Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little switch
the initial review was a bit unfair. currently this switch doesnt have any major problems. for the windows part, well, tough life... definetely not showstopper though (i am linux user too).

i would dare anybody here to find a better gigabit switch for this money (honestly want to find out if there is one):
- is fully compatible with intel gigabit...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Bogdan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working after a year and half
This was my original review:
Plug it in and it just works. Windows app lets you update firmware and meddle with switch configuration.
Was impressed with the throughput controls - I can configure ports to limit bandwidth to prevent pcs hogging our low speed adsl.

Plus it's small and cute looking! Good solid build quality. Gets warm but it runs a lot...
Published on 8 May 2012 by benc1


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little switch, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the initial review was a bit unfair. currently this switch doesnt have any major problems. for the windows part, well, tough life... definetely not showstopper though (i am linux user too).

i would dare anybody here to find a better gigabit switch for this money (honestly want to find out if there is one):
- is fully compatible with intel gigabit cards
- has upgradable firmware
- has vlan support
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good switch (after firmware upgrade), 14 Nov 2010
By 
As "Mat" pointed out with his review, the switch does have some issues out of the box. The fact it responds to any ping is quite bad, and something netgear should have picked up on during testing. That said, firmware is now available from their site which solves this issue, and also reduces its power usage.

I've been using this switch for over a month solid now and I'm quite impressed with it. It has a much lower power usage than my others, and also seems more stable when pushing through large amounts of data. I wish in many ways that I had bought the larger version as it would save me needing to buy another one ;)

It does require you to use a Windows app to manage it (which is annoying to a Linux user), but thats only for vlan configuration and firmware updating. Once you have it configured how you want, it just works :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (less) Disappointing from Netgear, 13 April 2010
Be aware that when the technical details say that Windows Vista/XP are required, that's to be taken seriously, this switch is only manageable via a windows app (which, annoyingly, is an Adobe Air app, so could be cross platform).

Also, this switch doesn't handle pings correctly - it responds from it's own IP address too, causing duplicate responses, and messing up the ping results.

(the ping problem exists on firmware version 1.00.07)

[UPDATE 11/11/2011 : I just remembered that I had left this review, and thought it only fair to come back and update, to mention that the ping problem has been fixed by netgear with a firmware update (I can't recall the number off the top of my head), so in light of that, and the fact that the switch has been sat doing it's thing without hanging or needing a restart for well over a year, I've upped my rating from three stars to four]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-port, 4 May 2014
This review is from: Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (Accessory)
I've been using Netgear for 15 years and I can confidently say without doubts they make the best quality and most reliable equipment for Home and Professions alike.

Now, they do sometimes make the odd mistake.. like rubbish GUI interface's with daft updating features which this prosafe hosts. However, that aside doesn't cost this product a star! why? because once this Switch is setup in 5mins it just does the job.

My advice is if you are thinking of cutting corners and purchasing a cheaper Switch products your more than welcome too, your not going to get the best and likely to have to buy again a few months or years later.. With Netgear Pro-safe comes with a "LIFETIME" Guarantee now you can safe 10 or 20 quid or buy something that you know will NOT let you down and if it does you get the knowledge it will be replaced free of charge be it 12 months or 50 years in the future.

The features this offers is QOS = Quality of service, Port Prioritization and bandwidth control to list a few.. Trust me , they all work well and with a bit of tweaking you can reduce network traffic bottle-necking by prioritizing particular traffic and ports.

I use this for my Home Network attached to it are two Gigabyte NAS drives (Netgear & QNAP) , a gigabyte 6300 wifi router, VPN Dual Wan Firewall , Sky HD , PS3 and PS4..

With all this traffic i have not once ever had an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value little switch, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Chris B (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's get this out of the way first: this is not (as some reviews seem to suggest) a "fully managed switch". It has at best *basic* management features; it is not a replacement for a proper managed switch with SNMP, 802.11X, LLDP, etc.

The software is truly dreadful and requires a Windows machine (or at least VM) to operate. It also seems to only connect to switches in the same subnet (it broadcasts for the switch - there doesn't seem to be any method of specifying the IP to connect to manually), so forget any ideas you might have about using this switch in a datacentre or a large network where things are separated into their own subnets. Again, despite that, once you've set up your VLANs, there's not really much else to do. Just bear in mind you won't want to be adding and removing VIDs on a regular basis.

Having said all of that, this switch is, to the best of my knowledge, the cheapest way of getting 802.11q tagged VLAN support, and for under 30, makes this an excellent deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gigabyte switch, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (Accessory)
Works fine, switches tend not to be too exciting.
Very sturdy steel case, you could probably jump on it.
I bought this for the management functions, but the are a bit more basic than I expected, and the management software is less than inspiring.
However, runs all the devices at Gig speed, and no issues after being up for around a month; also very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and easy to set up, 1 Aug 2014
By 
B. J. Barrett (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (Accessory)
This 8 Port Switch replaced a 10 year old Netgear 10/100 8 Port Switch which was slow and possibly suffering from an intermittent fault. New switch is stable and much faster at transferring files.
The management software for me is a bonus as usually I set these switches up then leave them to gather dust under the desk.
Have upgraded the firmware as mentioned by reviewers on here. Cheers guys.
How reliable is this switch?, ask me in 10 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plug and play but with the option to fiddle if you want!, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (Accessory)
Fast easy to use plug and play switch with advanced features if you have the need and knowledge to use them. Can setup priority for different types of network traffic if you want but works great out of the box. I was going to go into the settings to set priority for a VOIP phone and gaming but I had no need. Everything worked well and very quickly on the default.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works flawlessly!, 20 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (Accessory)
Connected to all 8 gigabit devices without a problem!

The LED's show instantly connection speed (10Mbps - ie you have a problem!, 100Mbps and 1000Mbps)

Its classed as 'unmanaged' but the software allows some management such as implementing VLANs. A nice feature for a relatively low priced switch.

5 Star without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable way of adding additional Ethernet Ports to a PFSense LAN. 5 Stars., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These Metal Netgear Switches are just excellent. Very good value. Reliable way of adding additional Ethernet Ports to a PFSense LAN. 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Netgear ProSafe Plus 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch
Used & New from: 61.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews