to see this series. It was so expensive in the high st. shops,
Delighted with the price and speedy delivery.

As I am interested in the period 1960 onwards, it was a wonderful recollection of those
days so true to all the details. Acting is excellent and the story line unusual.
The deference shown to the Lord and Lady of the Manor, would not happen today.
Loved the actress who played the Mother of the Conservative Minister, who had herself
"Been in Service". I was sorry when I had come to the end of the 6 disc set.

Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CAST, GREAT WRITER - BUT DISAPPOINTING, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to watching this series having missed it on television in the 80's. The premise is an excellent one - why on earth would left wing Vicar Simeon Simcox leave his entire estate (including a sizeable share allocation in the Simcox brewery worth £millions) to the local Conservative MP, Leslie Titmuss? His shocked sons - in particular writer and film maker Henry - are determined to find out, yet their mother, played by Annette Crosbie, seems much more accepting of the wishes of her late husband. (Many viewers will realise that at no time do her family press her on what she does or does not know about her late husbands decision. Her meek acceptable surely suggests she has SOME knowledge of why?)

Stretched over 11 episodes the action flits between flashbacks and the present day. We see the vicars sons, the young Titmuss, the daughter of the local doctor and daughter of the big house Charlotte (Zoe Wannamaker) as children and teenagers, in a series of schooldays, young adulthood and maturity. Yet somehow the flashbacks fail to add much to the story. Some are bordering on the ridiculous. Charlotte's wealthy father uses his Stately Home grounds to host a 60's music festival which is apparently a great success - despite being attended by about 30 people. Sadly, the decision to have the main actors play their younger selves leads to people clearly in their 40's trying to be hippies. It is laughably awful.

I stuck with this from episode 1 - which sees the death of Simeon and the revelation of his Will, as well as young Titmuss being bullied and ridiculed by Peter and his friends as he strives to rise form his working class, humble background - up to episode 7. Then I simply watched the finale. The viewer, on the strength of episode 1, will hopefully loathe the silver-spoon-in-the-mouth cruelty of the vicars son and his entitled wealthy pals to the poor but intelligent and determined Titmuss and will see their treatment of him as reason enough for the vicar to leave him his fortune.

It is not that simple of course. As the action meanders at snails pace through relationships, adultery, affairs and a Hollywood producer - who adds little to the story - the whole thing is little better than a very well cast soap opera. The 'rich man in his castle, the poor man at the gate' plot line is not exactly fresh. Leslie Titmuss slogs his way upwards in the world of politics with some underhand dealing and a profitable marriage to Charlotte. But it is hard to route for, or care about character in the cast. It made me wonder if the excellent John Mortimer was indulged in the way that Carla Lane and Dennis Potter were at one time - able to get their shopping list filmed and broadcast if submitted to a TV station.! Paradise Postponed can be enjoyed by watching episode 1 and 2 and then the final one. The rest, though lovely to look at, and containing a cast of stellar British talent - is dull as ditch water and I think I will not be alone in finding my attention wandering whilst viewing.

With a different producer and editor the series could have been made in 6 well paced episodes, but sadly it appears that every single page of Mortimer's original work was dramatized. For example, the younger son of the Vicar plays in a local band. Cue endless - and pointless - scenes of him and his friends playing in pubs and clubs. Even when he becomes the local doctor, he still finds time for the band. Did these scenes add anything to the plot - not really. One scene containing the band would have been sufficient. To show them again and again was pointless. A scene at a CND rally went on and on - people in duffle coats waving signs, police on horseback charging the crowd and some of the central characters participating in the protest. Again, not much was added to the narrative.

PP looks good, contains a cast of actors that would make any producer weep with joy - but is ultimately heavy going for the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have wanted to see this again for SO long!, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Robert M. (Glen Iris, Vic Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Loved this series the first time around, and am now enjoying it immensely all over again. All the characters are extremely well developed and beautifully portrayed by a stellar cast. Even the distasteful characters have enough humanity that you can feel just a little sorry for them. No black and white, Hollywood style, goodies versus baddies in this convoluted (but intriguing) plot!

I can't wait to see the rest of the series and then move on to Titmuss Regained (but I don't want to rush it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Enjoyed, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
true to the novel, and beautifully presented , diction very clear

Most enjoyable took me back to attitudes in the fifties

every actor a star.

Paradise Enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A period piece, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Isabel Lunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Excellent series which was better than I remembered it. What a cast! Michael Hordern, Zoe Wanamaker, Annette Crosbie, Paul Shelley and best of all David Threlfall who plays the awful Titmus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I recall parts of this, but had largely forgotten the plot. A beautiful mystery with some wonderful acting and a timeless quality. There is a gentleness which is missing from so many of today's more gritty dramas. I shall treasure the DVD and watch it again in a few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
very good series well acted , time shifts sometimes difficult to follow, but an interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Rumpole standard, 24 May 2013
By 
J. Hallam "jhallam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I was expecting a more interesting or more entertaining series than I received.
I watched it to the end, but I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
On the up side: truly superb acting and many familiar faces for costume drama fans to be seen here.

On the down side: a rather muddled script (but maybe that's just staying true to the books), difficult to follow. This is made a true challenge since there are no subtitles and the series is so old that the sound quality is very poor. So if you were planning to buy it for your elderly mother who was feeling sentimental, make sure her hearing is excellent or she knows the story by heart, otherwise she may be lost in episode one.

If you enjoy book adaptations or older films you may like it but if you are looking for an older period drama similar to The Forsyte Saga (with Eric Porter) or The Pallisers, this is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Postponed - The Complete Series [DVD] [1986]
£13.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews