Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical epic or simple love story?
This film was derided by the critics as overblown, too expensive to produce and a relative failure. It is however a film that has lodged itself in our collective memories as one of the best purely entertaining films ever made.
Watching it on the theatre screen one is almost overwhelmed by the great set piece scenes of excessive splendour and the battle at sea...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by D. Arrowsmith

versus
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 Disc edition is from a very bad print. Avoid.
I bought the 2 Disc edition because Cleopatra (Special Edition) [DVD] [1963] was unavailable at the time. This 2 Disc edition is most definitely not from a restored print, or even a good quality print. It looks *horrible*. The picture ranges from soft and smeared through very noisy to pebble dashed. The less noisy parts are terribly soft and smeared, with a...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Julian Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical epic or simple love story?, 29 Mar 2010
By 
D. Arrowsmith "David Arrowsmith" (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was derided by the critics as overblown, too expensive to produce and a relative failure. It is however a film that has lodged itself in our collective memories as one of the best purely entertaining films ever made.
Watching it on the theatre screen one is almost overwhelmed by the great set piece scenes of excessive splendour and the battle at sea (Actium). Watching at home the impact of these scenes is somewhat diminished and one is able to concentrate more on the private scenes between Cleopatra and Mark Anthony, Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. I am not sure whether they were married at the time or between marriages but the crackling atmosphere created between them makes the hairs stand up at times.
The sets were wonderful, the colour resplendent and the dialogue intelligent, a class above some of the epics of the same period.
This is one of those films every movie buff should have in their collection as it will bear repeated viewings. There is something new to notice every time it is watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU RAY - A VISUAL FEAST, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure most of you are familiar with the story and probably the film .
if not GOOGLE away , i'm not going to talk about the film in that respect other than to say it has some great actors and some good scenes with a decent script and the most amazing sets and wardrobe to ever grace a camera lens.
LETS TALK BLU-RAY .... 1080p .... 2 BD50 dual layer discs
aspect is 2.20:1 and sound is DTS 5.1
this appears to be the 4 hr version previously released as a special on 3 dvds .
the picture transfer is amazing considering the film is nearly 40 years old . the sets and costumes really shine through . colours are vibrant and detail is good , cloth textures are notable and jewellery shines and glitters . Taylors trachyoptomy scar is visible in most scenes and every hair , mole and wrinkle is visible even through the heavy make-up .. the sets are so colourfull and detailed i was often looking more at the scenery and clothing than the actors . it was like watching a new film .
the sound is mostly stereo and works well . the surround sound is very subtle and used during the more exciting scenes . for those with decent sound systems the depth and spacial imaging of sounds and effects are noticibly better than the dvd . the voices however are clear but at loud moments (shouting) the sound can be harsh and slightly distorted .( more to do with the recording at the time than the processing for the bluray). the orchestra seems to have been processed , it is clear and rich in sound and uses all channels of the 5.1 surround.
highly recommend this blu ray .. only Bladerunner impresses me more as a bluray title . although i have yet to purchase Lord of the Rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Blu Ray, 30 Jan 2012
One of my favorite films. I've been watching this movie since i was a kid and must have seen it a hundred times, but never like this. A Stunning transfer on to blu ray, It's sharp and crisp, the colours are stunning as technicolor should be, its like watching the film for the first time again. You can see so much detail, things you may not of noticed in previous cinema/dvd/video screenings, so much going on in the back ground that I never took note of before. You can see the intricate detail of the costumes and how well the sets look, even the painted backdrops stand out now, and it finally does justice to how beautiful Elizabeth Taylor looks.
Most of the extras are the same as the last DVD release, though there is quite an interesting new Fox Legacy documentary. Nice packaging and outer sleeve with new art work on cover. A booklet would have been nice for the 50th anniversary edition, but all you get is the 2 discs.
Well worth the price for the picture quality alone.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Print Quality Simply Outstanding, 17 Nov 2005
By 
For a film that is now more than forty years old this DVD is simply outstanding. The film itself is contained on two DVDs and the extra features can be found on the third DVD. But if you view the film you will feel that this has just been produced, such is the quality. Sure the special effects are not there, so obvious in modern films like the 2004 epic Troy, but everything is done on a grand scale. The film remains the most expensive film ever made and you can understand why. Whereas today many of the grand sets would be done on computers, 20th Century Fox had to produce everything as a real set. So when you see Cleopatra's grand entrance to Rome this is the real deal, not pixels. The colours are vivid, the sound very powerful and the acting of the two main stars - Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton - is highly charged. Impressive historical entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 Disc edition is from a very bad print. Avoid., 6 April 2011
By 
Julian Hughes (Hove) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I bought the 2 Disc edition because Cleopatra (Special Edition) [DVD] [1963] was unavailable at the time. This 2 Disc edition is most definitely not from a restored print, or even a good quality print. It looks *horrible*. The picture ranges from soft and smeared through very noisy to pebble dashed. The less noisy parts are terribly soft and smeared, with a cartoonish lack of texture,resolution and detail. The colours are somewhat faded. Sometimes there are horrible edge artefacts where outlines have a ghost outline (or did they have Ready Brek in ancient Egypt?). I've seen some of the restored edition and it looks superb. This two disc edition stinks, as does the fact that Amazon's description and praise of the picture quality is misleading because it refers to a completely different and better edition. I'll be asking for a refund on the basis of that misdescription. If you want to enjoy this film then spend the extra on the restored edition and avoid this 2 disc set.

edit: I now have the three disc special edition and it is the same edition after all. I have no idea how the amazon reviewer had the gall to write "this handsome three-disc set spreads the restored four-hour print of the movie across two discs. The anamorphic widescreen print looks quite magnificent..." This is simply untrue. I can only believe it is not an honest review but simply a regurgitation of the studio press release. The picture looks *horrible* and is clearly and obviously not any kind of restoration but in fact just a patchwork of cuts from different prints, each with their own problems with some of those being severe, well below the quality of even a decent VHS tape. Meanwhile The blu-ray edition *is* from an actually restored edition, its picture quality is flawless, perfect and astonishing and it *would* merit the kind of praise that has been lavished on this pig in a poke.

If amazon offer a DVD movie review it should be more than simply recycling out the vendor press pack. Actually watching the movie would seem to be the minimum requirement, followed by an honest and factual representation of the picture and sound quality, the included extras etc. It's deceitful to take people's money on the back of official reviews that thoroughly misrepresent the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, and it's Region Free, 7 April 2012
By 
R. Gale (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, the movie is flawed, and as a film, it's nowhere near as involving as Ben-Hur, or Spartacus, El Cid or The Ten Commandments. Full disclosure: my wife and I watched it over 2 nights. But it is truly a spectacle, the likes of which no one will ever make again, and some of the sequences and images take your breath away. Per the special features, the movie if made today would cost between $300-$400 million. The transfer is simply GLORIOUS, and truly demonstration quality. What makes this a 5-star package are the extras. The 2-hour documentary (standard def, unfortunately) is totally engrossing -- even more so than the movie. Despite what the detailed description says on this page, it's most definitely region free, and it's a bargain no matter where you live (I'm in the USA). If you're interested at all in the history of the movie business, this is one you must own, just to see it for yourself and learn how a movie like this got made. 2 thumbs WAY up! Thank you, 20th Century Fox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental indeed !, 31 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This amazing film must rank amongst the very greatest. I bought the 2 disc, 4 hour-long uncut version in 2:40 aspect ratio (cinemascope) and am in awe of the sheer visual spendour of the picture. It has been well restored for this DVD release, and they were clever enough not to try and cram it all onto one disc. When I consider each of the separate elements : the actors, the sets, the costumes, the make-up, the music, and all the masterful editing (some scenes turning into a fresco before the following one appears), I think of how ingenious people were back then. Such a colossal amount of money was spent on this over-the-top, no-expenses-spared lavish production, that it almost made the studio (20th Century Fox), go bankrupt. Compared to this version of Cleopatra, every other one seems "small".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region A/B/C so, yes, viewable in the US!, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This refers to the Cleopatra 50th Anniversary BD.
Cleopatra [Blu-ray] [1963]

I live in the US and, unfortunately, Amazon UK lists this as Region B. However, after looking around on the internet, I was convinced that it was actually Region A/B/C, as evidenced by photos on other retailers' sites, so I took the chance and ordered it.

I was not disappointed. It is indeed playable for Region A/B/C, and it looks glorious! I can't speak to the technical aspects of this film, but I can tell you that it looks stunning, and the detail and colors are remarkable. Given that the BD version is not yet available for sale in the US, and that the price of this one is very, very reasonable for a film of this magnitude, I heartily recommend you order this.

Even though the links says it doesn't deliver to my default address (in the US), you can ignore that. It's just telling you that it will ship from Indigo Starfish, since you're out of the country. Cost was GBP6.23, plus 3.08 shipping, to the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning BD release for "Cleo"....., 10 Feb 2012
By 
Have been anticipating this BD release almost as long as "Lawrence of Arabia" and it doesn't disappoint.
I put this up there with my benchmark BD's..... Ben-Hur, Sth Pacific, How the West Was Won, etc.
It's like watching a 70MM print on a 50" screen....unbelievable.
I ordered this thru Amazon UK and it arrived in Australia 3 days before they said it would....really
great service.
I haven't been thru the extras yet....looks to be the same as the orig 3 disc dvd set...who cares....I haven't seen this movie looking so good since I saw a 70mm print @ cinemas back in the '60's.
Strangely this BD hasn't been released in the US yet...BUT...US customers NOTE....it is an all zone BD....as they should all be....so go ahead---buy.
If you think the dvd (even upscaled) is good enough...forget it.
When you watch this movie in HD----even if you've seen it 50 times....you'll be seeing it for the first time.
AND--apart from all the tech specs of this BD transfer....this really is an under-rated film.
The script, the performances, the cinematography, production design....everything....is way beyond anything
you might see at the local CinePlex these days. This movie was made in the days when Hollywood actually had producers who knew how to tell a story....a beginning, a middle and an end.
You know what the hell is going on. Those were the days when movies were made by people over the age of 21 who based their craft on years of experience....not youthful whim.....hey I'm young....I've got really cool new ideas man.
Yeah right, well,that didn't work did it.
"Cleopatra"....a movie made way back in the '60's and still here with us and looking as resplendant as it
did all those yrs ago....perhaps even more so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch Blu Ray Transfer, 29 Jan 2012
By 
S. R. Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
just about managed to watch all the extra features last night... a couple of new ones added to those on offer from the previous release (all present and correct).

Well what can you say about this transfer.... to be honest it is jaw droppingly beautiful, who cannot fall in love with Miss Taylor in beautiful HD....like Ben Hur, The Ten Commandments, Quo Vadis this release shows how Blu Ray transfers should be handled.

the picture is sharp, detailed, the colours are vibrant and bright, the sound is spectacular and I couldn't be happier with the transfer.

So much has been written about this movie, no it isn't the classic that Ben Hur is but it is not a disaster either, this release should redeam this movie, the HD transfer is so strong that it does give Cleopatra a new lease of life, for a movie this old it looks as if it was made only yesterday, Cleopatra arriving in Rome is amazing and a spectacle to see all over again.

I would recomend anyone who loves this movie to upgrade believe me you will not be disappointed, I wish all movies could have such a strong transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cleopatra [DVD] [1963]
Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (DVD - 2010)
3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews