Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars175
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2011
Such a shame that when you look at the customer reviews of this product they almost all relate to the earlier CD release of Queen's second greatest hits package and not the 2011 remastered versions. After all, how are potential purchasers of this product really meant to know what they are paying for when the reviews do not fit the product?

Hopefully, this review will re-dress the balance slightly. After receiving my copies of Greatest Hits I and II earlier this week I can safely say that whatever you may think of the songs on the CD, and let's be fair there is a bit of mixture ranging from the outstanding (The Show Must Go On, I Want It All, Innuendo and Who Wants To Live Forever) to the somewhat more pedestrian (The Invisible Man, Friends Will Be Friends, The Miracle and Breakthru'), the sound quality of these re-masters more than make the money paid for these CD's worth it.

Never before has the band's music sounded so clear and be of such high quality that you really feel you were there in the studio as the band were recording them (if only!). Of course, these releases mark the first of a whole year of re-releases to mark Queen's 40th anniversary and their move to Island Records and all I can say is that if the rest of the year's releases sound as good as this then the money being spent by Queen fans on re-buying their albums will be more than worth it. Add into the mix many of the albums are likely to feature never before released tracks and rare single b-sides 2011 is going to be a good year for Queen fans to say the least.

However, back to Greatest Hits II...and the music. Whatever anyone thinks of Queen's 80's and 90's albums really depends on when they got into the band. As a relative latecomer to the band's fan ranks (1986 - after the Live Magic album was brought home by my brother) I enjoyed the singles brought out by the band during this period of their career (on the whole). It was Innuendo (album and single) in 1991 that really marked the high point of Queen's studio output for me - Freddie sounded better than he ever had despite his frailty and Brian May excelled on every track of that album and four of the five singles released from that album feature on this collection (Days of Our Lives not making it onto a greatest hits package until volume III!). I found The Works, A Kind of Magic and The Miracle singles hit and miss - with one of my favourites, Scandal, not even making it onto any of the G.Hits packages - slap your hands mssrs Mercury, May, Taylor and Deacon John. It was this period where Queen's popularity was really at its highest in the UK, so though the 70's and early 1980's are considered by many older fans to be the best musically I find this second package of singles more varied in style and therefore a more interesting listen.

The re-mastering of each track only adds to this enjoyment and the revised sleeve notes (more on Greatest Hits I than on II I have to say) make them both essential purchases.
44 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Not much new that one can add about Queen and their enduring music. I probably prefer the Volume 1 to this one, simply because their music became a bit too poppy and commercial during this stage of their career. That being said, most of these are classics in their own right. The sound from the latest 2011 remaster is what sets this collection (and Vol.1) apart from any previous editions, including the DTS96/24 & LPCM DVD version of the early 2,000's. The sound has depth, warmth and clarity and covers a wide frequency range which is so different to both the original transfers and the terribly sounding high flat frequency CD's & DVD's issued at the turn of the millennia. This is as close to the ol' vinyl sound that you will get (for now). Play it on a proper hi-fi with proper speakers though. A MP3 player just won't do it justice...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2000
Wow, what can I say, five stars isn't enough. This compilation proves that Queen were one of the best rock bands ever to grace this planet. From the disco sound of 'A kind of magic' to the pulsating hard rock force of 'one vision': from the silly foolishness of 'I'm going slightly mad' to the deep phylisophical lyrics of 'Who wants to live forever', there is a song for everyone on this album.
Queen ventured through so many musical styles throughout their career it's hard to believe they got away with it. But then again, that's what I like about Queen, they didn't care whether their songs were commercially successful or not. They wrote their own style of music and just hoped that it pleased their fans. Although songs like 'Who wants to live forver' and 'The show must go on' didn't get much chart sucess for their times, they are now more well known than most number ones from a few years ago! This alone proves what a great band they were, and they won't be forgotten for a long time yet.
To people who are starting out with Queen and are not sure which album to buy, all can say is that if you are looking for the more famous Queen songs with a typical Queen sound, then get Greatset Hits 1. To those who want to jump ahead to the more evolved side of Queen, get this CD.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Queen's 2nd Greatest Hits package is a solid collection of material gleaned mostly from the 1980s with the brilliant 'Under Pressure' (featuring David Bowie), 'It's A Hard Life', 'Who Wants To Live Forever' and the gorgeous 'Innuendo' standing out as my favourite tracks. Throw into the mix superb anthems such as 'I Want It All', 'I Want To Break Free', 'Radio Ga Ga', 'A Kind Of Magic' and 'One Vision' and you have a very potent brew albeit one that lacks the sheer brilliance of 'Greatest Hits I'. My main gripe is the fact that the lovely 'Las Palabras De Amor' has been sidelined here and could easily have replaced one of several rather dull songs which actually charted much lower. Anyway, this album is well worth buying just to remind you how good the band were in the period leading up to the untimely demise of Freddie Mercury.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Firstly my review is for the original CD release. I have heard the re-mastered version as well and it certainly convinced me that the initial release is certainly the best. As is often the case re-mastering the original tapes can make the sound far too clinical and rather sterile. Either way this CD saved me as I have never been a massive fan but liked all the later singles and had no intention of buying the studio albums to get them as I often felt that Queen often tended to try to be just a bit too clever. And finally, that man Freddie - Without doubt THE best frontman that has ever lived, bar none! Don't play this very often but always enjoy it when I do.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2015
With this 2011 edition of the follow-up to the biggest selling album of all time in the UK, you are able to hear the later hits of one of our most iconic rock bands in all their digitally remastered glory.

'Greatest Hits II' was originally released in 1991, ten years after the first volume, and carries on the Queen story from 1981 to the start of a new decade, in which time they had chalked up a further stream of hit singles, and most of these highlights are captured on here.

With such stone-cold classics as 'A Kind of Magic', 'I Want to Break Free', 'Radio Ga Ga', and 'I Want it All' all on the one disc, this is an excellent instant showcase of the later work of Freddie Mercury and his men, and deserves it's place in any self-respecting British rock fan's CD collection. As well as the very famous anthems, there were plenty of lesser played hits that were new to me.

The album's booklet contains detailed information about each track, with the singles' cover sleeve printed next to it, as well as some excellent colour pictures of the four boys throughout. See also: Greatest Hits, and if you buy the first volume in this series, the biggest selling album UK history, you'll have instant access to all the classics, and virtually every Queen song you're likely to hear played on the radio.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
Released shortly before Freddie's death in 1991, Greatest Hits 2 is a fitting tribute to one of (if not THE) greatest bands of all time. The album covers queen's highlights from the early 80's to the early 90's, and arguably surpasses the first Greatest Hits collection. Whilst none of the tracks here may not match the likes of 'Bohemian Rhapsody' or 'We Are The Champions', we are left with a much more consistent compilation.

The album kicks off with 'A Kind Of Magic', a soaring pop hit. The other more mainstream hits include 'Radio Ga Ga' and 'I Want To Break Free'. 'Who Wants To Live Forever' and 'The Show Must Go On' are two of the most moving ballads Queen ever produced.

What sets this compilation apart from the first though, are the harder, rockier songs. Queen's stadium rock songs seemed to rock harder than ever before. This may explain why this album isn't as universally appreciated as the first. 'I Want It All', 'Breakthrough', 'Hammer To Fall' and 'One Vision' still get my adrenaline rushing every time I hear them. And 'The Miracle' and 'Innuendo' proves that Queen still had that 'Bohemian Rhapsody' style in them.

This is an album no Queen fan should be without, even if you are not as familiar with these hits than those of the first collection, please take the risk and get this album - you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
Freddy Mercury can claim to be the greatest pop star of the twentieth century. He is the grandest performer. Put to that his ability to write magnificent songs, his operatic voice and and his sheer dynamic ability as a musician and you have to ask where is his equal? His charismatic sexuality is there for all to see and its a pity he did not control it a bit better, he would have lived longer and we would all have enjoyed a little more of Freddy;l *No one lives forever" but we could have done with more of Freddy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
One of the best greatest hits albums of the last 30 years. The music you can listen to again and again and not get bored of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2001
It is rare that I like every piece on an album, but in the case of Greatest Hits II, I have to say that I do. As Queen often do, they have included a variety of styles in their performances, and the best examples of this are included on this album: Innuendo - the great epic anthem for Live Aid includes variuos styles that only Queen could piece together! It also features the famous "Under Pressure" by Queen and David Bowie, with that unforgettable bass line.
There are many other pieces on the album - some strange; some melancholy and others that make you want sing along as loud as you can! However, no piece on this album will disappoint you if like upbeat rock music.
Get it. Get it now while stocks last...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)