Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower and Jimmy Dewar - At the BBC 1973-75
Apologies that the packaging, sleeve notes et al around this release of Robin Trower's recordings at the BBC cannot be described since all I have thus far is a download of these recordings. So let the music speak for itself, which to be fair and accurate it does with considerable aplomb. What we have here is an excellent reprise anthology of Trower's work on "Auntie"...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete info
Why don't inform the readers that the the tracks from 5 to 14 on th second disc have been yet issued on another Mr Trower cd named "BBC Radio 1 - Live in concert" ?
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by BigWalrus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower and Jimmy Dewar - At the BBC 1973-75, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Apologies that the packaging, sleeve notes et al around this release of Robin Trower's recordings at the BBC cannot be described since all I have thus far is a download of these recordings. So let the music speak for itself, which to be fair and accurate it does with considerable aplomb. What we have here is an excellent reprise anthology of Trower's work on "Auntie" Including his first John Peel session from March 1973 along with later Peel appearances, sessions with Bob Harris and a complete BBC in Concert special from 1975. The cast involves the usual band members with Robin Trower on burning hot fender, Jimmy Dewar singing his lungs out and Reg Isidore and Bill Lordan thumping the skins. Isidore plays drums on anything before 1975 while Lordan takes the stool from thereon. Many of these sessions have of course been readily available in separate record issues but packaging the lot together has real merit and the Whispering Bob Sessions are new to this reviewer.

In candour guilt has already set in since Trower has just released a brand new album "The playful heart" and perhaps its time to stop harking back to past glories. And yet this album is an irresistible and fascinating mix of song versions which not only allows cross comparison on the different BBC outputs but also across other albums that Trower has recorded. Indeed the live BBC in concert sessions bears real comparison in the quality stakes to Trower's most famous album "Live" recorded in Stockholm which had a vice like grip on the US charts in the mid 1970s. It is a powerful set of songs and the version of "Bridge of Sighs" one of the best recorded. The reason for this is of course not just Trower's impeccable playing but also the voice of late great Jimmy Dewar something which I have waxed lyrical upon in a previous review of the recent Chrysalis box set. In one sense it would have been be a lovely gesture if Dewar's name could be emblazoned on the cover with double billing alongside Trower since he is at minimum the joint attraction here and often the star of the show.

The "spoils" contained in these sessions are many and to have two versions of "I cant wait much longer" is a pleasure beyond compare with Dewar again proving that on his day he was unimpeachable. The Harris version is more reverb laden and has a real studio feel while the In concert version again bears comparison to the awesome version on "live" with Dewars singing on top form with that deep soulful voice. "Fine day" chugs along nicely with Trower dispatching chops as if he had worked in Dewhursts, similarly the version of "Little bit of sympathy" is a stormer. The Peel Sessions have been around a while and "Gonna be suspicious" literally knocks the faded picture of Van Gogh's sunflowers off the front room wall and "Confessing midnight" is a hard blues delight destined to annoy the neighbours at a high decibel level. A minor gripe is that some of the Peel sessions do sound a little underproduced but so what, turn the volume up. Finally if burning matches were placed under my finger nails and waterboarding threatened it is probably the version of "Daydream" on the Harris session which is pristine in all its glory that would be the highlight across these 30 songs, but it might be a different song on another day. Ultimately this might be viewed as a package aimed at completists but there is very fine music contained therein and for those today who love bands like the Black Keys and particularly their last album "Brothers" will find much in Trower's hard and funky blues to delight especially with the wonderful Scottish soul voice of Dewar to guide the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On form as ever!!, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Richard Devlin "Rikman" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
I had the great pleasure to to work with Jimmy Dewar many years ago after he moved on from the Robin Trower band. His voice was what attracted me to the band in the first place, but every single member of this band is amazing.

These archive recordings capture this chemistry and it shines though even although some of the earlier recordings are a little bit lo-fi by today;s standards. Well done to the Beeb and Chrysalis for issuing this treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Listen To The Music!, 14 Feb 2012
By 
P. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Too many reviews are from people who I think would describe themselves as "complete-ists" or something similar and whinge on about the running order not being right or a bit of applause being edited out. For goodness sake just listen to the music! Any true Trower fan will rate this as five stars. The sessions and in concert tracks will send a frisson through you and transport you back to those exciting days when this music was heard for the first time. The playing is fantastic and the sound quality to the usual high Beeb standard.

And what is that one star review about? At least the reviewer is self aware enough to style himself as V.Meldrew but if you are going to give a one star review explain yourself! Why be so cryptic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trip back in time, 27 May 2012
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Yes a trip back to the 70,s,I was lucky late 60s early 70,s was a great time for music ,and robin trower was one name of many that fitted the bill.James dewer on vocal and bass,exellent just like jack bruce some years earlier with another 3 piece cream.Listening to this double disc out of the b.b.c locker,and full cred...to them for getting this out there,it brought back a lot of memories.To any young dudes out there who have not heard any robin trower and are just getting into rocky,blues stuff give this a go good value for the money.The album is made up of live recordings from "john peel" and "Bob harris" sessions 1973-75,and a live at b.b.c in concert,Considering it was All "live" sound quality good,and it showed what a tight band they were.A few of the songs were repeated 2 or 3 times ,hey but other wise from a list of 30 you cant complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh Yeah, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Well presented in jewel case. No tracks you won't know if you've got the albums from the early 70s but several different versions of quite few of them - though some are extremely similar. Includes the BBC sight&sound concert from 1975 that I remember watching one Saturday evening... :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC IN CONCERT........SOMETHING FISHY !, 14 Feb 2011
By 
D. Gilbert "Stone me, what a life !" (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
I havn't physically got this yet, ( i will soon ). I've got all the session tracks from other sources........BRILLIANT !!
The BBC In Concert i used to have on the Windsong release, which was released in '95. Now this is where it gets odd..........the Windsong release had Twice Removed From Yesterday & Rock Me Baby on it ! They're missing here, BUT this release HAS got Too Rolling Stoned & I Can't Wait Much Longer, ( not on the Windsong release ! ). All included, that would make the In Concert recording about 75 to 80 minutes long. Back in those days, this was 1975 i think, the bands played just enough for the actual broadcast.......ONE HOUR ! ( Sometimes there were 2 bands :- 30 mins each ). So where have the extra songs come from ????????????? What's original & what isn't ????????? I would have thought perhaps there had been 2 separate In Concerts, but the track listing is just TOO similar !! 2 years before, or 2 years later, would have resulted in quite a different set list i'd have said !

So what's occurring ??

( Anyway, brilliant music all the same, but i'm a stickler for detail, so why can't they get it right. And i'll bet there's infernal edits between each song too !!! ).

Have now got this, & listening to it as i write this update ! The In Concert HAS been edited, there's no intro's to any of the songs AT ALL !!! WHY WHY WHY WHY do they have to do this ???????????????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete info, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Why don't inform the readers that the the tracks from 5 to 14 on th second disc have been yet issued on another Mr Trower cd named "BBC Radio 1 - Live in concert" ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something Fishy Pt.2, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Not an actual review, but clarification following the 'Something Fishy' review. I have original broadcast tapes of the In Concert, and can confirm the original running order as

Day of the Eagle
Bridge of Sighs
Gonna Be More Suspicious
Fine Day
Lady Love
Daydream
Too Rolling Stoned
I Can't Wait Much Longer
Alethea
Little Bit of Sympathy
Rock Me Baby (encore, faded out out broadcast end)

The Windsong release included the full version of Rock Me Baby, but added overdubbed applause and such, so isn't a 'true' tape of the In Concert. It also had the compere's announcements edited out.

The 'Twice Removed from Yesterday' on the Windsong release sounds to my ears as though it's from a different gig.

I'm awaiting a few more reviews before I commit to this one, as I've already been disappointed once with the Windsong release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pig in a poke, 12 April 2011
By 
This review is from: At the BBC 1973-1975 (Audio CD)
Asked for a review for a product I haven't bought ?
Not only that, the 2 cd's have no track listings !

How can I buy this ?

Does it come in a bran tub ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the BBC 1973-1975
At the BBC 1973-1975 by Robin Trower (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews