Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Premature, maybe?
This release smells distinctly like a last-ditch attempt by Virgin to squeeze money out of Stone before she moved to her own label, but it still covers Joss Stone's hits from the years 2003-2009. Opening with the White Stripes cover song that made her famous: Fell In Love With a Boy (Originally 'girl' but gender reversed for Stone's version) and running through her hits -...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Jasper Wong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same
Bought this along with several other jazz and swing CDs. This was the least enjoyed. Too much of the same sound and not a lot of subtelty
Published 9 months ago by peter a atkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Premature, maybe?, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
This release smells distinctly like a last-ditch attempt by Virgin to squeeze money out of Stone before she moved to her own label, but it still covers Joss Stone's hits from the years 2003-2009. Opening with the White Stripes cover song that made her famous: Fell In Love With a Boy (Originally 'girl' but gender reversed for Stone's version) and running through her hits - the instantly recognizable 'You Had Me' and her cover of Nat 'King' Coles 'L-O-V-E'. 'Spoiled' and 'Bruised but not Broken' showcase Stone's variety and this five year retrospective has all of her hits and some fan favorites.'Snakes and Ladders' would have been nice, along with her collaboration with Jeff Beck 'I Put a Spell On You', but I'm sure that these are not everyone's choices.

It seems like Joss Stone has been around for much longer than she is, and even without listening to her very mature voice it is very easy to forget that she is only 23. The first of many 'Best of' collections for her music, and I'm sure it will prove to be the least complete 'Best of' compilation when looked at in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff., 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
I had only heard one song by this artist (Don't ya wanna ride) and bought the CD on the strength of this. Taking the risk paid off, some very nice groovy, funky, soulful songs on the CD. I am glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Chapter of a fantastic voice!, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
This woman's vocal is simply beautiful!!! i loved the singles from her first 3 albums but lost touch with her music after that so the last few tracks was like new ones to me!!

I loved a whole lot of this album i shall listen to this when i want to unwind and with a glass of wine this album will be incredible!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love all her songs!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
What a brilliant singer, A excellent quality Cd in every way, all services were absolutely satisfactory, and could not be improved in anyway whatsoever. So very many THANKS for such a fantastic album of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Bought this along with several other jazz and swing CDs. This was the least enjoyed. Too much of the same sound and not a lot of subtelty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Brilliant!!, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
As usual, Joss has come up trumps with this album. It has all her well known hits plus a lot more! As with all of Joss Stones' work, once you have listened to the whole album, you just have to put it back on & listen all over again.
Brilliant!! I would definitely recommend this album to all her fans, plus ones' yet to become one of the millions that already are!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Excellent Album and delivered so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009
The Best Of Joss Stone 2003 - 2009 by Joss Stone (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews