Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album!!
So, I've been listening to 'Passive Me Aggressive You' for a couple of weeks now. In fact, since the CD arrived direct from the band's native New Zealand, I've barely played anything else.

The Naked And Famous have been compared to MGMT and Passion Pit. I have MGMT's albums and they're nowhere near as good as this. You find yourself listening to the first...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Paul

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
this came very fast on my order very pleased but there was really nothing to protect the case of the cd, when i opened my package the cd case had none of that stuff when you buy a game when its brand new but other than that it had no scratches on it winch i was i was most proud off but over than that it came very fast and now i love the band ^____^
Published 4 months ago by henry howie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album!!, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Paul (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
So, I've been listening to 'Passive Me Aggressive You' for a couple of weeks now. In fact, since the CD arrived direct from the band's native New Zealand, I've barely played anything else.

The Naked And Famous have been compared to MGMT and Passion Pit. I have MGMT's albums and they're nowhere near as good as this. You find yourself listening to the first track saying 'This could be a single', then the next track starts and again you find yourself saying 'This could be a single'. Then the third track, then the fourth. They're all such high quality.

'Young Blood' was a big hit in New Zealand and it's easy to see why. 'Punching In A Dream', their first UK single is just as good. 'Young Blood' is seeing a release here in March 2010; If there's any justice, it will be a big hit here too. Judging by the fact that several dates on their forthcoming tour of small UK venues have already sold out months in advance, it looks like word's certainly got round.

It's fair to say that not too many people in the UK right now have heard of The Naked And Famous. Mind you, when I first started listening to Franz Ferdinand, nobody had heard of them either. However, by the end of 2011, I'm willing to wager that The Naked And Famous will be the name that's on everybody's lips.

By the way, check out the great video for 'Young Blood'. It's reassuring to see such a quality video matching a great song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's all calm down a bit., 3 Jun 2011
By 
Reading the reviews of this album on amazon ('beyond music!' 'the sound of 2011!') you'd be forgiven for thinking that The Naked & Famous were some combination of John Lennon, Dubstep and Jesus. Frankly though, I'm not concerned with the 'sound of 2011', only the sound of their music. This is a brilliant, solid, highly enjoyable album and they're already proving to be the biggest (and best) thing to come out of New Zealand for years (OK, that's not hard when the main competition is The Flight of the Conchords, but still). I listened to little else for days when I bought this album it's still more than decent six months later. Their sound, though not unique, is certainly distinctive and ideal for festivals (this album has 'Glasto' written all over it). It's not musically complex, or even ridiculously catchy, but the thumping bass and combination of distorted guitars and crystal clear keyboards just make you want to move. The stand out songs include the singles Young Blood and Punching in a Dream, but also the less well known (but fantastic) Girls Like You, which is bound to feature of several upset teenager boys' mix-tapes this summer (though that's not a criticism in this case). The Sun (an all too familiar story of hangover ridden post-coital shame) also has a sinister, haunting quality to it which is just so cool. If I had a complaint about it, it would only be that the promised crechendo isn't impressive enough, but I'm nitpicking really. No Way also has a brilliant breakdown at its end which makes one lament that the rest of it isn't as good.
There are holes, people could find Alis Xayalith's voice trying (though I don't), Jilted Lovers tries (and fails) to cover its emptiness with shedloads of distortion and The Ends, with its annoyingly 80s guitar lick, is a needless interlude, but again, these are hardly massive complaints and at worst you can just click the 'next' button (you won't have to much). It's definately a contender for best album of 2011 and does deserve far more accolades than it has recieved, particularly given the competition from summer's sub-par festival bands. So this is one of the few times you can actually believe the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underated Album of The Year, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
In short this album is amazing, my most played album of the summer. It might not be ground breaking epic music but it is seriously good and a very satidfying album. I bought it on the baseis that Punching in a Dream is tune and there might be one or 2 other good tracks on there. Good news there are no bad tracks it rocks from start to finish. If you dont have it, you're missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
This band has a very distinctive signature sound. I listen to it when I'm doing the washing up and I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Indie Rock, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
"Passive Me, Aggressive You" by The Naked and Famous contains a clever blend of indie rock and electronic music. The vocals in each of the songs convey intense and organic emotion. My favorite song on this collection is "The Sun." "Passive Me, Aggressive You" is best for anyone that is curious to hear unique songs of the indie rock, alternative rock, and or electronica music genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great building album, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
An Amazing album. This whole album links together well and builds with each and every track. The singles Young Blood and Punching in a Dream are great tracks, Pop-y and alternative But my personal favorite is the first track All of This. Great album, great band. Buy if you like CSS, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Bombay Bicicle Club (people would commonly lump this band with The Temper Trap but I think they only do that as they are from NZ *shrugs*). Or if you enjoy good music... Treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
This album has to be one of my favourites of 2011. Their music is so uplifting and so representative of the direction music is going recently. I love love LOVE it - "Punching a Dream" is such a good song, but my favourite has to be "No Way". On most albums too, you expect there to be a few "filler" songs that aren't really that good, but all the tracks are really, really great.
If you get the chance, see them live too. I've seen them at two festivals and they were unbelievably good!
BUY THIS ALBUM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 25 Aug 2011
By 
J. East (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
Something a bit different from most of the predictable rubbish around at the moment. Looking forward to seeing them live later in the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Original, 4 May 2011
I discovered The Naked and Famous when I bought tickets for Reading Festival and found them in the line-up. After listening to 'Punching in a Dream' and realising I recognised and liked it, I listened to some more and tracks and bought the album.

Fantastic stuff, nothing on the album disappoints. It's upbeat and fun to listen to without being generic pop music. It's music for the summer, music for the beach, music for listening to in groups and for listening individually. I often listen when I'm running and it's a great motivation.

I cannot wait to see them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Paul from Cheshire, 15 Mar 2011
By 
S. A. Burley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passive Me, Aggressive You (Audio CD)
This album is great. The BBC Review team got it wrong this time. Best music from New Zealand for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passive Me, Aggressive You
Passive Me, Aggressive You by The Naked And Famous (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews