Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELP at their best and thoroughly recommended
I approached this album with a mixture of excitement and trepidation when it was first released. After `Tarkus', which I had found patchy and `Pictures at an Exhibition' which was a live tour de force but of proven material, I wondered whether ELP's third studio album of new material would make the grade. In fact, I was blown away by this album, which is quite...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by Stephen Reid

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cover smashed to pieces
Music Ok, CD cover smashed to pieces on arrival. Could not use it .It is nice to have an unbroken CD cover as it forms part of the product and satisfaction with the product
Published 8 months ago by Bjørn Ødegård


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELP at their best and thoroughly recommended, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I approached this album with a mixture of excitement and trepidation when it was first released. After `Tarkus', which I had found patchy and `Pictures at an Exhibition' which was a live tour de force but of proven material, I wondered whether ELP's third studio album of new material would make the grade. In fact, I was blown away by this album, which is quite brilliant.

If you want proof of Keith Emerson's virtuosity, go no further than the piano run down into the main body of `Trilogy', the title track. This is a rocker of a piece, in three sections. I believe this made it to their live performance but only for a short time - a shame, because to hear this live would have been something special.

"Hoedown" of course, has become an ELP live performance classic where Emerson seemingly tries to beat himself to the end of the track. "Abaddon's Bolero" is a haunting melody repeated over and over again in increasingly complex arrangements until the inevitable climax and end.

"From the Beginning" is a great slow ballad, a perfect vehicle for Greg Lake's strong voice.

And so on ... there really isn't a weak link on this album, and it was a portent of more great things to come with `Brain Salad Surgery'. This was ELP at their best and is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their finest., 9 May 2001
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
ELP fans will happily debate forever the point at which the band reached its creative peak but there is a firm consensus that their early years were their finest. Whether the absolute best was Tarkus, Trilogy or Brain Salad Surgery is secondary to the simple fact that Trilogy is one of the finest pieces of work that this band did.
The secret of their music is that they put together a set of talents the like of which had rarely been seen before let alone moulded into a single unit. The opening salvo, (The Endless Enigma Part One, Fugue and The Endless Enigma Part Two) illustrates this perfectly.
To deal with Carl Palmer first, in the early seventies he was finding ways of breaking up rhythms that had never been heard before. Nothing on Trilogy is quite as radical as his drumming on Tarkus but nonetheless, he was doing things here with sticks and skins that nobody else had tired.
In terms of rock music, Keith Emerson is an outstanding talent but that does not give full account of his real contribution. On the classical concert circuit, keyboard performance talent such as his is not unique but never before had this been combined with the kind of driven creative rock intensity of his contemporary guitar greats.
Greg Lake is often overlooked in comparison with the other two members of the band but that does not do him justice. As well as his distinctive voice, his bass guitar work is the perfect match for Emerson's keyboard playing. If you listen to the opening suite and try to imagine it with an ordinary, unimaginative bass line, you will appreciate that he adds his own dimension to the music.
Trilogy is a nice balance of the range of ELP's style. After "The Endless Enigma" comes "From the Beginning" a typical Greg Lake ballad. After that the band switches into exuberant fun mode for "The Sheriff" and an adaptation of Aaron Copeland's "Hoedown". The opening drums on the first of those two serves notice of what is to come.
Those tracks complete the opening side of the original vinyl release and, together with the title track which opened the second side, they form a powerful statement of the band's ability. The next track, "Living Sin" is the least convincing here and that is mainly because Greg Lake's voice does not really suit the style that he is trying to deliver. Finally, comes "Abaddon's Bolero" which is closely derived from Ravel's "Bolero" but which is curiously not credited as such on the sleeve notes. It's OK to listen to but, unlike most of ELP's covers, it does not really deliver much that was not in the original though Grek Lakes bass playing does stand out.
Trilogy is a good introduction to ELP though I think that Tarkus or their first album "Emerson, Lake and Palmer" server that purpose better. If you do like Trilogy, you will appreciate any of the albums that came before it and you might like to listen to music by Yes from the same time frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best remastering of Trilogy yet - and with live bonus!, 4 Jun 2001
By 
Bjrn Are Davidsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
This 2001 edition manages finally to give ELP the sound they deserve. Trilogy is of course as beautifull as ever, mixing quiet ballads with intense and intricate pieces, as well as great yearns like The Sheriff. Now its possible to listen to it as it always should have sounded - a Great Bargain! The live bonus Hoedown is a great final touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC ALBUM (pity about the reissue), 3 April 2011
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
First off, the reviewer below (J Bruce) gives this 1 star and has pretty much gone through all ELP albums giving them 1 star and a torrent of abuse, I doubt he listens to ELP at all and though everyone is entitled to an opinion these albums should only be reviewed by people who own them.
Trilogy is probably ELP's most accessible album without losing their style as they did with Love Beach (1978). I came to this album first in 1989, unfortunatly I'm too young to have been there in the bands heyday, and instantly fell in love with it. I truely beleive it stills holds up very well today.
These recent CD reissues , although good to keep the music alive, have not added any extra bonus tracks to those on the 2001 reissues. It would've been nice to have added some studio rehearsals or unreleased tracks. Still it is a fine, fine album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole variety show, 30 Jan 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
My favourite ELP album, and an amazingly varied showcase for the talents of three fine musicians. I can't improve on John O'Connor's analysis of the material, though it's worth saying that these tracks stand the test of time remarkably well:
Endless Enigma still sounds edgy and years ahead of its time; From the Beginning and the Sheriff are still great singalong numbers; and I defy anyone to listen to Hoedown without tapping their feet; and rarely has anyone written a more beautiful song than the first section of Trilogy - a love ending but a melody to last forever, a lyrical entwining of Emerson's piano melody and Greg Lake's sensitive vocal interpretation.
This is class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Loveit Perfection, 27 April 2012
By 
K. Buxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Just thought I'd add some comments, this is my favourite ELP album and I bought it when it came out in 1972 and I still have the original vinyl album now, and it's in mint condition still.

I went to see ELP live at the Top Rank in Liverpool in 1972, it was my first ever concert and I was still at school, they played most of the Trilogy album and I was gobsmacked at these three superb musicians playing this fantastic classical/rock music, I also saw them again in 1974 at the Liverpool Empire Theatre.

Back to the trilogy album, from the first track `The Endless Enigma part 1' which starts off slow and builds up to a crescendo of great musicianship and timing, then into `Fugue' which has Keith Emerson playing light/heavy classical piano which leads into `The Endless Enigma part 2' from this we go to track 4 `From The Beginning' which is my favourite Greg Lake song, a nice balled with mainly acoustic guitar and ending with some electric guitar and keyboards, track 5 takes us to the `Sheriff' a track which is famous for its honky tonk wild west fast piano playing ending, apparently ELP always liked to put a gimmicky type song on each album and if you listen to other albums you'll find them.

Onto track 6 `Hoedown' written by Aaron Copland the first version I ever heard was ELP's It just blew me away, couldn't stop playing this track, just brilliant keyboard playing from Keith Emerson, I always felt sorry for Greg Lake & Carl Palmer as you knew that when Keith Emerson got going it would be 100mph non stop for Greg & Carl. Track 7 which is my favourite `Trilogy' this is just a fantastic song and I agree! Is in three sections, ballad/classical/rock, great piano, synthesiser, drumming & bass playing all put together with great timing, everything you want in a song is in this track.

Track 7 `Living Sin' always seems to get overlooked somehow, this is a great track Greg's strong vocals and I love the wonderful stop/start timing on this track and great drumming from Carl Palmer, finally track 8 `Abaddon's Bolero' an instrumental which starts off very quiet and slowly gets louder, it's one of those tracks that you think you've heard before, in a film or on the TV somewhere, that's how I felt when I first heard it, very catchy tune though.

To sum up, prog rock at its best, Trilogy is an album I'd recommend and still stands the test of time, well when you have one of the best keyboard players, bass players & drummers in the world this is what you produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this album will always send shivers down my spin, 21 May 2001
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
well this album was written nearly 30 years ago and i would advise anybody into great music to check it out.the endless enigma is a true classic with the band pulling out all the stops.this is ELP at its best.Hoedown is a great instrumental which was played much faster live and showed the watching audiences,the true unmatched playing of these three kings of music.The album has diverse styles like the humourous Sherrif and the great ballads of Greg Lake.The title track is last but not least and shows what a beautiful voice G.L has and also the mastery piano playing of MR K.E (this album will send shivers down your spine!). regards MIKE STAGGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 April 2011
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I loved this album when it was released in 1972 and it remains one of my favourite ELP albums. I was lucky enough to see them at the Hammersmith Odeon the same year where they were awesome. This has everything; the obligitory classic cover - Hoedown, the classic Lake ballard, the epic Endless Enigma, rip roaring Moogs in Trilogy. A fitting follow up to "Pictures" and "Tarkus." The 70's was an amazing time for those who like progressive music and this is one of the stand out works of the time. Although many feel that ELP peaked with "Brain Salad Surgery" this has more warmth and a more complete feel. ELP in their prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album from this era, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I firts bought this may years ago on record, it has not changed naturally just one extra track.

I still enjoy the album particularly Keith Emersons lead on the more instrumental tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
a very good product. It lives up to expectations and confirms the quality of the songs and performers. An excellent intrtoduction to the music and performers..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trilogy
Trilogy by Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews