Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love well the hour, 21 Feb 2011
The fascinating portrait of Gertrude Blood on the cover of this book did it's job in getting me to open the pages, then as a family historian, the connection with the surname Blood gave added interest. The amazing depth of research which Anne Jordan has poured into this book has been worth the effort, as has her use of that research in the way she has told the story of this remarkable lady: it is a very readable book and very often difficult to put down. Although the court scenes are the focal point of the story, they are told with care as well as accuracy so that they do not favour either side, but the court scenes are not overdone. I am only too glad that for my own family history research I do not have to travel to Venice to collect copies of Birth, Marriage or Death certificates. It has been a pleasure to read the story in this historical biography and it is a pleasure to recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of an enigma, 5 Jan 2011
Anne Jordan's book on this fascinating fin-de-siecle enigma is extremely well-researched and lovingly put together, clearly a product of many years of determined study.

The subject herself is enough to make a very interesting read. Previously almost unknown, despite the scandal and infamy of her heyday, Lady Colin Campbell lived a life which could have come straight out of a novel. Jordan's detailed biography, however, carves the reality from the sources which remain with perseverance and creativity. The personality of both the subject and the author shine through, and thus the book is easy to read and engaging. Overall 'Love well the hour' more than does what it intends in giving Lady Colin Campbell a voice a century after her death, and is a treat for all, even those with the most casual of interests in the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Love well the hour" is such an appropriate title for this amazing biography. The book stayed with me for weeks after I had finished reading it and I mourned the loss of Lady Colin Campbell as though she was my own. Anne Jordan managed to bring her subject to life and I can't help feeling that this book should now be serialised or made into film. An incredible piece of research from an author who should please write some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Person Behind The Picture, 19 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Years ago I was wandering around the National Portrait Gallery in London when the Boldini painting of Lady Colin Campbell - the picture on the cover of this book - drifted into my view. The portrait depicted a beautiful woman with sparkling intelligent eyes and a confident smile. She seemed to me the image of a modern woman, with modern attitudes, but trapped inside Victorian clothes. I became intruiged by this face and the spirit it seemed to imply, but I couldn't find any in-depth information about her, beyond her part in the most sensational divorce case of the period. Years drifted by, I visited the painting now and again, and I searched the internet for more facts, but nothing turned up.

Now - at long last - comes Anne Jordan's biography of Lady Colin, AKA Gertrude Elizabeth Blood. After years of searching in vain for any scrap of information on the subject this book landed on my doormat packed with research into the Lady herself, her childhood, her family, her successes and failures in life and love, and much interesting contextual information on the period she lived in, and the social expectations of the time. It's exhaustively researched, but clearly and compellingly written, making it of interest not only to someone like myself who has a specific interest in Gertrude Blood, but to anyone who is fascinated by this period in English social history. An amazing story that has at last been brought out into the light, about an extraordinary woman who deserves more recognition for her achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Love Well the Hour (Kindle Edition)
Extensive, in depth research often leads to a dry, laborious read. This book is crammed with detail but still provides a lightness of read that encourages one to move on to the next page and then the next. The character of Lady Colin Campbell is balanced by the others that feature in her life and they are all fascinating. A book to read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifull women are magnets for their times..., 11 July 2011
For those who believe history evolves around them, being the reflection of mores and standards epochs have adopted, read the book as it will warrant this assertion with the required evidence, not to say that it will provide the rigth amount of daydreams needed to survive our much more drab times. Now beauty, although combined with vulgarity, can make you famous but then the exhalation of something... would be the additional expected feature to sublime it and people to credit you with it. All of this Gertrude had; no wonder why Boldini gave away the portrait for free as he was only paying a tribute to nature in the making of this noble, lovely person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Well the Hour, 8 May 2011
This book drew me in until I felt completely transported into the world of Victorian strictures and morals, hypocrisies and scandals.. often thinking that in fact it wasn't that far from our own! At the heart of it, Lady Colin Campbell, nee Gertrude Blood, a woman mainly known for her own part in a "scandal" of the time, a highly publicised and satirised divorce trial between her and her hapless politician husband - she was accused of affairs with no less than four respectable professional gentlemen, none of which is proven. This trial is covered in careful and often gently amused detail by the author, but Anne Jordan's aim is to show that Gertrude was so much more than this apparently "scarlet" woman. Rather, we get to know a woman of many and varied talents, great strength and remarkable independence for her time. Ms Jordan has produced a meticulous and affectionate biography of Lady Colin. I can't help feeling it should be picked up by Radio 4 for a serialisation, and that Woman's Hour should make a feature of this fascinating woman: journalist, artist, singer and philanthropist, who moved in the circles of such luminaries as Bernard Shaw and Whistler, as well as quiet and perhaps unknowing early feminist. Apparently Oscar Wilde was not a fan of hers, but having read Ms Jordan's book, I recently saw Lady Windermere's Fan, and couldn't help feeling that Gertrude was one of the characters, or should have been! The book itself is, it must be said, despite the subject matter, not written in any kind of sensationalist style, as it is based on thorough research: but if one is not used to this style, one soon gets into it and perhaps for this very reason gains a fuller and richer picture of the woman and her times. I thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Well The Hour, 16 Mar 2011
Anne Jordan's book is a thoroughly readable account of the REAL life of Lady Colin Campbell - a woman whose identity, until now, was described purely in terms of a scandalous divorce case. Anne Jordan has undertaken meticulous research and has used her research findings not only to set the record straight about her subject's life but to also set that life within the appropriate time framework. This has enabled her to illustrate the complex characteristics of Lady Colin Campbell and to show how a woman with an independent spirit managed to admirably survive the blows that Victorian society dealt her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just a lurid divorce case, 24 Jan 2011
I've loved the portrait of Lady Colin Campbell that appears on the cover of this book ever since I saw it at the National Portrait Gallery some years ago. Now here's a great chance to find out what an extraordinary woman she was - independent, fun-loving, plagued with ill health that was at least partly her husband's fault, and treated disgracefully by the upper crust society into which she found herself pitched. It's a really engaging read, absolutely captivating. What a revelation to learn more about her than just the lurid details of her divorce trial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Well the Hour
Love Well the Hour by Anne Jordan
3.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews