Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid disappointment - check the cover!
I first saw this masterpiece at the Odeon (Marketplace), Leicester upon its release in 1972. In addition to an absolute tour-de-force from Simon Ward, it features magnificent performances from Robert Shaw and Anne Bancroft. The film's narrative extends from the great man's first experience of school in the 1880s until the inception of his parliamentary career in 1900...
Published on 7 May 2009 by Mr. J. L. Ward

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Young Winston - A Perspective
This Film is really an overview of the major events in the early life of young Winston Churchill. It gives sufficient meat to apprise the viewer of those aspects of his early like which then gave him the basis for his philosophy developed subsequently as he progressed down his pathway to political ascendancy. Having watched the film I had a better appreciation of his...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by Lancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid disappointment - check the cover!, 7 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. L. Ward "John Ward" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw this masterpiece at the Odeon (Marketplace), Leicester upon its release in 1972. In addition to an absolute tour-de-force from Simon Ward, it features magnificent performances from Robert Shaw and Anne Bancroft. The film's narrative extends from the great man's first experience of school in the 1880s until the inception of his parliamentary career in 1900. This said, it presents the passing of time in a way that allows us to appreciate Churchill's early life in the light of his later glories and there is a continual interplay with the viewer's intellect. Amongst Richard Attenborough's superb biopics, this one stands very proudly indeed. The five star rating I award for the film's remarkable achievement.....but sadly, not for this DVD edition. The 2006 version with the white cover is NOT the special edition. It omits a short sequence from Churchill's POW escape scene and inexplicably leaves out the original film's final scene - the one in which Churchill falls asleep one afternoon late in life and dreams of a conversation with his long deceased father. I cannot for the life of me understand why these cuts were made and I now realise that this version is the one that is aired on TV from time to time. Accordingly, I have just ordered the German 'Special Edition' from 2007. You can easily recognise it - the case has an extensive black border and the film, an extended running time. That one is definitely the one to go for - and having visited the truly awe inspiring Blenheim Palace just a few days ago, I cannot wait for it to arrive!

AMENDMENT - This review was originally written in May 2009. I regret to say that it has since been pointed out to me that the German (with the black cover cover and bearing the title 'Der Junge Lowe') and the British (with the white cover)editions are in fact, identical. Both therefore omit the the afforementioned scenes. I sincerely apologise to anyone who has been in anyway misled by what I wrote. I would just add that I think that it should be the responsibilty of the distribution companies (in this case, Sony) to make clear to potential purchasers when a film is being sold in an edited form. Whilst it is perfectly possible for the first time viewer to enjoy 'The Young Winston' in its shortened version, the original cinema release was an altogether more complete and therefore, more satisfying work.

John Ward 29 September 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage Around My Father, 24 Mar 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This epic biopic on Winston Churchill's early career is a excellent chance for some quality character acting from, it seems, every actor in Equity but especially from Simon Ward and Anne Bancroft. It is never sentimental about Winston and his glory-seeking but provides a very persuasive argument as to why it occurred. Robert Shaw as Lord Randolph hangs over the last half of the film like an unseen presence. The other unseen presence is our knowledge of just how impressive Winston was to be as a politician; far outlasting the Chamberlain clan, and his prescience in the speech about economy.

History that wears its learning jauntily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Young Winston - A Perspective, 19 Oct 2010
This Film is really an overview of the major events in the early life of young Winston Churchill. It gives sufficient meat to apprise the viewer of those aspects of his early like which then gave him the basis for his philosophy developed subsequently as he progressed down his pathway to political ascendancy. Having watched the film I had a better appreciation of his family background and the mores that drove his personal perspective in the way he approached his life. It certainly gave the viewer a clearer understanding as to why he was able to take such decisive actions during the height of his political career, especially during his time as war-time Prime Minister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent epic, 17 April 2009
By 
It has been 37 years since I first saw this film on its release in 1972 and it certainly doesn't disappoint - extremely fine acting(Ward/Shaw/Bancroft) - and beautifully shot.

As an avid Churchill fan, this film brilliantly depicts his early formative years and his thirst to get noticed via the Military. It encourages me to read his autobiography "My Early Life" upon which the film is based

A truly majestic tour de force and it deserves a prime position in anyones film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat diappointed !, 28 May 2009
By 
A. Mumford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't believe all you read on the Internet !

Regrettably, on the recommendation of Mr John L. "Bird-Brain" I ordered the Der Junge Lowe, Special Edition version of Young Winston, relishing the prospect of viewing the seminal and moving dream sequence finale (which, I recalled from my youth, was so evocatively accompanied by Sir Edward Elgar's Nimrod) where an elderly Churchill, snoozing in the dim autumn light of his study, and his life, is gently quizzed by his late father Randolph on what life's path he had subsequently embarked. After answering that he had left the Army without attaining high rank, his father, with graceful but visible disppointment, wishes him well, leaving Churchill to return to his dreams, quietly chuckling at the absence of any questions that would have revealed his towering exploits in becoming Britain's most eminent Prime Minister and statesman.

I cannot fathom the thought processes by which any film distributor would feel the need to cut this scene from the original. Sheer lunacy.

By the way... thanks John ! Hope you're enjoying the "dream-scene less" version too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Young Winston, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Winston [DVD] (DVD)
Very good dvd. Delivery was quick service.The quality of the film was very good. The Grand - Children like it alot It will tell them who Winston Churchill Was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The making of the man..., 17 Oct 2011
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Winston [DVD] (DVD)
This story of Winston Churchill's early life and career is an excellent blend of history and adventure, to shed light on the circumstances and events that would create the famous WWII politician. Some DVD versions do not include the whole film, which is reprehensible, but I always star rate a film on its own merits, and berate the DVD realease here in the review, so as not to degrade the reputation of a film by a poor rating. A couple of scenes are omitted, particularly an enlightening final dream sequence, however, this film is impressive in all its DVD versions. The cast is great and the direction engaging. We could do with many more films of this calibre covering the lives of many more of history's colourful characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable and Enjoyable, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Andy Brodie "Andy" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Winston [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this biopic when I was a teen and it made a lasting impression on me. 30 years later I've added it to my DVD collection and watched it again. I wasn't disappointed as it still stands as an enjoyable and reasonably accurate film of Winston Churchill's early years. Simon Ward's performance, probably one of his best on film, is good and the supporting cast reads like a who's who of great British actors of the early 1970's.

If you like historical films, which don't gild the lilly or amend the facts too much, then this is certainly a good one to watch. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Young Winston, 15 July 2010
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film depicts Simon Ward as young Winston Churchill, starting as a war correspondent, and later in the Boer war were he managed to ascape from imprisonment. In all a great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Winston, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is one of the best biopics I have seen I first saw it when I was around 12/13 years old and loved it not only is there a solid and sound performance by Simon Ward but the supporting cast are great,Robert Shaws performance of Churchill's father Lord Randolph almost steals it from ward himself however this version is an edited version to the one I saw as a child as there was a dream sceane at the end whitch is missing from the DVD It would be great if that version could be available so if Amazon could have a word with who ever own's the dvd rights that would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

Young Winston [DVD]
Young Winston [DVD] by Richard Attenborough (DVD - 2011)
£4.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews